Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

By The Hour…WIAW

20 Comments

Hey Friends!

Guess What?

I’m actually going to follow the rules this week when linking up with the other What I Ate Wednesday partiers.

Yes, I do that sometimes.

I’m going to show you a full day of eats, from yesterday (Tuesday) as part of a day in the life post.

Hope you enjoy.

WIAW - New

Thanks to Laura (one of my fav blogs!) for being zee host this week for WIAW musical chairs.

5:27am. Ring-a-ling. Alarm goes off.

Lie in bed annoyed that I slept like crap that night and now I have to get up at this time.

5:30am. Suck it up and get up to go quickly reheat breakfast for preworkout.

5:50am. Pancakes in face. Bam. Food Prep for the win.

IMG_7445Vanilla protein pancakes with a few bloobs baked in (all 12g I had left) and topped with melted strawberries (100g) and 1/2 a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter. Cinnamon sprinkled on and I only needed like a tsp of Walden Farms…prolly didn’t even need any…because the strawberries give you so much volume and sauce. Weooo happier tummy. πŸ˜€

6:10am. Done ‘cakes, wash up and reheat the last 1/2 of my tea from last night to enjoy while scrolling facebook and reading emails. Letting the food settle a bit before having to head out.

6:45am. Face + Hair + Teeth to take care of

IMG_7447Yes I need a hair cut. Dem bangs are no longer looking like the fringy “sassy” bangs I like.

7am. Change into gym clothes + Stuff backpack with my lunch (postworkout), laptop, towel, vibrims and water (which has my BCAAs in it).

Backpack now weighs like 20lbs…

7:15am. Bike to the gym in the dark SUNRISE! WEeooo. This makes these early mornings more manageable. Sun also makes it seem less cold, no?

It’s spring now and yet still -7 when I left. Mother Nature you fail.

7:30am: Hit the gym

Chest Workout Mar 249:35am. Chest is dunzo and I fly out of the gym to bike to my 10am class back on campus (my gym is not on campus)

9:54am. Postworkout food heating. Hey gotta fuel up right? I ain’t about that cold food life. Nope.

IMG_745110:01pm. After excessive heating, I power walk from UC to my class.

Weeeee bit late but this is typical. Only by like 3 minutes so it’s okee dokee πŸ˜‰

10:30pm. Feeling sleepy so broke down and ate my lunch. Yes it’s 10:30 am. I ate at 6am remember.

IMG_74521.5 servings of Uncle Ben Quick Brown Rice (I call it my risotto rice) + leftover halibut (plus a random shrimp because the halibut was a tad bit shy of my protein wants) + roasted veggies (asparagus, red pepper, mushies and onion) + Mrs. Dash Traditional Salt Free Seasoning.

11:15pm. Class done. Biked home real quick to drop my stuff off just to run back out the door to catch the bus to the grocery store for a mini haul.

11:40pm. At the bus stop. Normally the buses all show up for this time but apparently the one that arrives right in front of our townhouses runs on it’s own schedule. Hmft. Power walk over to UC with the rest of the buses and jump on the express bus to Metro.

12:30pm. Necessities picked up + Timmies in hand and I’m headed back home.

IMG_74541pm. Back at home. Unloaded zee goodies

IMG_7455Sea bass (what? They haven’t had any in two week…necessity? I think so πŸ˜‰ Laura would understand my needs.), frozen cooked shrimp, nanners, pineapple chunks (yes the obsession is still going strong), radicchio, zucchini (cuz I eat like a dozen of these per week), cinnamon spice tea, roasted chicken breast, floss, toothpaste and coconut oil spray

1:15pm. Shower…finally.

1:30pm. Prep pudding for my night snack while watching the first episode of the season of Teen Mom. Judge away, it’s a guilty pleasure mmmkay.

2:30pm. Feelin munchy. Enter fish oils and Vitamin D…

IMG_7456….

…And some random chicken cuz I’m weird and eat chicken as a snack.

IMG_74593pm. Answer emails (oh hey Ellie ;-)) + start writing this post.

3:30pm. Tiredness from poor sleep and workout this morning setting in…Thinking a nice nap is in store for me.

Threw 1/2 of a butternut squash into the toaster oven to roast. Prep for dinner.

4pm. Naptime. πŸ˜€

Cuz I’m totally that cute when I sleep.

5:30pm. Wow weird dreams. That generally happens when I actually get a GOOD nap (rare).

5:35pm. Come downstairs to check on squash. Not quite done (toaster oven shuts off after 30minutes). Turn it back on, head back upstairs and work on this post more.

6:15pm. Dinner preppage.

IMG_7462In the pot–> Garlic, onion, diced zucchini, mushrooms and sundried tomatoes (nitrite + salt free and organic). Added last was my homemade chicken meat balls + some of the squash (inside that is scooped out to make the hole) + tender greens + pepper + Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil + chili flakes

6:25pm. Sauteed up my stuffing mixture. Stuffed that into my squash half (didn’t all fit) and shoved that back into the toaster oven at about 300 to warm through and let the juices soak into the squash while I have my appetizer…yeah I’m fancy.

IMG_74646:50pm. Sit down with my salad (I generally always have a salad before every meal) with a side of The Real Housewives of Atlanta…I’m on a role for these shameful shows ain’t I?

7:10pm. Entree time.

IMG_7469She’s a beauty + Tasty too boot. πŸ˜€ I garnished with some avocado and sprouts.

7:40pm. Wash up, prep zoats for pre-workout breakfast and postworkout lunch (yup that zoats twice in one day Weeeoo love my oats).

8:00pm. Stare at Emily’s dying pear on the counter and decide to put it out of its misery..

IMG_7479…in the best way possible.

This was the puddin’ before it was tossed in the oven to bake. Honey roasted pear bread pudding OR baked french toast that I infused with a vanilla rooibos tea and topped with pecans.

8:30pm. Get my tushy upstairs to do some work. It’s about time eh? I have been quite school lazy today.

IMG_74809pm. Continue to work away. Submitted my Food’s lab, did the pre-lab quiz for the lab tomorrow (technically today) and did this study for extra credit in my Couple and Family Relationships course.

9:15pm. Realize my bread puddin is still in the oven. OH EM GEE. Run downstairs to take it out to realize that it’s still a little bit underdone due to the excess liquid from the tea. Phew. Back in the oven and I go back upstairs.

9:45pm. Come back downstairs to take out the bread pudding. Ain’t she beautiful..

IMG_7484I swear that is a different picture from the first! Raw vs. baked looks exactly the same apparently. #BrownFoodClub

9:50pm. Emily arrives home, we chatter a lil bit about her boxing class while I reheat my tea I made earlier but left to steep.

10pm. Quickly finish up some prep notes for tomorrows lab while I sip on my tea (It’s my favourite Truffle Mint tea by Four O’Clock). So good.

IMG_748510:25pm. Catch up on facebook a bit, add a lil bit more to this post.

10:50pm. Gather together my nightly snackage which includes my normal peanut butter casein pudding (frozen) + 1/2 a questbar. Tonight PB and J was on the menu, baked of course.

Sorry that went unpictured but I’m sure you remember what it looks like

Went to sleep waaayyyy too late so I was thankful for that nap earlier in the day.

Bam. Full day for you all!

I hope you enjoyed.

Before I leave though, feast your eyes on this…

IMG_7433I did it guys! I went to get my ice cream last Saturday night and I really enjoyed it.

IMG_7432Make that, Rita and I really enjoyed our Baskin Robbins. 2 adult scoops for lil ol’ me thanks. The top one (omg so good) was a Caramel Turtle Truffle flavour (caramel swirl + truffles + vanilla ice cream) and the bottom was the one I knew I was gunna get which was the Chocolate Peanut Butter. I’m not a fan of chocolate (its tolerable) but it’s that frozen peanut butter ripple that makes my heart melt. I will say though, that I think the turtle one trumped it, and I was kinda sad I had it on the top because I then dug to the bottom to eat all the chocolate ice cream first (leaving peanut butter chunks) and then was left with the amazing ice cream with frozen peanut butter. So good.

Do you save the best for last too? Also,

You know what?

IMG_7438I didn’t blow up like a house the next day either. This shot was also taken after my big bowl of preworkout zoats and a whole mug of tea. Lil flat, but those lil guys are still there. Sorry for the messed up hair and…well self…tis the morning. Don’t judge.

Being Real With Ya: I will say that I felt fuller then I normally feel after dinner following the ice cream. This lead to some triggering points for me so I just went to bed because I didn’t want to deal with the negativity that my brain was trying to force upon me. One thing that probably didn’t help was the fact that the turtle truffle one was actually a low fat, sugar free variety (that’s not why I chose it!) so it had a ton of artificial sweeteners in it that my tummy hates. That probably accounted for a good amount of gas that made me feel more full then I really had to.

All in all, I may have been a bit puffy the next day, but it’s a step in the right direction psychologically for me and I even told my Dad that maybe if I’m brave enough to do it soon again, Easter will be another ice cream weekend.

Favourite brand of ice cream? Shop?

If you were to design your own ice cream flavour, what would it be? Something mostly made of peanut butter for me. With peanut butter cookie dough chunks…I’m drooling.

-Chelsea

20 thoughts on “By The Hour…WIAW

  1. I’m really proud of you miss πŸ™‚ Ice cream is delicious. The bread pudding looked delicious. Was it for Emily? Yum!

    • Thanks Molly πŸ™‚ I was proud that I did it because I have been craving it for months! Still had guilt, but I have to fight that. Yeah the bread pudding was for Em, although Rita may end up eating it because she keeps forgetting to have it lol

  2. HOW DO YOU WAKE UP LIKE THAT

  3. Congratulations on the ice cream. It’s a huge step forward. Who wants a life without ice cream?

    • Thank you! It was. I mean, I have had it before, but due to the long time since I have had it, the fear built up again more but I’m so glad I had it. As much as I would like to make that my weekly cheat/treat meal, I have to continue to challenge myself and also lactose tummy wouldn’t appreciate it haha. Life without ice cream would be awful!

  4. You look great. I dont think you’d ever blow up like a house.

  5. I really enjoy these day in the life posts πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you for always beign honest about your fears, food triggers etc. Its inspiring to see.

    • I’m so glad you can take that as being inspiring. I want to be transparent with you all and honest because being you is nothing to ever be ashamed of and hide from. I’m no where near perfect and to show that I have demons and what I do with those can maybe help someone else and provide me with suggestions on how I can help myself.

  7. ❀ ❀ ❀ so porud of you!!!

  8. As Geneen Roth, one of my favourite writers on self-acceptance and the journey towards loving and accepting your body and yourself says:

    β€œWhen you believe without knowing you believe that you are damaged at your core, you also believe that you need to hide that damage for anyone to love you. You walk around ashamed of being yourself. You try hard to make up for the way you look, walk, feel. Decisions are agonizing because if you, the person who makes the decision, is damaged, then how can you trust what you decide? You doubt your own impulses so you become masterful at looking outside yourself for comfort. You become an expert at finding experts and programs, at striving and trying hard and then harder to change yourself, but this process only reaffirms what you already believe about yourself β€” that your needs and choices cannot be trusted, and left to your own devices you are out of control. … You are not a mistake. You are not a problem to be solved. But you won’t discover this until you are willing to stop banging your head against the wall of shaming and caging and fearing yourself.”

  9. Gasp, shoutout!! πŸ˜€ Glad you were able to enjoy a treat despite the triggering feelings. And bouncing off what others have already said, you look gorgeous first thing in the AM! πŸ˜€ Will be writing back very soon but in the meantime I enjoyed the post!

  10. Sometimes we have to give into cravings- life would suck without ice cream πŸ™‚
    Ummm, I love Teen Mom- total guilty pleasure of mine. Gary condoms?? OMG.

    • yes indeed. Ice cream will hopefully never go away! haha glad I have a fellow TM lover. Sometimes I get embarrassed to say that I like that show but then I think, no, some people watch cartoons to tune out of school life, I watch trashy reality MTV πŸ˜‰ hahaha

Leave a Reply

