Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

That Mercury…

2 Comments

Yesterday was just not my day friends. My housemate blamed the planets but I dunno, I think the world just had it out for me.

8c9412656-131017-coslog-planets-link.nbcnews-fp-1200-800.jpg

This week has been a bit on the stressful side…

Remember how I was complaining how this restaurant management course was taking over my life. This has been shown over the last few days as we came up to our “Second Conference” this morning/afternoon which was testing out the entrees for our restaurant, today. We basically had to come up with our theme for our restaurant day (when we basically act as managers and run the place….no pressure), 2 main entrees, drink, dessert and soup. We also had to cost and standardize our recipes which requires strict weighing of absolutely everything and figuring out serving sizes, costs and presentations.

The writing up of all of that and having to run around campus like a crazy person for like 12 hours a day (I’m not kidding either) is leaving me kind of exhausted to say the least.

The conference itself went well this morning as he liked our recipes. He made a few tweaks and, as usual, it was a lot more laid back then what we had been prepped for but the point is that it’s done.

Tomorrow I have gym early then a clinical lab where I have to needle myself to see what it’s like to be a diabetic (ie. glucose testing) then meet up with my partner for my counselling class to work on a proposal due Friday. Thursday is normally like my beginning of the weekend BUT NOOOOO I have to meet up with my restaurant group AGAIN (love these girls I really do, but I would like to be able to cross other things off my to-do list if possible…) to work on Assignment 1 (costing) that is due in our lab on Tuesday. That lab also happens to be our restaurants ‘soft opening’ and we all have roles to play. I’m a waitress, so this should be interesting…

Anyways, so back to my “mercury was taunting me” night.

If you were filming me last night it would have been quite the mind clusterfu** followed by some random adventures that my housemates and I endured because…well life hated me last night. 

So here was my day…

Hit glutes and hams in the morning.

…then I proceeded to grab my tea and go to my counselling lecture….then run over to my counselling lab…then run half was across campus to the restaurant to do the meeting for the Front Of House managers ONLY -_-

Everyone else got the day off our normal lecture…see taunting me…

Please also note that fact that he posted this meeting during the day….Thanks.

Leave campus at 6:10pm ready to eat my own face.

Stop into Metro to pick up the food I had to prep for the next days food presentation (the 2nd conference we did today)….yes you read that right…I had to buy the ingredients for my prof to eat… How is that fair for us poor students?

Stomach has officially eaten itself because I don’t feel it anymore.

Stages-Of-Hangry.png

Home. Shower. EAT EAT EAT. Mmmm elk steak…

Start to make recipes…of all the spices I have in my spice rack the ONE dried herb I need is empty. I really don’t have time for this….

NOTE that I needed to make these + weigh it and send it to my group by 9:30ish

Rita, oh lovely Rita said she would run over to get me paprika. Life saver.

She leaves and about 2 minutes later our microwave dies as I’m steaming the potatoes I need.

FOR REAL?!?!

I unplugged it and plugged it back into another plug that was working for our toaster oven and nope…it’s dead. Perfect.

Emily who had just gotten out of the shower decides we should run to Canadian Tire to buy another one and they are open for another 30 minutesI really don’t have time for this…

We go over, buy the microwave, steal a cart and fly our way home. Rita and Emily return the cart while I was going to put the new microwave in place and what do I see staring me in the face…

013.JPG

Gotcha…

It’s alive! This stupid demon microwave is alive!!?!?! Insert words I’m not proud of…

Take a deep breath, call Em and we laugh about it so I might not explode myself. Okay I’m calm.

Make my food. Standardize my recipes. Send them off a lil later but omg I’m done.

What a day…

So ready to relax…

Flick on my bedroom light…

Dead-lightbulb-167x300.png

Yeah…

YEAH!

I think it took me a minute to process because I literally just wanted to bang my head on my wall at this point.

Sure why not, just add to my misery.

This is when adventure numba 2 happened as we have super high ceilings.

How many short girls does it take to change a light bulb…

Picture Rita standing on a footstool which is on a barstool, balanced by Em and as she changes my lightbulb.

Game faces I swear.

We have light!!!

And thankfully, I guess the planets decided they had enough fun with me for the night and let my exhausted self pass out for the night without any further irritations.

Tuesday Rants

Thanks for listening and hopefully you could get a lil entertainment from my suffering.

Do you have those days where you just feel like that meme where the guy is flipping over his desk and leaving?

-Chelsea

2 thoughts on “That Mercury…

  1. WOW that is one crazy day girl! Luckily I am tall so changing light bulbs is part of my DNA. The microwaves ALWAYS break when we need them don’t they! Usually on a busy Sunday morning at work or when I need to defrost something that I have exactly 30 minutes to make before I need to leave. Typical.
    You made it through though and everything went well. I’d say you are kicking the restaurant’s butt! Have a great rest of the week 🙂

  2. hahaha yes tall has it advantages for changing bulbs for sure. Yes made it through, didn’t die and thanks for your positivity! We are trying our best with this course haha

Leave a Reply

