Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Guys Need Not Read. Girl Talk

Leave a comment

My friends,

A short and sweet post this morning as I have something rather exciting to share. Sorry if this is too much information for you, but to my shock, Mother Nature decided to show her work this morning after about 6-8 months of having amenorrhoea.

To say I was shocked and lost for words was an understatement and although my mind is whirling around all kinds of thoughts, which I’m trying to calm any negative ones, I can say that it is a GOOD THING. No, it’s a GREAT THING. For us females, our cycles really show us that our body is healthy because it’s the first thing to go when the body gets stressed. So to get it back (or at least the first time, as I realistically know that it may be transient as it first starts back) means that my body believes that it’s getting adequate nutrition and it’s trusting me again. It’s not overly stressed and so it feels it can run a body process that isn’t actually ‘necessary’ yet still uses a lot of its resources.

I can say that I was shocked mostly because I’m still underweight, and of course with it’s re-appearance I automatically shifted my thoughts into the negative thinking that the weight I have gained must have all been fat because fat is critical to attaining your menstrual cycle. Give me a day or two and I will fight those thoughts back once again as my rational side comes back to the surface post-shock because those throughs are just that…irrational and eating disorder fuelled.

So yeah, I just wanted to share that lil surprise with you all as this is a big turning point in my journey. Even if I did get it back, this doesn’t mean that my weight restoration stops or that my food will stop increasing because, as I said, the 4 pounds that I have gained is still not enough to make me well and strong. So onwards we continue in the forward direction.

Have a great day my friends

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

