Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Eggs, Eggs And Moooe Eggs.

2 Comments

my_eggs_seem_to_be_grumpy_big.jpg

My Friends, this is a random post comin’ at you all thanks to my Dad’s breakfast plate.

I challenged myself to make him a new style of eggs every single morning this past week, and I think I may have done it. You see, he loves his eggs and although he would be perfectly content eating scrambled egg whites every day of his life, I decided to be annoying and give him his precious eggs in a different form. He may or may not have finally complained this morning that he really just loves the taste of his eggs plain…

1349987240893_7879065.png

….I can’t blame him though because if someone were to try and take over my oatmeal I might put up quite the fuss. We just like what we like around here.

But he let me be creative for as long as he was willing to stand it and so I came here to bring you some ideas on what to do with the simple egg.

Of course, if you’re in the same boat and just like them plain and simple and then by all means enjoy them in their purest form, but for those that are looking for something a lil different, he are some ideas for you.

You can scramble your eggs with a lil milk and perhaps cheese if you’re feelin extra special.

recipe-image-legacy-id--1201452_12.jpg

Here are the steps on the ‘perfect scrambled eggs’ 

Or you can do fried eggs with a runny yolk on a sammich…

IMG_1590.jpg

Or even better, make it a bagel-wich

unnamed.jpg

My Dad’s had a runny egg + sautéed tomatoes + mushrooms + onions + Cheddar

Even better still is doing open face with them fancy shmancy ingredients.

salmon3_zpscff44903.jpg

Smoked Salmon, Avocado and Runny Egg toast. Find here

This one I didn’t do for my Dad for a few reasons:

1 He won’t go near fish of any kind with a 4 foot pole.

2 He would ask me where the second piece of bread is. #CarbaholicAlert

3 He’s against anything green and mushy. Please don’t be offended beautiful avocado, he’s just weird. I still love you.

You can also bake your eggs into things…

Like potato skins

twice-baked-potato-with-egg-on-top.jpg

Find this recipe here. It is very similar to what I did. I wrapped the potato in foil and baked until it was tender then scooped out the inside and placed the egg inside. I threw some green onion on top with black pepper and baked it until the egg was set and then sprinkled it with his shaker parmesan cheese. 

…Or peppers

IMG_8473

My Dad’s breakfast this morning was a egg baked into a green pepper with homemade hashbrowns. For the pepper, I just cut away about a third of a large pepper and took the inside membranes + seeds out and cracked an egg inside. I baked it covered with foil at 400 degrees until the egg was cooked. No runny yolk, but I’m sure you can get one, I just wanted to make sure the whites were fully cooked or my Dad would have refused to eat it lol. 

I turned them into a pizza omelette

IMG_7092

Recycled picture of my pizza omelettes. Simply throw some egg whites and pizza spices in a pan (one medium low heat) and let them cook slightly before topping with all your favourite toppings. Cover it and let it fully cook through. Finally, crack an egg right in the middle and cover again until the egg is just cooked enough so that you get that runny yolk I failed to get in the picture above. 

Or you could just do a basic omelette

But who really wants to be basic? Ever made a baked omelette?

recipe-image-legacy-id--48215_11.jpg

Greek Salad Omelette found here.

So I think I did pretty well for switchin things up. He did like them, he just wants to go back to his routine eggs for a lil bit. A few other ways you can do eggs, which I didn’t try for my Dad because, like I said, he wants to taste his eggs, are:

Quiche.

Frittata.

Breakfast Burritos.

Egg Muffins.

So yes eggs are simple, easy and healthy ingredients to work with but they don’t have to taste boring at all. Switch it up and try any of these ways to enjoy this wonderful, wholesome food.

What is your favourite way to eat eggs?

What is your favourite breakfast items? You know it’s all oat gains over here.

-Chelsea

2 thoughts on “Eggs, Eggs And Moooe Eggs.

  1. I don’t really like eggs, they smell bad. I do like love eating PB&J for breakfast (and lunch and dinner haha) but this morning I made my oats with some coconut flour and they were amazing! I might have oats more often now =P

    • hahaha. I put egg whites into my oats to fluff them up. You don’t taste them I promise you should try it out. But yes oats for me every morning without fail. Without them I’m sad hahaha. I have tried to coconut flour trick before too. Makes them cakey like which I like better. I don’t like runny oats, I like them super thick 😀

Leave a Reply

