Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Humpday Updates

3 Comments

My friends!

It’s a rainy humpday over here in Guelph and as I began to write this, I had just finished up my second pre-workout meal

My last purple sweet tater made it onto this plate this morning. So pretty. 6 ounces sweet potato + 2 ounces green mush goodness (avocado) + 3 ounces roasted chicken breast.

My last purple sweet tater made it onto this plate this morning. So pretty. 6 ounces sweet potato + 2 ounces green mush goodness (avocado) + 3 ounces roasted chicken breast.

Ugh yeah, so much food. #DoYouEvenCarb?

So how am I doing so far now that I’m officially just over a week in?

Honestly?

Better then expected. Mike brought me in ‘slowly’ with the addition of a whole other meal before my 10am workout which was scary to be quite frank. To think of eating my normal pre workout (big bowl of oats) and then an hour and half later eat what you saw above and then workout within the hour of that was actually terrifying.

Like for real, I had anxiety about it.

But I did it and now do it every day before my lift because I’m doing what I’m told.

Mike says…

“It’s not even that much food”

-_-

Maybe for you lol…

but for the tiny lil 5 foot girl, my tummy says otherwise.

download

I have to say though, that it digests fairly quickly and I’m not feeling as heavy as I thought I would. And I’m still starving marvin once that workout is done. Apparently my body is efficient like Mike said.

The issue though, which I’m now trying to pinpoint is the excess gas. Sorry is that too much info for ya?

I dunno if it’s the sweet potatoes, one of the supplements (of my hundred it seems) or just my stomach being annoying and trying to adjust to the new quantities, but for the first hour in the gym I have bubbles popping away in the tummy which is not the most comfortable feeling and makes me slightly self conscious as I’m feeling like I’m rocking a wee food baby belly.

Hopefully that passes or I may have to do some experimenting.

The other issue is sleep once again. I realize I complain about sleep a lot. Sigh. Sorry guys. Now that I have to squeeze in another meal, I’m trying to help myself out by trackin back the alarm an hour to a 6am wake up call and after a few days (plus the midterm yesterday), it’s hitting me real hard.

Goal of life is to finally say I get 7 hours of sleep a night…

One can dream.

….

Speaking of my midterm, in other non-food related news, I wrote my nutrition midterm yesterday morning and was so relieved that it was done that I did what I always do post-test time

Step 1: Gym

Step 2: Nap

20a34dab050fa99fed9978dd19e25d8e

Step 3: Bake ALL THE THINGS.

For real guys, this always happens. My housemates know they get a lot of food when I’m done with midterms because for a few days I have a baking itch that I need to get out of my system.

Last night started with makin these lil guys for my housemates again because they loved them so much.

image

Peanut Butter Pumpkin Protein Bites ~ Gluten Free Jess

Plus I roasted a whole buttercup squash and fingerling potatoes for them to have for dinner (well lunch/dinner food prep for Rita since she is so busy at the school studio she never sees home…) and oats in a thermos (lol) for Rita in the morning because she never wakes up to eat and I get mad at her for not takin care of herself.

Jokes.

Tonight it continued with…

IMG_8231

Pineapple fried rice (healthy style) using up some pineapple that I made OIAJ with for Rita a while back. I also threw in the rest of my lobster left over from my dinner tonight (I have a slight $$ addiction right now..). Lucky girl that I’m nice and share my delicious lobster…

..or maybe it’s just because it only lasts for 12 hours once you thaw the big container…

No one will ever know. 😉

I used this recipe and it smells amazing. Hopefully she enjoys the few meals she gets from it.

Also made was…

IMG_8229

A very messy looking bowl of caramel apple zoats for Emily’s breakfast…

Err.. it was supposed to be breakfast but she ate them when she got home from the gym hangry.

For the oats:

I made traditional zoats with one whole egg mixed in half way through and chia seeds. While that was cooking I sautéed a diced up McIntosh apple in some coconut oil until it was soft and added some of my Walden Farms Caramel sauce (which I sadly cannot even tolerate a taste anymore…damn stomach it’s so yummy) to coat them. Once the zoats were done, I mixed the apples into them + some raisins + caramel extract and cinnamon. Then I topped it with a lil bit more caramel and a spoonful of my Salted Caramel Nuts n’more peanut butter.

When I said Rita’s smelled good, this smelled drool worthy

I promise I didn’t slobber in your zoats Em, but I may have sniffed them more then once…

Finally, what was supposed to be her dinner..

IMG_8233

A steamer package ready to be baked. Wild sockeye salmon topped with basil pesto on top of some veggies. These steamer bags are bomb guys! This package went into the toaster oven and baked for a whole 20 minutes at 400 and bam it was done. Guess it’s lunch now for tomorrow with the roasted sweet tater I made to go along side it.

So yeah, chef Chelsea has put down her apron for the night, but I can’t say it won’t be put back on at least once more as I have 1/2 a jar of pumpkin left and it’s probably going to be bread-ified. 😀

oooorrrr maybe these guys because they look oh so oooey gooey..

03-IMG_1394

Here’s the recipe.

So yeah, I’m doing okay thus far. It’s tough, but I’m making it through. I posted on my instagram (follow me for all my foods!) that I hope to see some gains soon because I need something to grasp onto as far as postivity goes as the food increases continue.

I do have a confession to make though my friends. As much as I complained and complained that I was going to miss it dearly, I skipped out on my ice cream cheatmeal last week and I don’t know when I will be able to get that back going at this time. I’m sad because I do really enjoy it and I feel like I made a tiny bit of progress with it psychologically, but with the amount of food that I’m having now, I just can’t bring myself to have it. It’s too hard.

Instead, I ‘cheated’ last week with a saladbeast from Freshii on my new second restday after the farmers market with my housemates. Dare I mention that I felt bad for it because of the fact that I was eating out (ie. cheating in my mind) on a rest day.

Yes guys, I felt bad about a salad.

Bad enough that I had a wee bit of physical anxiety symptoms later that day.

It is what it is and it’s something to be worked on (the whole mental issues I still have with how I perceive food) I know this. One thing at a time.

On a more positive note to end of the night, is the beautiful addition to my desk that I treated myself to today because they were on sale at Metro.

IMG_8225

A mini orchid to brighten my days.

I hope you have had a great half of your week and are trekking forward to you weekend. Thank you for always being there to listen to my rambles and for being so supportive and positive. I want this journey to be an honest one and so you are going to see up’s and downs. In the end though, I will come out on top just you wait!

Oh and by the way Laura I have not forgotten about your request, I have just been too busy to type up your student grocery haul post. It is started, I just need to finish it. Promise it will be posted up soon! 🙂

What is the last thing you treated yourself to?

What should I make with my pumpkin leftovers?

-Chelsea

3 thoughts on “Humpday Updates

  1. Thank you for your honesty. In MY honest confession, when I started reading the blog or seeing your instagram I never comprehended your struggles (probably still dont). I always thought you were so strong (not that you arent- in fact I think you’re so so so much stronger for admit these things) and just so restrictive for other reasons

  2. Glad to hear things are going well so far! Could you do a post on how you’re handling the cut back on exercise? I’d really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

