Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

PB&J Pronuts

6 Comments

PB&J pronutHey Friends,

Ain’t No Stoppin’ My Pronut’in Game

😀

What combo is more classic than Peanut Butta and Jelly?

Of course, being difficult, I don’t think I have actually ever had a PB and J….

I was allergic to peanut butter as a child okay!

Yes now I know I was missin out on life!

Okay so I wasn’t actually allergic….You see it was more that my allergist didn’t let me have any because I was pretty much a bubble child.

In other words I was practically allergic to everything. Due that lil situation, my doctor said it would be best to avoid some of the most common food allergens

…therefore…

NO NUTS FOR YOU!

So sad.

Thankfully for me, I was perfectly fine with it when I was finally allowed to test’er out after puberty (that’s the rule. Avoid until your body goes through one of it’s most dramatic changes before trying foods that you are born sensitive with). #TasteBudsBlown Oh and that’s all natural peanut butta friends, none of this Skippy crap.

So, did I finally make my PB and J?

Nope.

Instead, I fell in love with another sammich

Peanut butter, banana and honey. Mmmmm. Drool.

Oh and you have to heat it up. It’s a rule. Even better?

GRILL IT!

The only time I will ever miss eating bread…

#Foodgasm.

Wow I’m getting off track here. Typical. Back to my original thought

PB and J… right?

Yes, anyways I decided that the raspberries looked good in the grocery store last week and I did run out of my Chocolate Orange Pronutsso I was in need of a new snackie. Hmmm raspberries and what? An obvious choice came to mind…

Peanut butter! Of course, when does this not come to mind?

And since donuts are still rulin my baking game they were developed into these:

IMG_4011So there you have it. How my version of a PB&J pronut came about.

PB&J Pronuts

Makes 6

Per Pronut:

Calories: 137 Carbs: 15 Fat: 5 Protein: 11 Fiber: 4 Sugar 2

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of gluten free oats, ground into a flour
  • 1 scoop Cellucor Peanut Butter Marshmallow Whey (Any peanut butter whey would do, or vanilla)
  • 2 tbsp peanut flour (I use protein plus flour brand)
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp almond meal
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2 tbsp water (may need more or less depending on your whey)
  • 1 tbsp natural CHUNKY peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp peanut butter extract (I use LorAnn Oils)

Fold-in’s:

  • 50g (or more) fresh raspberries

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine all of your dry ingredients. Ensure to get out any lumps of peanut or coconut flour. In a smaller bowl, add your peanut butter and almond milk. Microwave for 30s to a minute so that your peanut butter will soften a bit. Stir well to break up the peanut butter chunks. Add your apple sauce next and stir. Than add the rest of your wet ingredients and stir again. Add your wet to dry and combine. Break up your raspberries and fold those into the batter, leave a few of the pieces for a nice topping. Divide your batter into 6 sprayed donut molds, top with the leftover raspberries and bake in the oven for about 8-10 minutes or until they are golden, firm (but with a slight bounce back) to the touch OR when a toothpick comes out clean. Be careful not to over bake as the whey will than make them drier. Let cool before removing from the pan and enjoy!

*Refrigerate the leftovers as they don’t have any preservatives to keep them fresh when left out in the open for long.

I was quite pleased how they came out. Despite only having ONE tablespoon of peanut butter, the peanutty aroma was amazing! I have my lovely peanut butter extract to thank for that one. Let’s not forget that besides being tasty these pronuts also pack a nice lil nutritional punch for a quick snack.

  • 11 grams of protein in one of these lil babies!
  • 4 whole grams of fiber
  • 11% of your iron for the day
  • 10% of your calcium
  • Gluten-Free
  • No refined sugars

I did good! 😉

IMG_4036Yum!

-Chelsea

6 thoughts on “PB&J Pronuts

  1. Slightly random question, but it seems like you’re always baking, working out or working! What do you do when you just have “me” time!!!

    • hahahaha. Baking and blogging is technically my me time. They are my hobbies that I just love doing. Other than that, I send a lil time in the evenings with my boyfriend when we are both off and catch up with friends when our schedules actually mesh (which is extremely difficult it seems!)

  2. Wow, how cute are these pronuts?!? I love the recipe, will definitely try them out soon! Thank you hun!

Leave a comment