Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

4 Comments

Two posts in one day, BAM.

So I know that this survey is technically a day late as it’s supposed to be on Christmas Day….but I’m a rule breaker + it was fun and I wanted to be able to share it anyways.

Thanks to Heather at Life in Leggings for this one! To see her responses click here.

I wanna hear some of your responses too in the comments so share away! 🙂

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

Can I say neither? I’m really not a beverage person per say. I really only drink tea and water to be completely honest. If I was to pick a holiday drink that isn’t either of the aforementioned liquids, I would probably pick farm fresh apple cider.

IMG_8440

My new tea mug! Cute eh?

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Unwrapped presents?!? NEVER. Presents have to be wrapped to be considered presents in my book.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Coloured. I’m a fan of all things colour. Yes white may look more elegant, blah blah, but colour is so much more fun and when your tree included ornaments that are glass, the colour lights bounce off them so much nicer.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?

Yes! I actually was going to say no until I saw it yesterday hanging from the basement entrance. You will get hit with it every night in our house and so it’s good that it’s only required to follow through with if you’re with someone or the wall would be getting quite the lovin from us going under it single file 99% of the time…

5. When do you hang your decorations up?

My Mom does most of the decorating at our house. She leaves the main Christmas tree until I’m done exams so that we can do that together but she outdoes herself every year. We have no less then 6 Christmas trees of various sizes throughout our house and no room goes untouched with a lil Christmas spirit.

IMG_8438

Main tree which is where we open presents on Christmas morning.

IMG_8439

The Candy Cane tree that is in our dinning room

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

I absolutely love one of my own dishes actually. My spicy, roasted garlic and rosemary sweet potato mashed potatoes. When I actually make it ( I didn’t make it this year, too much food), I savour every bite and have a lil blob on every piece of turkey HA.

7. Favorite holiday memory as a child?

I remember when I was younger, my Nana and Papa would always come over for Christmas Eve before they then showed up the next day for the big day. We used to just spend a few hours with them and open a few presents and it was something I always looked forward to. They don’t come anymore due to it being too hard as they age, but I always remember those kinds of traditions

Another cherished memory is making apple pies for the big dinner with my Mom and Auntie Melanie. We used to blast our Christmas music and literally laugh until we snorted…well until my Aunt snorted. 😀

8. What is on your Christmas wish list?

I don’t really have a wish list but my parents always out do themselves and seem to read my mind when it comes to things I could use and enjoy. LuluLemon gift certificates are always good. 😉

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?

Nope. In fact, the majority of the gifts aren’t even under the tree until Christmas morning.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

Lots of lights and quite the variety of different ornaments. There are ones that have meaning (we have two teddy bears that are seated together to represent my parents, my unicorn as it was my favourite animal throughout my entire childhood), we have big sparkly snowflakes because sparkles duh and there are ones that we have collected over the years such as those my Grandma gives me every year.

There are of course the rest which are simply fillers that are plain ones, other angels, non-glass snowflakes and icicles (they pick up light beautifully) and sparkly branches that you weave into the trees branches.

IMG_8402

11. Snow? Love it or dread it?

Sorry, DREAD. I loaaaaaathheee the cold (grinch voice). Snow means it’s way too cold for my liking. Send me a picture of the snow and I would be completely happy living in the heat for the entire year. Why am I Canadian?

12. Real tree or fake?

Fake. For one, I have asthma that hates all forms of living plants being in the house if they have a strong smell. At least, this was true as a child, I’m a lot better now. Second, and probably very much related to the first reason, I hate the smell of plants. Is that weird? I think it’s one of those aversion things. If something is going to hurt you, I sometime feel your body tries to make you avoid it. So, floral scents made my asthma flare up so as a result, I then dislike the smell.

So yeah, I’m a girl you won’t see smellin the roses…

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?

Hmmm, I can’t really remember, but obviously my Macbook has been up there in the top favourites for sure. It doesn’t have to be something so expensive to make me super happy though. This year my parents got me a heated blanket for keeping me toasty during the dreaded winter and obviously it was instant love.

14. What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Being with family. No question no hesitation. Everything could be held the same and it would never feel the same without my family. They make the holiday a holiday.

15. What is your favorite holiday dessert?

I’m not really a dessert person and actually never eat dessert on holidays. Call that my ED or not, I just don’t. If I were to have one, it would be ice cream for sure. It would not however be a holiday flavour because I ain’t into peppermint and chocolate ice creams and don’t even think of coming near me with eggnog…gag.

Gimme all of this…

0005500069791

…Which is actually what was served at our house yesterday.

As a kid it was our homemade apple pie. I absolutely adored it and adored all of the leftovers as well. I have yet to have pie since my ED but my stomach also has decided now that it hates apples for some reason -_-. Yet another FODMAP food that it doesn’t like. Ugh.

16. What is your favorite tradition?

Baking with my Mom. Although the amount we can actually do together has shrunk over the years due to me being away at school, we still alway make at least one thing together.

17. What tops your tree?

A lop-sided angel. Hey she stayed up there and didn’t take a nose dive. Ain’t nothing wrong with crooked. We’re short over here mmmkay 😛

18. Which do you prefer, giving or receiving?

I really enjoy seeing others open my gifts. I try my best, despite not being very creative, to find special gifts or ones with meaning and so I’m always right there just waiting to see their face when they open it.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song?

I love Christmas music and you all have heard a million times that this CD is the best thing of life…

Destiny's_Child_-_8_Days_of_Christmas.jpg

Favourite song on the disk would probably be “Spread a little love.”

20. Candy canes, yuck or yum?

I don’t eat them anymore, but I love peppermint. I used to love the fruity candy canes as a kid too. Those red and pink ones (I think they were cherry?) were awesome!

21. Favorite Christmas movie?

Hmmm I feel like I haven’t seen all of them so that’s hard but I do love The Grinch (Jim Carrey version!) and Elf.

tumblr_ngl8px8bq91qcijb7o1_250.gif

 

My parents and I tend to always watch a few Christmas movies the nights leading up to Christmas. One of them is ALWAYS The National Lampoons Christmas Vacation because that’s my Dad’s favourite, and this year we watched Elf on Christmas Eve.

22. What do you leave for Santa?

Nothing now but as a kid he got some of our baking and carrots for the reindeer of course! Got feed the workers of the sleigh and plus the vitamin A for the optimal night vision 😀

23. Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

We always open presents first thing after I wake them up as I tend to wake up the earliest. Stockings first, then presents and then after that they make their traditional breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Our puppy always gets her breakfast of eggs as well (but that’s not really tradition because she tends to get eggs whenever they are made)

24. Do you prefer to shop online or in stores?

Stores because I like to be able to try things on. However, if it’s something I know will fit then online works awesome. I have ordered Lulu’s online before and had luck 50% of the time. That may sound sucky but that generally means that I end up having to go into a store to return it and come out of the store with 3 pieces for the one I returned….

25. Christmas letter or Christmas card?

I love writing and receiving letters much better then cards. They are speaking from the heart rather then fitting your thoughts and emotions into a pre-made card.

 

I hope you enjoyed this lil survey and remember to share some of your favourites too!

Have a great rest of your weekend friends. 🙂

Who’s doing more shopping tomorrow?

Find any good deals today for those who braved the sales today?

-Chelsea

4 thoughts on “

  1. I haven’t had pie in forever either! My reason is that my mom made it so much when I was a kid (we never didn’t have pie in the house) and I feel like it was forced down my throat, that I don’t want to eat it anymore. It’s not that I would refuse a piece now if it was offered, it just never is and I don’t make pie.

    • Don’t you hate when things you thought you could eat endless amounts of then become a turn off. I hope that never happens with pb and me…that would just be a tragedy. What was your favourite type of pie? As much as I loved apple, when the peaches were in perfect ripeness and from the farmers market our homemade peach pie made us all melt a lil bit inside.

Leave a Reply

