Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Lately I’ve Been….

8 Comments

Hi Friends!

So I found this survey on Courtney’s blog, Sweet Tooth Sweet Life (you should check her out!) and thought it sounded fun so here’s my take on it. Hope you enjoy what I’ve been doing/lovin/makin/etc as of late.

Lately I’ve Been…

Making: Everything grilled! I have mentioned to you have obsessed I am with grilling all the things from fish to kebabs to kabocha. Oh summer how I love thee and how I love my Dad’s BBQ.

IMG_7643Is it sad that my Dad has yet to really touch his BBQ because I have been ‘manning’ the grill every single night?

Cooking: Hmmm, I tend to stick to my favourites, but since summer, halibut has been a go to. Steaks specifically. Oh I have one you may be new to, on zee grilled lately has been Japanese purple sweet taters. They have a less sweet taste, white flesh and purple skin. They are my favourite type of sweet potato (and make me less orange LOL) next to legit purple ones. If you haven’t tried a purple sweet potato but see them NAB THEM! They are so good!

Drinking: Tea. Yes I still drink my hot tea in the summa. I have no inclination to drink cold tea. Nope. Gimmie gimmie my Timmies.

Peppermint Tea Please. Black and Bag In 😀

Reading: Well this is half reading, half listening, but for the past few days I have been slowly working through my employee online training modules because guess who picked herself up some worky finally? Thanks to my amazing boss Mark at Glen Cairn for finding some work to me despite being fully stocked up on employees already I’m sure.

Screen shot 2015-05-31 at 9.51.21 PM

One other thing that I read the other day was this article

Screen shot 2015-06-07 at 9.35.35 PMMade me chuckle.

I’m not against any dietary lifestyle, it was just funny.

Wanting: To go to the farmers market here in Georgetown since it opened up this past weekend. Unfortunately for me, I had to forgo the grande opening as I was off to the Toronto ProShow this Saturday. Fortunately for me though, my AMAZING MOM dragged herself out of her warm bed (she’s a sleeper let me tell you so this was a huge deal) to make t to the market before it closed at noon to get me my beloveds…

IMG_7786Purple sweet taters from the Sweet Potato lady at the market. These are so hard to find here so I literally died a lil bit when I saw them in the fridge.

Looking: The continued rise in the temperatures! Weeooo summa baby 😀

Playing: Advice giver and listener. I have noticed that a lot of my friends have been coming to me lately to chat. Whether that be about fitness or health questions or just needing a listener or person to bounce thoughts off of. It makes be quite happy that they feel as though they can confide in me and are confident in my thoughts and advice.

Wasting: Basil. My Mom and I have managed to kill two basil plants…

Those things are finicky with their water intake I swear! 😦 So sad because it’s one of my favourite herbs. Have you tried it in salads or stir-fries? So good.

Sewing: ?

Wishing: I could figure out the emotional roller coaster that is the mind when it’s filled with conflicting feelings.

Enjoying: The sunshine and being able to relax and spend time with friends.

Waiting: The season premiere of Mistresses! OMG I love that show and can’t wait for it to come back. Pretty Little Liars is back this week too. Yay to having shows to watch again!

Liking: Pistachios. Don’t know where that came from, but I have been roasting and crumbling them into my pre-workout zoats for a nice crunch in place of my peanuts.

Wondering: What this summer has planned for me because I really have no idea. I’m short on money and back staying with my parents for the summer and so I really have not planned anything special.

Loving: Seeing my friends so much. It’s a simple thing, but it can easily be lost when you find yourself busy.

Also loving the fact that I got to meet quite an inspiring female figure (pun intended) yesterday…

IMG_7784Mrs. Nicole Wilkins herself was just casually taking snappsies and chatting with anyone who came up to her. She is so sweet and such an inspiration for a female who is strong both mentally and physically. You better believe I word vomited all over her once I she got chatting with me.

Hoping: The illness my Dad has been dealing with for the past 2 months will finally leave him alone. After a month they finally said that he had pneumonia (after not treating him for that until about 3 weeks in, thanks Doc) and although he is starting to feel better and back at work (he was on sick leave for almost a month it was so bad) he now has edema randomly in his legs and hands which is not a good sign.

Needing: To book a deep tissue massage and foam roll more often. I got my first ever myofacial release yesterday for free at the ProShow and the guy was actually cringing working on me….

Bad Trainer. I tell my clients to foam roll every time (the more often the better really!) to help release their muscles after training to keep them loose and elongated and here I am with quads so tight my masseuse squirms.

Good thing I bought meeself a foam roller yesterday at the expo..Now to put to good use. This is gunna hurt (Update, rolled today and I was sweating because it hurt so bad..ugh.)

Wearing: Skirts and dresses! I can actually wear them again. This is why I love summer. Every day I’m twirlin…

Life Twirls on? Housewife reference anyone?

…did I just loose some readers with that comment.

Following: Miss Taylor on Instagram. Great motivation for both outlooks on life and training. She gives great new exercises to try out. Check her out here!

Screen shot 2015-06-07 at 10.19.48 PMNoticing: How much nice weather makes a difference in people’s mood. Sunnier weather, happier people.

Knowing: I’ve got it pretty good. I should have nothing to complain about.

Thinking: Just thinking in general. I’m an true over thinker at heart and when I have something I am trying to figure out in my mind, it takes up a lot of air time up there.

Feeling: Like a newb all over again. I’m exploring being back in the dating pool and feel like I’m old and rusty. Help me not be awkward and stiff!

Bookmarking: Cookies on Pinterest for my parents. They really loved these ones sans the shredded coconut. Also cool new inspirational videos on YouTube. This one was random, as I’m not really an avid CT Fletcher follower,  but really left me thinking a bit.

Screen shot 2015-05-31 at 10.18.39 PMOpening: Lol worthy memes as of late…

IMG_7766Sad but soo soo true.

Anywho friends, that’s the latest with this lil one and so I will bring this post to a close.I hope you enjoyed this cute lil survey.

What has been happening in your life lately?

-Chelsea

8 thoughts on “Lately I’ve Been….

    • Thank you so much for sharing that, I may have to just share it around. It’s a very real tell of what is in the mind of someone with an eating disorder and it’s very true how you are never cured. It’s also very true how our society propagates shame over pretty much everything to do with the body whether it’s what we are putting into it to what we look like. It’s sad and is a real driving factor behind the increase in disorders I’m sure.

  1. Hey chelsea, quick question- my gym doesnt have a foam roller…wtf do I do !!!!!!!

    • haha don’t panic! 😀 LOL! You can always buy one if you want OR a tennis ball works wonders. The ball is great for targeting specific areas but I’m going to warn you that it hurts a bit more as it’s firmer, just don’t put as much pressure at first. I actually prefer balls over a full roller for upper body as it’s easier to work with

  2. Hey Chelsea! I ❤ your blog! Just a quick question, where do you order those quest bars/protein powder? Is there a cheaper place to get them aside from going across the border? I tried the coconut one and peanut butter and banana muffin ones and they are so good but also so expensive! Many thanks!!!

    • Aww thank you so much! Aren’t they the best?? Where are you from Canada? US? They are widely available on the shelves of GNC and Popeyes Supplements now, but if you want you can order on the questnutrition site but you have to pay shipping so the overall order ends up being the same as buying off the shelf despite the box price being cheaper online. Popeyes is great because you can just grab a box and fill it with whatever flavours you want rather then having to buy one single flavour.

      • Thanks again Chelsea! I’m from Toronto. Thanks again for blogging 🙂 We’ve been through a lot of the same things i.e. I’ve also gone through that poop-hole at sick kids and is mostly recovered now but still struggling some days. I have trouble waning off of cardio and because my metabolism is so damaged/i’ve been doing it for a long time, i just can’t trust my body to do it. Ugh summer time is okay because I enjoy running but winter always get tough. I hate running in the gym and when I don’t, my weight skyrocket like crazy and that’s when the ed voice comes back. ugh.

      • no worries and hello to a fellow Canadian! 😀 I’m sorry you had to go through that and still have rough days! I know it’s hard but cardio is just not useful in the long run. Push you’re to meander into the weights, whether machines, classes or free weights and test them out. Weights will do so much more for you in the long run trust me but unfortunately if you’re metabolism is damaged, it has to go a through a period of healing and that can lead to some weight gain for some. For individuals who have gone through eating disorders in the past, this period is just that much harder to deal with. If you truly love running, try slowly cutting back on your longer runs and incorporate 1 or 2 HIIT sessions (sprints). You can do those outside right now and take advantage of the weather and you will slowly be weaning yourself off of the long, steady state cardio. You will be better for it in the long run I promise you

Leave a Reply

