Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Fad Lifestyles, Gym Newbs…Thinking Out Loud

Leave a comment

Thinking-Out-Loud-2

My friends I have a lot to think out loud this week, so lets get started right off the bat shall we?

Thanks to the lovely Amanda from Running with Spoons for being the hostess to the mostess.

1. Maggie on my Mind

Here I was saying I’m an adult and everything and was going to be just fine when Rita left, but day 2 it hit me hard. You know that ‘down’ feeling, yeah that was me. I try my hardest to still smile (okay I don’t have to try that hard to smile, its just me) because smiling just makes you feel better, but I would be lying if I said that I didn’t have a bit of a dark cloud floating over me the past few days. It is perfect timing for me to go home this weekend and spend time with my familia and I have to say I just want snuggles…

IMG_8837.jpg

Of the puppy variety.

Is it bad that I have been ‘craving’ having a dog a lot recently…Ugh. Come to me money! Or better yet, can I just have one and it not cost me anything and never get sick… ever?

You know you’re desperate when you start wanting a cat just because you want a snuggle friend and they are less baby-like in their needs…

2.The gym is not a playground FYI

Not to sound like a preacher, but for real, take the gym seriously and don’t be an idiot when you come into the gym. I’m going to sound sexist here, but this specifically applies to guys because most often girls will run away to the cardio section when they are not sure (which is not the answer either!) rather then just being plain stupid.

Okay so that was a bit harsh, but I really don’t feel like seeing someone die when I’m in my domain.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 8.34.39 AM.png

Pardon my lack of spell checkin…slips happen when you are speaking with irritation passion

This most often happens when said individuals are not only newbs but also when they decide to bring their newb friend(s) with them too. Multiples just increase the stupidity that occurs.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 8.36.21 AM.png

And they just laugh…after they barely rack the bar and the guy crawls out from underneath it.

Just sits there and shakes my head. 

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 8.36.22 AM.png

And when you don’t succeed, try again with more weight? Cuz that makes perfect sense

And fail again. Like actual fail and once again, spotter barely racks it with 50 extra pounds. Unfortunately in cases like this, it generally takes an injury for them to smarten up a bit.

Let me say something before someones like “you talk **it but why didn’t you step in”. One, I wish I could lift 150+lbs just so maybe I could show them up (plus ya ya save their life and everything). And two the spotter did manage to get it on the bottom rung (i.e. two inches from the guys face…).

Please note how there were numerous GUYS around these two and they did nothing…

Speaking of which…

3. Girls vs. Guys

We apparently think very differently. I went over to talk to a gym friend of mine about said newbs and his response to my “They’re freaking me out because I would rather not see someone die this morning…”

You apparently have a bigger heart then me, I would laugh if it fell on their face.

Now before you judge my friend, please note that most guys would have said the same thing. Call it tough love. They are being idiots, so the guys logic is that maybe if they actually loose it, maybe they will learn their lesson…plus get a bit of entertainment.

gym-help

Lets be realistic here, guys often get a kick out of seeing other guys pain. 

4.Eating Like a Caveman…

Check out this podcast as this inspired this lil rant thought.

 To the paleo folks, did you know that you have been depriving yourselves?

Of oat gains!

That’s serious.

New research has pointed out the fact that Palaeolithic people did in fact eat grains. BLASPHEMY! In fact, a new paper was published (and discussed in the podcast) on a new tool that was discovered that has traces of a type of oat fiber suggesting that it was used to grind the grains into a flour.

So yeah….Sorry?

They also touched on some other forms of ‘dieting’ that I wanted to mention.

Intermittent Fasting

This is no miracle solution to loosing weight, but rather just a different way to space out your calories for the day. Mr. Dolce happened to mention that he had tried and and felt like absolute crap for the 3 months he was on it.

No PR’s

No Strength

No Energy

Why make life hard on yourself?

Eat something before you train and fuel your body to make gains. Simple as that.

Exception may be for runners who get sick with running on full. Perhaps eating something very quick to digest is best, but go with your gut. Pun intended. 

IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros)

I discussed a while back about this and what it was actually supposed to address when it was first released but they give great basic information as to why eating whole foods, rather then processed crap, is really how to keep your body weight in check. No, I’m not saying you need to eat clean 100% of the time to maintain your weight, I’m saying that eating wholesome makes a huge difference in satiety and often leaves you eating the calories your body needs. IE. Not in excess.

He said something very real..

Have you ever seen someone sit down and eat 3 apples? Not really. 4 donuts, yes.

The truth is that the satiety of the fiber and water from the apple often leaves you not wanting more due to feeling full and satisfied. The sugary, easy to digest foods leave you feeling unsatisfied and wanting more. Unfortunately, the latter is much higher in calories and can easily put you over your maintenance and lead to weight gain if consistently indulged in.

In other ranting news…

5.Why Do People Still Hate On Carbs.

Ugh I know that education on this topic is not there yet but it kind of infuriates me to hear people saying that I’m cutting carbs to loose weight or body fat.

Guys, no macronutrient (carbs/pro/fat) are the “fat storing macros.” If you go over your calories you will gain weight. You could eat over your cals in lettuce and you would gain weight. Don’t try that though because that may be painful…

Carbs bring with them a lot of water (about equal water per gram of carbs) so often people may reduce them to feel ‘slimmer’ just due to water loss but that is it. It’s not fat you are loosing. ITS WATER!

Okay rant over. Let me unruffle my feathers…

Disclaimer. I’m talking about carbs in general. Some people will avoid all carbs, including natural sources (oats, sweet potatoes, rice, etc) thinking that weight loss will follow. I’m not talking about cereal, sugar, etc

6. Bunny Therapy?

I just discovered that the pet store near my house lets you hold newborn bunnies just because. They just messed up because imma be there ERRYDAY!

cuddle  bunny

OMG I just can’t get over my joy.

…or over that baby bunny. Uh Oh…

7.The Best Compliment.

“You look like you’re an athlete.”

Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 10.02.03 AM

This is when strength and athleticism has surpassed aesthetics for the reasons why you work out, you know there is passion there. Find what you love because that is when it will stick and that is when you will progress.

I workout for me because I love it and I love getting stronger. I don’t work out because I feel that is required to have a certain body type.

…..

Well I’m off to lift real soon, so I’m gunna close it off there. I will be heading out for a nice lil hike post lift with a friend of mine to catch up which will be real nice…and maybe I will drag her back to the bunny shop…

I have a problem okay. At least I admit it.

Happy Thursday Friends!

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

