Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

To Rest Is To Bake

Leave a comment

My Friends

So I randomly had today (Thursday) off work today and so my restday left me without a full day of working to keep my brain off the gym…

Gymrats you understand the feelz.

So naturally that led me to cramming my day with appointments, errands and….

IMG_7981Baking.

Also, since you are probably feeling like I don’t cook anymore due to not posting any recipes in an eternity, I wanted to share these pronuts with you. These pretty lil things will be making their journey to the gym tomorrow morning for the trainers to munch on. Not to brag, but they get all happy and giddy when I come in with the bag of protein filled goodies. 😀

The idea for this flavour (salted caramel), other then the fact that caramel is amazing and I’m obsessed with it right now, came mostly from the fact that on Monday morning I had made more bundt muffins which contained two things that needed using up:

  • A whole bag of pretty dead lookin nanners
  • A decent amount of homemade vegan caramel
Banana Caramel Protein Bundt Flower. I was told they were my best combination yet!

Banana Caramel Protein Bundt Flower. I was told they were my best combination yet!

That caramel by the way is like the easiest thing every to make and everyone was raving on how good it was. I will never know if it actually tastes like caramel, but it smells like it and it’s a hit so I’m not complaining.

Vegan Caramel Sauce

  • Pitted dates, soaked for at least an hour then drained
  • Caramel extract
  • Enough water to get the mixture smooth but not liquidy (or until the consistency you want, I wanted stickier so I used as lil as possible)

Directions: Place the dates, caramel extract and some water in a good blender and give it a whirl. Add enough water as you need to reach the texture you want.

NOTES:

The amount of caramel extract will depend on how many dates you want and how strong you want it. I used about 1/2 a package of dates and maybe 1/2 to 1 tsp of the extract.

Also, I have seen (and made once) vegan caramels that use vanilla extract and almond butter along with the dates and they have been successful as well and give a creaminess to the product because of the fats from the nuts.

Anywho back to the pronuts…

IMG_7978Well, as usual, I tend to throw things together randomly and after seeing a tip from the protein chef or Protein Pow on bodybuilding.com saying that you should add nuts to your mix for more moist protein donuts (whey dries out your baking), I decided to test out that theory with this batch.

So here ya go.

Salted Caramel Pronuts

Approximate Macros per 1/6 pronuts: Cals: 182 Carbohydrates: 22g Fat: 6g Protein: 11g Fiber: 5g Sugar: 7g the sugars are from the banana and dates. No sugar added.

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 ounce raw cashews (or other nut would work too)
  • 1 scoop Diesel Salted Caramel Whey (can probably use vanilla and just increase the caramel extract)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • crack or two of sea salt (I use pink Himalayan)

Wet Ingredients:

  • 2 small-medium very ripe bananas (about 150g worth)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1.5 egg whites
  • 1/2 tbsp melted coconut oil (don’t know if you really need it or not)
  • about 1/2 a cup of unsweetened cashew milk (or other milk choice)
  • 1 tsp caramel extract
  • Homemade Caramel (see above)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. In a blender, grind up the cashews and the oats into a flour. Combine with the rest of the dry ingredients ensuring to get out any coconut flour lumps. Microwave your bananas in a separate bowl (makes for easier mashing), whisk in your egg and other liquid ingredients. With the milk, start with 1/4-1/3 cup and add more as needed when you add wet to the dry ingredients to get a cake-like batter. Combine your liquid ingredients with your dry with as little folding as possible. Using a sprayed donut pan, fill half of the well with the batter. Place a ring of caramel in the middle of each donut ring and then cover with remaining batter. Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes or until the edges are starting to brown and they are firm to the touch but still have a bounce to them.

IMG_7971

Naked Pronuts fresh from the oven

Carefully remove them from the pan and place on a rack to cool. While they are cooling, take a small amount of your caramel and water it down to a syrupy consistency. Take a toothpick and stab a decent number of pin holes in your donuts (don’t destroy them, you shouldn’t see these holes) and spoon your caramel syrup over the donuts. The holes allow for the syrup to seep into the donuts and when they are fully cooled, it will have a glazed effect as well.

Carefully drizzle-whizzle your caramel syrup over the pronuts while they are warm.

Carefully drizzle-whizzle your caramel syrup over the pronuts while they are warm.

IMG_7978

Spread your glaze around a lil bit to cover the tops (and the holes) fully.

Optional but totally worth it for the salted caramel effect, crack some pure sea salt over the top while the caramel is still wet.

Anyone else see that beautiful salt shinin back at ya?

Anyone else see that beautiful salt sparklin back at ya? You lil flirt you… 😉

Enjoy.

I really hope you like these and I’m hoping the trainers will gobble them all up as well tomorrow.

Have a great Thursday my friends!

Anyone else as obsessed with caramel right now as I am?

Do you like salty things? I’m not a salt lover and never used to put salt on anything (parents never did as I was growing up) but with my chronic low blood pressure and the fact that now I don’t eat any packaged food really, I was probably deficit (strange eh) due to my strenuous workouts. Now to try to add more in, as I still don’t like it on many things, I have acquired quite the love for it cracked onto my pre and post workout zoats. Salty peanut buttah…Mmmmhmmm.

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

