Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Sund-Wiches Do Come True

6 Comments

Hey Friends,

Random idea comin at you on this lovely Sunday. So I will say that I think I’m a pretty decent sammich maker. Well, I have never had bad feedback from my creations so that means I’m awesome right?

Anywho, I love making sandwiches for other people because really, like a salad, sammiches are really an endless, anything-goes type of food. If you like something, throw it on there. There are no limits to a sandwich and the more stacked it is, generally the more impressive it is in da mouth…and the belly.

Another thing I like about them?

You don’t need to make it super gluttonous to make it taste great. A super tall and show stopping sandwich can be made completely from wholesome ingredients and be both satisfying and healthy all at the same time.

So when it comes to making the perfect ‘wich, what are some of the rules?

Well, there are no rules like I mentioned before. You like something? Throw it on there. There are no borders.

So the point of this post then? Well, maybe I can give you are some tips on what I think adds to the nommness factor based on my sandwich making experience.

img_8849

Rita leerrrvves her eggplant –> Toasted Rye Bread + Avocado + Healthy Breaded and  “fried” Eggplant + Tomato + Fried Egg

The number one thing I will say is that bread better be toasty!

Crunchy Factor #1!

Toast it, throw in a pan, broil it, panini that **it. Whatever you do just don’t leave it soft. That just ain’t right.

What about if you don’t want bread?

Not to worry I have you covered.

~Sweet tater or other starchy veggie ‘bun’

~Thick green wraps (collards or chard leaves work best IMO)

~DIY buns like the awesome gluten-free, paleo english muffins from Arman

~Homemade pancakes or waffles make amazing buns as well.

More Crunch factors?

Crunch is a major help for mouth-feel. Other then the bread, I don’t think too much crunch is a good thing so perhaps one raw thing of two, but don’t go crazy and do the whole thing crunchy or thats too much.

IMO them raw, vegan sammiches just don’t do it for me. Cold and overly hard…

Pick your crunchies

~Sprouts (omega’s anyone?)

~Lettuces (spinach, spring mix, cabbage-slaw for a thai inspired sammich)

~Crunchy bacon if that’s your thing

~Crunchy coating on something (healthy ‘fried’ eggplant or an almond or oat/flax meal coated chicken)

Healthy Fried Eggplant –> heat a lil bit of coconut oil in a pan on medium/high. Slice an eggplant fairly thin. Dip in an egg or white white wash and then dip in a mixture of breadcrumbs or mix of gluten free oats/flax for GF option + some optional parmesan cheese. Place in the hot pan and let it cook until crispy. Flip and then remove when done. If they are still looking a bit raw due to thickness, toss in the toaster oven at 400 and roast until cooked through. 

~Veggie chips. I like to make zucchini chips by tossing slices of zucchini in some olive oil and a touch of pink salt and roasting them off at 400 degrees until crispy (flip once).

Okay now you need something melty…

img_8830

Sammich fit for a workin’ man (aka my Daddy)–> Toasted Italian Baguette + Melted Cheddar + Home Roasted Tomatoes + Chicken + Sprouts + Spring Mix + Mustard.

Melty is just appealing and although you can do cheese, you can also have other melty things be just as exciting (see you dairy-free friends, I gotcha covered too ;-))

Melty Goodness factors

~Cheese obviously. Go with something different and try out Brie + Caramelized Apple or Pear. OR Cheddar + Green Apple +Turkey

~Roasted watery vegetables –> Roasted tomatoes do the trick nicely

~Peanut Butter if you’re going sweet…

IMG_1319

Bring on the pancake ‘buns’ and melty peanutty goodness. Link 

…Throw in sautéed banana for another top up to the melty goodness factor.

Okay Something Protein-y..

A sammich has to have some staying power right? There are the obvious meats and such but here are some twists and maybe some protein ideas you may not have thought about:

~Smoked Salmon –> Fresh! Pair this with Avocado + Sprouts + Spinach + A homemade greek yogurt + cucumber spread.

~Beans –> Vegan Option! Make a spread out of chickpeas, white beans, etc and then add some roasted veggies like the wrap below.

~Shrimp –> Yes even shellfish can be put in a sammich. A healthier version of a Po’boy if you will.

Last but not least

A Sauce of Sorts..

A sandwich just isn’t a sandwich if it’s dry. So, there are your BORING… condiments like mustard, ketchup and maybe BBQ sauce, but what about things that are more fun eh?

~A Yolky Egg–> How awesome is it when you press that baby down and the yolk gushes out?

~Avocado –> Duh.

~Hummus –> People underutilize this glorious and vegan spread. Try more then just the basic hummus variety. Sundried Tomato hummus with an italian-style creation. Olive hummus for a greek version. Or…

~Pesto –> Basil Pesto is absolutely amazing, but there are other great ones out there as well.

~Tzatziki –> Going Greek?

~Cranberry Sauce –> Make it homemade and add it with Turkey to feel like Christmas all year ’round.

~Peanut Butter…? Apparently it’s a ‘thing’ now to put peanut butter on your burgers. Interesting…

So yeah, now that you’re bursting with ideas, go make your fine self a sandwich and report back with your creation 😉

Oh and we don’t discriminate here on Lil Miss Fitness Freak

img_8850

Lettuce Cup + Miss Dash Extra Spicy Haddock + Brown Rice Mixture (brown rice + Mushrooms + Onion) + Sprouts + Spinach + Waterfall of Mustard

Spicy fish tacos with brown rice (fish burrito?) and all the mustard count too.

Hope you had a great weekend all and enjoy the long May-24 weekend!

-Chelsea

6 thoughts on “Sund-Wiches Do Come True

  1. the title really made me smile! (now imma gonna go and read the rest of the post, but thought i’d comment first lol). That commercial shows up every time I watch a youtube video 🙂

    • Hhaha Yeah I hear it always when I’m watching the ‘Tube. I hope you enjoyed the post after getting past the title 😀

      • I loved it!! I enjoy all ur posts tbh so keep ’em coming. Hope you had a great shopping trip. I do have an unrelated question inspired by your lettuce wrap sammich. Is there a difference be Boston vs butter lettuce? Cuz I bought one from Walmart like a whole lettuce and it tastes really bitter…. It says Boston lettuce but it looked like butter lettuce from wf. It might just be Walmart problem ie less fresh? But m not sure

      • Aww thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it and I really hope to keep them going with the pace I have. I like mostly multiple times a week as long as I have topics to discuss. I have really been liking and getting great feedback from the friday fitness ones so that motivating. I actually used bibb lettuce for those wraps if you’re interested. I don’t think that boston should be more bitter because I believe they are from the same family and they are pretty mild in flavour but I could be wrong.

  2. So many great ideas! I’m with you on the toasted bread. I need it to hold up and have some texture! While we’re at it, why not toast the whole thing? My mom used to make me grilled PB&J (melty PB = crack), and I have been known to throw a sandwich or a wrap in the George Foreman to panini it.

    • Thank you! I’m so with you on the grilled PB sammich…if I could have bread anymore lol. I used to love hot and melty PB and banana + honey sammiches. I wish I would have thought back then to grill it though, I just nuked it hah. Panini’ing anything makes it instantly better. If it ain’t hot and crunchy it just ain’t right 😀

Leave a Reply

