Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

It Can Bring You Up Or Tear You Down…

Leave a comment

The mind.

The mind is quite powerful as I have mentioned before.

With that in mind (no pun intended), you should want to use it’s power for good right?

Sounds easy and logical but in these days where negativity is the norm and it seems like thinking positive just takes too much effort, its actually quite difficult.

My friends, I was told today that I was a pure inspiration this morning as I was beginning my gym sesh.

Where did that stem from?

Let me share part of the conversation I had with a lovely women I tend to start my mornings with as she comes in to train with Jack (her trainer at Goodlife).

Her: Hey how are you?

Me: I’m good thanks, you?

Her: Ugh, it’s Monday. I hate Mondays. Smiles.

Me: Aww, Monday is a fresh start. Don’t think of it as negative…

Her: See this is why you are so inspirational. Geesh, I always say to myself if she can be here then SO CAN I!

I was super flattered by her comment, after all, I love spreading any form of motivation for people to better their health and themselves, but I was also moved by how such a lil statement (stay positive) could make such an impact.

It really made me stop and think whether I take my own advice. I don’t think anyone could say they are 100% peaches and rainbows every day of their life, but maybe if we worked at being just a lil bit more positive on a more daily basis, our moods might be better for it!

After I heard The Online Coach say this…

“Guys, no matter what you know you have to do in a day, start your day saying that today is going to be a good day.”

….

I have been actively trying to do this more often.

If I wake up and I’m tired, I’m going to avoid saying the typical

Uggghhh I’m so tired, this day is going to suck

And replace that with something like…

I can’t wait to train.

OR just simply, as The Online Coach said exactly…

Today is going to be a good day.

As I said, use your powerful mind to your benefit, not to your days demise.

This picture is actually my display picture on my phone. A constant reminder to be happy and positive even if you feel the rest of the world is miserable.

Try it out and watch your mood shift. Set the mood for your day as a positive one. 🙂

Here are some examples of ways you can turn things around if life throws you a curve ball that gives you the urge to be negative.

Work stressing you out…..Obviously I’m good at what I do because people feel they can depend on me. Take things one at a time and I will get them done.

You’re stuck in traffic….The sunrise is beautiful. The day is bright and therefore so will mine.

You failed a test….Okay so I didn’t do as well as I wanted, but now I can take this and figure out the pieces I didn’t understand as well as I thought I did and move forward stronger.

You’re workout sucked…I’m not a machine, I can’t be wonder women every day. So maybe my strength is not there today, but I can work on my endurance and take this opportunity to increase my repetitions to challenge myself in a new way.

You fell off your diet…By me feeling as if I need to eat those ‘restricted’ foods, it means this way of eating is not right for me. I need to educate myself on something that is enjoyable for me and fits my life.

Wow less then 1000 words, now that’s something.

Be you’re own motivation.

In fact motivating and inspiring yourself on this Monday (and every day!) is quite Marvelous.

Thanks to Katie for inspiring me to put a lil bit extra Marvelous in this Monday.

What negative thoughts make an appearance often for you? What would you say instead to put a positive spin on them?

What is one phrase you hear others say that really just irks you?

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

