Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

25 Years In The Making…

4 Comments

Happy Long Weekend my friends!

First off, a big Happy Birthday shoutout to one of my besties and my beautiful housemate, Ritaaaaaa! I hope you enjoyed your day as low key as it was. We are two in the same where birthdays don’t really phase us, BUT I hope my singing over a pile of pancakes with a candle helped to start your special day on an interesting note.

DSC00657

Can we accept that I win for creativity with that card eh? Oh and we do birthday pancakes in this house! Chef Chelsea to the birthday rescue.

Click on the picture to take you to my Facebook page if you want to see us singing together.. 😀

It was quite magical… cough. 

Well speaking of birthday’s it is mine today and I am always thankful for all of the love that I receive on this day. I don’t need anything but to hear all of the people in my life take a moment of their time to send me a message just makes me smile. I always feel that a “like” isn’t enough. If they thought about me in that moment, I like to write them back a message because they deserve that for the warmth and positive energy they just passed to me.

So much love is given around and my heart always feels so full.

Starting with calling my Nana and Papa first thing because they always want to talk to me on my birthday if they cannot see me in person. So I called them up (as they don’t know my celly) and was happy to hear their cheerful voices in the wee hours in the morning.

The Facebook messages started a’rollin early as well including two beautifully written posts by my parents. Both of them included the topic of pride and I cannot help but feel some kinda way when they say they are proud of who I have become because that’s all I can hope for.

I want to make them both proud! You have raised me to be who I am and I can only hope that you know how much I care and appreciate all that you have done.

….

As I was preparing to head out for an early lifting sesh (obviously going to lift on my birthday!)

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 9.27.39 AM

Rita came out of her room nice and early to sing to me and hand me this…

img_9179

She is the sweetest! And inside da bag…

img_9180Oh no she didn’t!

I love them and obviously had to put them on immediately.

img_9186

Sorry for the filter I was trying to ensure you could see the sparklies!

Going to be flying in the gym! And sparkles, oh she knows me too well.

After a very colourful chestday…

Yes I will wear as much obnoxious colour as I want especially cuz it’s my birfday and I do what I wanna 😉

The gym staff even started singing happy birthday to me across the room. Yes my gym apparently loves me too, guess it’s all the treats I bring them hehe.

Made my morning!

….

My housemates picked me up (remember Emily drove down from Montreal?) and we jetted out to find a nice cozy spot on the patio at Buon Gusto, a cute Italian place downtown Guelph. Rita has wanted to try this place and I just wanted a patio setting so the two birthday girls got exactly what they wanted.

img_9196

We missed Em so much and were happy to be able to steal her away from her BF (Alex) for a few hours to celebrate our lil reunion.

We had to say goodbyes and it was super sad and felt almost like something was missing. We didn’t get enough time and felt like we left not getting everything that we wanted to.

Her and Alex drove away and Rita and I decided to go for a walk…a walk that turned into an hour and a half and by the time we got home, we were beyond tired. The sun is beautiful but man does it drain the life out of you.

My shoulders are nice and brown though!

img_9203

….

To our surprise, two minutes later, I kid you not, Em knocks at the door and said she just couldn’t fully leave without stopping by. So we chattered just the three of us girls and then she was on her merry way back to Montreal. We needed that. It wouldn’t have felt right if the first goodbye was the only goodbye.

Us girls need girl talk ya know?

….

We then went about making dinner and then I started making noodleless lasagna for Rita as I had extra chicken sausages to use up from yesterday.

Yes I’m still cooking all the things on my birthday…

And now as I sit here and think about how I feel at the end of my birthday, I can’t say I feel much different. Age really doesn’t mean much to me but what I will say is that I have come a long way in my first 25 years of life. I can also say that I’m proud of many of the things that I have done for myself, with some of the biggest changes being within the past few years.

I say it a lot, but my confidence that I exude now amazes me sometimes. I am the girl who used to stand in front of the class and pretty much want to cry during a presentation because I was so nervous. I was so insecure that I would be constantly thinking that others were judging me for the worst. I looked to please everyone around me even if that meant that my kindness was taken advantage of.

I didn’t love myself. That was simply self destruction.

Today I stand tall (ha right, not physically..) because I feel like a completely different person.

I couldn’t give a **it what others think about me 99% of the time. If I’m doing what is right for me, why should I feel like I’m doing something wrong?

I do things for me and don’t see them as selfish anymore. This is important! You have to come to realize that you are a person that needs attention to. It’s not bad to take care of yourself. 

I have a lot to give but I will never be taken advantage of. I refuse to be walked all over. That doesn’t mean I’m a mean person as I have quite of love that I want to give. Instead it means that I respect myself. 

I have goals I’m striving for. I’m determined and I will hit them.

I have a great social circle that makes me smile every day. No longer to I spend all my time on my work and believe that this feeling of slight loneliness is okay. I give off so much energy when I’m with others. 

If there is something I want, I go get it.

One thing, though, that I have always known is that I believe that I was meant to help others. I was meant to give. I know that may sound corny or others say that all the time, but I truly believe that is my calling.

I will leave it at that.

So there was my weekend in snapshots and it was full of love. Birthday’s are never about the things, its about the who’s and every person who takes a second out of their day to send positivity and love your way.

Thank you for all of that love. It is appreciated much more then you can know.

DSC00662

-Chelsea

4 thoughts on “25 Years In The Making…

  1. Happy Birthday my dear! I feel privileged to have met you – even if it wasn’t in the most ideal of settings. Perhaps we can be reunited in a similar setting for our internship 🙂 xo

    • Thanks so much Molly! I totally agree although I wish our first meeting didn’t have to be where it was, our struggles together were a bonding experience that I can never be regretful for! I hope you grab that internship that you want and that would be amazing if we end up in the same setting! 🙂 ❤

  2. Happy birthday Chelsea! I hope you had a great day and will have a great year to come :). Love reading your posts!!!
    P.S. Are you still having quest bars? I tried to order from their sites and the shipping almost cost as much as the bars itself lol. I wander when their new flavours will be released… 😉

    • Thanks so much! I’m so glad you enjoy them!! I’m trying to keep them going weekly while I can as I also love writing them. I love questbars but I don’t get them that much on my meal plan but you can buy at Popeyes and GNC. Except the brand new flavours. I also cannot tolerate the new version (with the corn) so I’m super sad that as soon as I can’t find the original formula any more I can’t eat them

Leave a Reply

