Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

All In The Family…W[We]AW

8 Comments

Hey Friends!

I thought this week that I would not only share my own eats but also my parents just because I’m that kind of daughter who asks her parents to stop before they dig into their food to take a picture of it first…

Or instagram…

Or blog…

The wise words of my father

BUT

He thoughtfully followed my request and even went one step further and tried to make them look pretty and put togetherexcept the breakfast and well…the blurriness, but please excuse his photography skills as he works shift work and no one should be up at 4am in the morning. You understand.

Also, much to my amazement, my Mom even remembered to take a picture of all but one of her food items of the day. The one she missed I was prepared for because I happened to make it for her and so I snapped it. 😉

#WhenYourDaughterKnowsYouThatWell.

So lets get to it. This was done last Thursday as I not only wanted to give you a rest day for myself, but also a day where all three of us were working! I hope you enjoy.

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

I was going to say thanks to Jen for hosting but again this week I’m not really sure where the link-up is :-O.

Oh wait, found it…

Thanks Laura!

Phew that was a close call! I actually snapped this week!

Dad Breaky

Again sorry for the blur. Dad crawls out of bed at just before 4am and noms on some plain toast, egg whites, fruit (probably with greek yogurt) and his orange pekoe tea with some 2% milk

I have a lot people asking if my parents eat like I do and the answer is no. My Dad says that no one eats like me because I’m an extremist LOL! Overexaggeration much.

Mom's breaky eaten around 9:30am. Loads of Raisins (Loblaws brand of Raisin Bran. My Mom insists it has more raisins then the brand name) + All Bran + tbsp of flax meal + frozen strawberries and 2% milk

Mom’s breaky eaten around 9:30am. Loads of Raisins (Loblaws brand of Raisin Bran. My Mom insists it has more raisins then the brand name) + All Bran + tbsp of flax meal + frozen strawberries and 2% milk

But for serious, no. I’m very particular when it comes to my food and I like to eat pretty much everything (very few exceptions) completely from scratch. It’s just what I like (yes I do actually love and crave whole foods, crazy eh?). They opt to eat out more and keep things mostly simple (where I would find that boring) when they are cooking for themselves. For this summer though, I have been home so I have literally cooked 90% of their dinners for them and some of their lunches when I’m around during the day. Therefore, veggies have appeared on their plates much more then their bellies are used to.

Chelsea breaky

My breaky of zoats eaten around 7:45am. Because it was a rest day, my fats go up and my carbs go down a bit. It’s just how I do things. So some of the typical add-ins such as peanut flour, zucchini, chia seeds and egg whites are still there, but my fruit (banana normally gets swapped for berries but I was really feeling nanner so I beat ED down and had a small piece of that) and fat choices (coconut oil rather then nut butter) change and I add a protein icing (Diesel whey in salted caramel + US cashew milk) like I do with my post-workout zoat bowls. Finally, my new addiction is cracking pink Himalayan sea salt all over the top. OMG so good and I’m normally not a salt person at all!

Sometimes I feel like their parents when a conversation like this happens…

Chelsea has to work…

Me: What are you planning on having for dinner?

Pizza…

Me: Sigh. What veggies are you having -> remember it was my goal to have them have a veggie on their plate for every dinner this summer!

We are having a veggie pizza…

Me: A mushroom and tomato doesn’t count as a serving of vegetables!

You’re not supposed to have vegetables with your pizza. Pizza is meant to be eaten so that you don’t have to cook!

Me: I prepped you a salad. Eat the damn salad.

Dad obeys bitterly, Mom doesn’t so she gets the long green finger (Grinch anyone?) and the evil eye from her orange green thumb child.

Story of my life.

Dad's 'lunch' happens on his first break around 9:30. He normally has a packed lunch that is often leftovers or something I put together but I happened to be in whole foods the day before and made him a special box of goodies. Potato wedges, Moroccan chicken (which I snuck a bite or 5 of and was delish) and some veggies. + Red delicious apple. Do you notice how he made the photo all pretty even at work? No shame. Dawww.

Dad’s ‘lunch’ happens on his first break around 9:30am. He normally has a packed lunch that is often leftovers or something I put together but I happened to be in whole foods the day before and made him a special box of goodies. Potato wedges, Moroccan chicken (which I snuck a bite or 5 of and was delish) and some veggies. + Red delicious apple. Do you notice how he made the photo all pretty even at work? No shame. Dawww.

Other readers ask how I eat the way I do at home. They often tell me that their parents cook things that they don’t really want to eat and don’t really know what to do about it.

In my mind it’s quite simple. Cook your own food.

My lunch eaten around 12:30 before I had to head into work. Salad + pizza omlete that contained all the grilled veggies, grilled squash, lobster (spoiled yes ;-)) and dat runny yolk! Seasoned with Mrs. Dash chipotle seasoning and chili flakes.

My lunch eaten around 12:30 before I had to head into work. Salad + ‘pizza’ omelet that contained all the grilled veggies, grilled squash, lobster (spoiled yes ;-)), sprouts, spinach, avocado and dat runny yolk! Seasoned with Mrs. Dash chipotle seasoning and chili flakes.

I then get one of two replies back.

1. My parents get mad if I cook something else.

2. My parents get offended if I don’t eat their food.

For one, you are an adult and I feel as if your parents should be perfectly content with you making your own food. The only reason why they should get angry is if you refuse their food and want them to go out of their way to cook you something else.

If you offer to cook your own meals, there shouldn’t be a problem in my opinion.

My Mom's lunch that I made for her as I ran out the door for work. Eaten around 1:30pm. I made her a toasted lil wrap with chicken, lettuce, spinach, yum yum pickles, sprouts and mustard. Side of a donut peach that she had never tried before.

My Mom’s lunch that I made for her as I ran out the door for work. Eaten around 1:30pm. I made her a toasted lil wrap with chicken, lettuce, spinach, yum yum pickles, sprouts and mustard. Side of a donut peach that she had never tried before.

The second one is a bit trickier, however, should still be completely manageable. You need to sit down with them and have a discussion as to why you want to have your own food rather then what the family is eating. Explain to them that it’s not that you don’t like their cooking, but instead, frame it in a way that you have goals you want to obtain so you have different needs OR you could frame it in a way that you want to learn to cook for yourself, as once again, you’re an adult and being able to cook is a life skill that needs to be learned.

Don’t over think it. Who knows, they might not even bat an eye if you choose to start cooking. Even better, offer to cook the family dinner one time instead and share your new skills and foods with them.

Dad's second break snackie which I believe is early afternoon (he works 10 hour shifts). Another piece of fruit (nectarine in this case) and a bought muffin. Normally he has melba toast with cheese but we didn't have any of his toasties. Damnit who did groceries this week...oh wait that's me... Also take note how he is showing you how much water he drinks!

Dad’s second break snackie which I believe is early afternoon (he works 10 hour shifts). Another piece of fruit (apple in this case, but nectarines/peaches are common) and a cranberry muffin he bought. Normally he has melba toast with cheese but we didn’t have any of his toasties. Damnit who did groceries this week?…oh wait that’s me…
Also take note how he is showing you how much water he drinks!

I never get why some feel the need to eat food they don’t want just because that is what everyone else is eating. Maybe I’m just annoying that way, but I have no qualms about making and/or bringing my own food because I need to ensure I meet my nutritional needs.

Your parents, housemates, boyfriends, whoever wants pizza…

IMG_7910

Dad and his blurry pictures again. You guessed it, pizza night with their ‘veggie’ pizza. Mom had 3 pieces with no veggies (shame on you Mom!) and Dad had his salad that I forced him to eat with shaker cheese along with his zzzaaa.

…doesn’t automatically mean that you have to then eat pizza if you don’t want to. Take that opportunity to make whatever your are craving.

My Dinner at work. Grilled acorn squash and arctic char with my homemade pesto. Side of salad in an insert made at work (because who preps a salad when they work in a kitchen?) and a lil throw together dressing.

My dinner at work. Grilled acorn squash and arctic char with my homemade pesto. Side of salad in an insert made at work (because who preps a salad when they work in a kitchen?) and a lil throw together dressing.

So yeah. My parents and I don’t eat alike at all. In fact, these pictures may look like we are polar opposites, but despite our differences, there are no fights and such over food and what people are having because we eat what we all like and that should be all that really matters right?

To conclude, here’s the photos that didn’t make the commentary. Ie snackage.

Not snackage. I have gotten my Mom into the ACV shot habit firs thing in the morning (despite her still gaggin on it). She says that it has really helped her sinuses clear up more which then leads to less pressure on her migraine-prone head! Win for vinegar :-D

Not snackage. I have gotten my Mom into the ACV shot habit firs thing in the morning (despite her still gaggin on it). She says that it has really helped her sinuses clear up more which then leads to less pressure on her migraine-prone head! Win for vinegar 😀

The daily Tim's run. Yes I still have to have it even on work days.

The daily Tim’s run. Yes I still have to have it even on work days.

My nightly pudding + Questie. You have seen enough of those eh? If you must know, Questbar flavour of the evening was peanut butter supreme…toasted. Mental image of hot, nutty goodness with a slight toasty exterior is implanted into your minds…

IMG_7909

The before dinner drinks. My Dad’s beer and my Mom has her cooler drink things.

With their drinks, when I’m at home I usually start my dinner (aka eat my salad) during their drink time. No, I don’t drink, but I can still enjoy their company. See you can be around alcohol and not feel the need to have it (once again, this is if you don’t want it but feel bad about being the one not drinking). No feelings are hurt in the process and no judgements are made.

My Mom's before dinner drink of choice

My Mom’s before dinner drink of choice

My unpictured fish oils and random chicken I chomped on at work between rushes

IMG_7919

Mom showing you that she drinks her water too!

So that’s that. Eat what you want and don’t be so concerned about how others will feel about you eating differently. Most often they are simply curious as to what’s in your bowl/container/plate.

So that was a full day of eating for the whole workin famjam. I hope you enjoyed this style of post and commentary and have a great humpday my friends!

Do you eat similar things to those who live with you?

-Chelsea

8 thoughts on “All In The Family…W[We]AW

  1. Hey girl, I just wanted to reach out. How is your weight gain process going? It seems like you’re still really struggling so I just wanted to see if you’re okay. For someone that has a lot of weight to gain to get back to health, do you think it makes sense to be changing your macros depending on whether you’ve worked out or not? You need all the calories you can get right now. Especially since you’re pretty much burning everything you take in! I’m just worried about you and I feel like we’re very similar in a lot of ways. Feel free to reach out if you need to chat or vent. I know you have a long road ahead of you and I’m here for you!

    • Thanks for checking in. Its a very slow process but no more losses just a inchworm pace increase. I struggle more mentally with challenge foods but I’m working on it. As far as changing my macros, it’s not the total amounts change, its the ratios. On rest days I take advantage and see how my body likes working on more fats then usual (thus lower carb). It all evens out but it’s interesting to see how the body reacts with the different macro ratios.

      Although it may be too much information (sorry if it is), I did get my period back last month so that is showing me that I’m going in the right direction, so as I mentioned, I appreciate the concern, but it’s going in the forward direction. I hope all is well with you as well.

  2. What I loved most about this is just how supportive your parents are of your blog.

  3. I really enjoed this. It’s interesting to see how differently you eat from your parents, given all the hype about how we tend to eat the way our parents do. At what age did you begin eating differently/making your own meals & how did you start

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the post! It always bugs me when people say that they can’t stay on their own goals simply because they live at home or with another person. You are your own person and can cook meals yourself 🙂 I would say I started cooking in my mid teens as I used to cook with my mom. Once I started getting into the gym life (around 16) my eating habits changed…then the ED happened which led to me loosing control over my meals and what I could eat. Now I make everything I eat (plus my parents meals when I’m around) as I love cooking and prefer to cook my own wholesome foods that I enjoy. I focus on not only what I love (fish, whole food carb sources like sweet taters, squash, oats, etc, meats and tons of veggies and healthy fats like nut butters, avocado and healthy oils) but also what is good for my training and also being very open to trying new types of foods like I want to try every type of fish out there, or picking up random ingredients to cook or bake with. It’s fun for me and delish. I’m so happy that my taste buds expanded for the better as I would never know about some of my to die for foods now like exotic meats and fish.

  4. This was so great! I live with my dad and we do not eat the same things at all. I’ve been buying my own groceries the past three summers and making my own food. It takes getting used to when starting out, but it’s definitely a lot better than eating something that won’t make me feel as good! Your ‘pizza’ omelet looks really good! 🙂

    • I’m so glad you liked it! It’s awesome that you have taken the step to cook your own meals. Many of use 20 somethings tend to take advantage of being at home and let the parents do all the cooking and thus never learn. Cooking is a vital skill to learn and not just for your health. Those pizza omelets are so good and so easy to make! Try one out. You basically can throw all your fav stuff into it and it’s a meal in like 5 minutes 🙂

Leave a Reply

