Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Motivation Mondays

Leave a comment

My Friends,

This is something that makes me quite sad

Screen shot 2015-07-20 at 9.55.25 PMMore so, it makes me angry.

This video (click the picture to go to the link) went viral and I found it on Facebook and I just had to comment on it. Have you seen it?

I have said before that our society is toxic. It seems that people will always have something negative to say about others. This reality is something that is unsettling to me.

This though…

Takes it to a whole other level.

The internet is a place where people can hide, be trolls and just be plain awful to others without repercussion.

Why do we have to use a tool that has so much potential for good things for things that are just so wrong.

Now, I’m not here to preach about the misuse of the internet…

Instead, I’m wanting to comment about the fact that, as I said, people will always have something negative to say about someone else.

Especially when it comes to appearance related things.

You wear too much make-up.

Gah don’t you think you should ‘have your face on’ before you leave the house?

See, people are confusing.

This video is honestly disturbing though. People calling her ugly and making snide comments about the fact that she suffers with acne. BUT when a make-up team comes in and basically plops a movie-ready amount of make-up on her face, she is now deemed flawless.

This is what leads to this..

IMG_7953Is that what we are looking to do?

Are we looking to have young girls feel the need to cover their beautiful youthfulness so early because that is what is right? To fear ever getting one single pimple because apparently the world will turn their backs on them.

Do we want to be in a world where everyone is always self-conscious and chasing after something that is not real?

I would certainly hope not.

So in response to this video and because I was so haunted by it that I really didn’t know what to say (shocker), or rather, how to say the storm of thoughts in my mind in a proper manner, I took my own MAKE-UP LESS selfie…IMG_7935And, yes, I have my own insecurities about myself, I want to motivate and challenge you all to turn those into positives.

Yes I am self-conscious right now because I’m too thin BUT I’m working on it and am happy to say that although it may be at turtle speed, I’m heading in the right direction

Yes, I have dark circles under my eyes but hey my eyes sparkle when I smile so since I smile so much no one will notice.

Yes I have a pimple on my cheek that has taken up residence for like 2 weeks now (thanks mother nature…) but hey it’s way bigger in my own eyes then anyone else and why should I care if someone else sees that my skin isn’t picture perfect. No one’s skin is.

Basically I want to tell you all that you are beautiful. More importantly then the outside though is the fact that you are beautiful on the inside and that is what shines through when people interact with you. I hate the fact that others can be so cruel and dictate how we feel about ourselves. That needs to stop. Pronto!

I am me and you are you. No one looks like the airbrushed cover models and no one ever will. Nature created us differently to keep things interesting and that is how it should be. We are not mannequins.

Remember to always focus on what is inside and when you come to the conclusion that you are a wonderful, smart, talented and happy individual who does amazing things, those negative things that people say to you (because of their own insecurities) will simply not phase you in the slightest.

Happy Monday my beauties.

So tell me, what are 3 things about yourself that you may have felt negatively about in your past but now see their beauty?

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

