Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Goals Are NOT Resolutions.

Leave a comment

My Friends!

Happy New Year and I hope you had a great Christmas! My Christmas and New Years were all about family. My Mom’s birthday happens to land on New Years Eve, so most years I tend to stay home and celebrate with her and my Dad. Below are some snaps from the past week or so…

Top Left: Nana and Papa

Top Middle: The Fam shot for Xmas 2016

Top Right: The Cheese face with my new Pandora locket necklace. I had been eyeing this for a while but I’m too broke to even think about buying something like that…Thanks Mom and Dad. They even put the three charms in the locket too. A sparkly heart, LOVE and a double heart with a crown. All hearts, they know me too well. 

Bottom Left: Maggie in her Xmas collar with bells

Bottom Right: My very impressed parents that I made them take a picture right out of bed 😉

And if you’re wondering…

img_9609

…yes I did sport my Bear Paws onesie (it has a butt flap and everything friends!) all day even with my extended family, who arrived later for the dinner part of the day.

img_9657

Insert selfie because I’m actually kind of obsessed with this picture. #NoEgo I just think it’s a good shot. Nice lighting. Nice background and no cheese smile.

….

So yes, the week and a half at home was nice and relaxing. I handed in my first application last night (for the MAN program at UofGuelph) as I settled back into my house in Guelph with Rita, got to see all my famjam back at my gym this morning and trained Karl.

Twas a good day.

This week will be nice and slow for me as I still have a week off until I start back with classes. Rita started her internship today, so she will unfortunately only be here to sleep basically and Em is still in Montreal, so I will be keeping myself busy prepping Rita’s food (hehe I enjoy it mmmkay), catching up with some friends from school, doing some of my volunteer stuff (my first contribution was posted on Nicole’s Facebook page today! Check it out here. It’s an article on picking an appropriate protein powder), applications and just keeping my zen going.

….

So onto those goals…

I emphasized the fact that these are goals and not resolutions because I don’t really believe in resolutions.

Check out my FB post below for my thoughts on resolutions…

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-10-00-18-pm

Basically I believe that if you have a GOAL you do it now. When you have resolution…well we all know how those go. I feel like resolutions are something we put off because:

1. We don’t really want to do it

2. It’s going to be a huge change

See the problem here? Either reason will most definitely 95% of the time lead to not keeping it.

As I see it, if something will benefit you in any way, you don’t need to put a start date on it that is sometime in the future.

Why wait to grow?

Why hold back on something that is positive?

It makes no sense to me.

A goal on the other hand is something I see slightly differently because it doesn’t have this ‘starting in the new year’ piece attached to it. I think we can all fall victim to the two issues above with goals too, but I think that goals are more often set with greater intent and thought and are simply things we are wishing to accomplish starting right than and there.

For example, I have a goal to grow my glutes in the new year. Now I should have said CONTINUE to grow my glutes because I didn’t just plan this for Jan 1. No, I had this goal a few months ago and just want to keep it going.

Before you say that is not a goal because it’s too general, I realize this and need to set more specific parameters, but at the time, I simply had it in my mind to really focus on two things:

  1. More glute accessory work rather than focusing solely on squats and lunges. These are great exercises BUT are great for the entire lower body rather than more glute focused. So instead, once I told myself that I was gunna take the time to focus on glutes, the next hamstring focused leg day, I added in barbell hip thrusts and started experimenting with sumo deadlifts. I also put a greater focus on kickbacks and getting more reps with those and learning the lovely (…awkward looking) cable pull through.

2. MORE CONTRACTION! An ugly butt in the gym, is a nicer butt outside the gym. Always remember this. Thanks Marie Wold for coining this saying. 

So yes, I failed to set a time limit or specific measurement for this goal… In my defence I don’t own a tape measure…I should get on that. But I wanted to make a change and so I did it THE NEXT DAY! Not on Monday. Not in the New Year.

THE NEXT DAY. 

That is a goal friends (well that an something using the SMART principles..)

So, what are some other goals for the new year? 

I haven’t really put much thought into it, because as I said, when I want to change something I just do it and that can happen at any time. I will say that I have a few things I want to accomplish this year though:

~Accept an offer for my post graduate studies. I haven’t determined whether I want the Masters/internship combined or the internship as of yet (provided I even get an offer…) because I keep flip flopping now. 

~A consistant goal is to hit a mid to high 80 GPA (also meaning Deans Honour Roll). This is realistic for me as I have attained that every year and is not stressing me like crazy to achieve while still having my life. School is not life friends. 

~Fitness..? I haven’t actually decided that yet aside from glute development. I hit my big goal of my 4×8 135b back squat right before Christmas as I intended and almost cried I was so happy. So I don’t know if I want to put in another squat goal or go for a different focus.

~Health..? Be patient with my body. I haven’t really thought about HOW I’m going to do this but I know it’s necessary. I need to heal and every day is not going to be flowers and daisies just because the parasites are gone. I have NO GUT BACTERIA and so my tummy needs to be babied for a bit. I also need to be nicer to myself and know that my body is in a transition phase. It just got attacked and it may not be as tight as I want it right now and I have to accept that point in my journey. Self love is an ongoing process and something everyone needs to focus on, but I do think I have come a long way and will continue to challenge my bad habits and poor self talk to be even more positive about myself. 

Well thats about all I have for the moment. Yes I want to continue my volunteering stuff, reaching for new opportunities that make me happy, be more social, relax more and obviously continue to work with and hopefully gain more clients, but those are always in my head and are not necessarily something I would formulate a goal from at the moment.

So, I don’t want to say that having a goal starting in January is bad or totally doomed. If you have one, do you and make a plan to stick with it. Don’t think of it as something to dread and don’t try to aim too high or they will not stay. This is a change to your lifestyle that is good and something you should want to do, so make it positive and be confident in yourself when you are ready to go for it.

Speaking of positivity, lets end off with someone who always brings the happy…

img_9678

-Chelsea

 

 

Leave a Reply

