Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

What [Rita] Ate Wednesday

6 Comments

Hey Friends!

Happy Humpday!

813c8315c425ff82235fbf37b221f282

Besides the fact that it’s midweek and half-way to the weekend, what do you enjoy about Wednesdays?

For me, today I’m having a lil dinner shindig with my two housemates and our friend, Cass so that’s going to be a good time! I will be makin’ up a noodle-LESS zucchini lasagna after Emily requesting…

I want ricotta

Cheese and more cheese you will receive.

Throw in some veggies and some happy cow meat (ie. grass-fed beef) as Emily calls it and we have a pretty quick, healthy and fun meal to bring to the table.

Although, remember to take the time to appreciate where you are and what you have in your life as today is also..

RemembranceDay

Remembrance Day. Have them in your hearts today and everyday.

Anywho, what else does Wednesday mean in the blogworld? What I Ate Wednesday with all the foodies of the blogosphere of course!

Oh there Jen and thanks to Laura for hosting the partay this week.

WIAW-New

I had a request to highlight the eats from a normal person person other then myself and if you ask, you shall receive my friends.

Today we are highlighting the Tuesday eats of someone who, like me, loves all things food but she has one very big, and amazing, leg up on me…

She never denies herself or her body anything. She never bats an eye to just eat.

She is a true representation of eating intuitively in my mind.

If she’s hungry she eats.

If she wants ice cream at 5pm on a weekday, she nabs a bowl of ice cream.

If she goes for a nap before dinner and sleeps all the way to 10pm, well then dinner is at 10:30pm

If she’s feeling snacky despite not really being hungry, she fulfills that craving.

No second thoughts if every meal of a given day is eaten out.

You see, in a way I admire her. Fear isn’t in her vocabulary. She cannot understand why I would hold back from eating something or why many foods give me severe anxiety because if she wants something, she allows herself to have it. No guilt. No shame. No compensation.

She lives as everyone should. Free.

So with that, I give you a day in the life of my housemate, Rita.

12065598_520402821461545_1203636682935432805_n

Tuesday started a bit on a rough note as I heard her rush around the kitchen after sleeping an hour past her alarm.

Bed: 1, Rita: 0

She nabbed her lunch (I have slowly gotten her into food prepping! Housemate win!) and the lil snack baggy I made her real quick before she woke. She also had her usual hot water with a gob spoonful of raw honey.

I have asked her before the significance of this honey water and I believe she told me that her Mom said that it was good for the body so that is why she does it. Plus she loves loves sugar…erg honey. 

Time of class….8:30am

Time left the house… 8:28am.

Bike those legs Rita!

IMG_8270

Bam in class. She is in landscape architecture and man has she been busy with school stuff this year. I always feel bad for her on those weeks (which seem like it’s been the whole year) that this poor girl is in the studio ALL DAY.

In the thermos is her morning tea I believe…

IMG_8260

Have a I mentioned that tea is what this house is known for? Rita has about 2 teas a day, I’m the same and Em, umm.. too many to count. This is why our house had no glasses for like the first 2 months because we be muggin.

Anyways, 9:50am arrived and so did the food.

IMG_8271

Apparently our school provides McD lookin food. Seriously, does that not look like an egg McMuffin and hash brown?

I’m going to assume class continued to happen until she went to the school gym for some swimming at 11am. She has been slowly learning how to swim (self teaching) and has really been enjoying it.

As a matter of fact, it makes me smile so much when she comes home all smiles saying that she’s getting stronger. She was telling me how she used to bike to school on level 1 and now she’s doing level 4. Good job to my housie. 😀

After that, around 12:50pm, lunch happened.

IMG_8268

Foodprep for the win! She had stir-fried some book choy (her favourite veggie) with some chili flakes and lots of garlic to have with some white jasmine rice, the dark meat from the whole chicken I nabbed and the two last pieces of buttercup squash I roasted up for her on the weekend.

Fun fact. Stir frying raw chili, whether fresh or dried, creates fumes that will leave you choking for the rest of the night. It’s delicious but you have been warned.

I had roasted up an entire buttercup squash for her and Em the other week because it was one that was too soft and sweet for me (ie. perfectly ripe and the way most people like them the best. I’m weird and love them dry to the bone so they get super crispy when roasted) and Rita absolutely loved it. So this week when an in-class course took over her weekend and made her miss our farmers market trip she asked me to make her another batch and she went through that in 3 meals. 😀

Snackage happened throughout the afternoon starting around 1:45pm apparently…

IMG_8267

That lil baggy I mentioned earlier in the post. I grabbed some of her dried figs and a few handfuls of her deluxe nut medley (both organic from the market), some candied ginger cubes and pumpkin flax granola from Nature’s Path to make a lil homemade trail mix.

IMG_8264

Looks like an arrowroot cookie. Could be a cracker…I dunno.

From 2:30 to 3:30 she went on a plant walk with her class. See those drops on her baggy? Yeah it was pouring all day. Guess the profs don’t care about that…

IMG_8265

These happen a few times a week where they go to a part of the campus and collect leaf samples to ID later. She says they are fun because she is in love with plants and enjoys seeing new species. Guess she found the major for her!

Post-plant pickin lolly at 3:35.

IMG_8266

As I write this it’s killing me that I don’t know what flavour it is. I’m nosey can’t you tell?

Oh update I nabbed her on her way out…Chocolate something she’s says and a mini one that you hand out to the kiddos at Halloween lol

Dinner happened around 5:30pm and she texted me being like

Chelsea I forgot to take a picture of my dinner!!

….but I took a picture of the menu..

IMG_8263

She’s so cute.

She had that soup, which she said was really yummy (as the sign says!) and a Philly cheesesteak sammich.

Workin Workin Workin

She arrived home around 9ish I think to dig into her pint of Baskin Robbins Mango Tango ice cream at 9:47pm (hahah so specific)..

IMG_8261

And some more of that pumpkin flax granola…at 9:55pm. <- She takes this tracking seriously. LOL

IMG_8259

Then she crashed probably around 11:30pm. Another long day in the books for her.

So there was a look into the eats of my housemate. A girl who loves food and gives her body what it wants, when it wants it and just enjoys herself.

Something everyone should be able to do!

Oh and I wanted to show you how funny she is…

IMG_8258Yes she actually wrote everything down for me! She was totally excited to do this lil day in the life of eating post and took her job very seriously.

Thanks Rita!

Anyways, I’m looking forward to tonights lil dinner party we are having and hopefully I can make a zucchini lasagna that is not too watery this time. They tend to do that because of the high water content in zucchini so I have a few tricks I’m pulling out of the bag (roasting the zucchini + very thick sauce) for this attempt and hopefully my guests enjoy the end result

I will not be having it as 1. it contains cheese which I can’t eat and 2. my coach would hit me over the head because it doesn’t have carbs. But I have mentioned before that I love throwing dinner parties because it lets me be creative in the kitchen.

Happy Wednesday Friends, I’m off to train chest after eating my second pre-workout massive plate of food…

IMG_8272

Favourite Ice Cream Flavour?

Do you like Trail Mix?

-Chelsea

6 thoughts on “What [Rita] Ate Wednesday

  1. How fun to share the eats of someone else. I shared the eats of my Hubby once, along with my own that day of course.

    Happy WIAW and thanks for linking up.

  2. You are hilarious. I love that hump day graphic. Grumpy cat is the jam. 🙂

  3. Thats awesome to document a house mate love this post and idea!

Leave a Reply

