Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Freezer Prep Sunday

4 Comments

Hey my friends!

How was your first full week back at life?

I kinda caught you up a lil bit on my week in my Thursday rantage, but I wanted to give you a lil update on my first weekend back in Guelph.

  • Back at zee farmers market with the girls. We had a big group this week. Em, Rita and I all loaded ourselves in my friend, Gabriella’s, car and were off to the market. Ohhh how I missed it and to celebrate my return, I bought meeself some lobster from my favourite fish guys.
  • I have a house! Em and Rita are stuck with me for the rest of our school eternity now. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So happy because house hunting is stressful especially when you want the closest (yet still nice and cheap) house possible. When I get some better pictures, I will show you all, but basically we are positioned 8 minutes from the campus and right beside Metro (grocery store). So this foodie is all set. Oh and our kitchen…it’s huge! Here’s one snappie from the website. We actually have so much space it’s crazy.

  • Went out to get some good ol’ Thai food for an early birthday dinner for me Dad. I’m so glad my Dad shares my love for Thai food.
Seafood Gainz

Seafood Gainz

The last thing I wanted to share with you (despite my pictures being hideous) was my freezer preppage this afternoon. I don’t tend to do a big food prep each week, aside from a protein source like chicken and maybe a few servings of rice, because I’m picky and refuse to make things like fish and veggies in advance unless I have to. I like’em fresh mmmkay.

What I do like to do once and a while is make some cooked proteins for my freezer that are pre-portioned and easy to just pull out the night before I want them. These are things like meatballs and burgers that I make from the various ground meats (including often my exotic meats) I pick up here and there and throw into the freezer.

These lil pre-made protein packs are super handy for helping to keep my lunches (and once a week night class) variable with respect to the protein component.

I say lunches only because my dinner is almost always fish and squash, which would be cooked at home and eaten all relaxed and such. That is my favourite meal and therefore will not make it to throw into a container.

For example, like I did for last weeks night class meal..

IMG_7058I will thaw out a pack of meatballs to toss in with my container with a carbohydrate source and veggies and be good to go. For lunches, I often have rice because lunch is often eaten more quickly and/or in class and so I will choose to have the blase carbohydrate source there and have my love (squash) at dinner when I’m relaxed and sitting down to enjoy it fresh.

So what did I make today for my freezer?

Well I had ground turkey breast meat and my pack of ground ostrich in the freezer so I used those to make..

IMG_7067

Burgers AND

IMG_7069Dem deformed meat-a-ballz.

These are all weighed out so they have the same amount per baggy. That way, like I mentioned, I can just pull a baggy out and be good to go.

IMG_7070For the turkey mixture I used:

  • Whole fennel seeds
  • Diced onion
  • Minced garlic
  • Crack black pepper
  • Chili flakes

I don’t over complicate here because I really love fennel so I want to taste that. I have made these using my pesto before as well, you just may have to compensate for the extra liquids with a tablespoon or two of oats, or, if you’re low carb or paleo, some coconut flour or even flax meal would work.

For the ostrich, I decided NOT to go with my traditional beef seasoning (fennel, liquid smoke or Worcestershire, garlic, onion, chili, pepper) because I really wanted the ostrich flavour to come through. BUUUUUT then I saw my Mrs. Dash Tomato and Basil seasoning sitting there all pretty and smelling oh so good so I chucked that in there along with the basic pepper, garlic and onion base. To bring this mix together a wee bit more, I added in an egg white as well.

See ain’t that easy peasy?

Now I have some proteins to put into lunches and such. Oh and have I mentioned that meatballs make great #Saladbeast additions? Try it out!

For this week in general, I also prepped three servings of my fluffaay rice.

IMG_7068

Uncle Ben’s quick cook brown rice (10 min one)

It’s all creamy like that because I soak it the night before AND its quick cook (so parboiled already) soooo it’s makes it like risotto without the broken arm when you cook it up. Tip for the day, you’re welcome. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I also baked two chicken breasts that got thrown into containers and into the fridge before picturing. My tip for the best baked chicken is to put your pieces on a large piece of foil with a tbsp of water. Season as you like and then fold up all of the sides and seal them up like you are creating a packet and bake at 350 until the chicken is cooked through. Because you added some water and sealed it all up, the chicken is essentially steaming to cook which leaves the chicken super moist. Yes, bad language for appeal I know, but I don’t know how else to describe it. This method is also great for fish and cooks it in like 5-10 minutes depending on the thickness of your fish.

So yeah, that was my quick lil drop in, food prep tips and hi for this weekend. I hope it was of interest. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Sunday all and enjoy the beginning of this new week.

Do you ever freezer prep?

What are your favourite burger seasonings?

Do you hate the word moist when describing food?

-Chelsea

4 thoughts on “Freezer Prep Sunday

  1. Oh darn, you couldn’t stay in your current house? Or did you want to move? The new place looks spacious and nice. Those meatballs look good – and I don’t even really like meat (don’t hate, I love fish!). I hear you, dinner = THE BEST MEAL = must enjoy warm and in home!! Sounds like you had a great week back. BTW how do you like cooking with liquid smoke, a recipe I recently saw had it in it.. Where do you buy it?

    • I love this house but it’s a residence so we are moving off campus. It’s huge!!! We are excited! Thanks, they got a lil deformed because I use the rack and all but they do the trick ๐Ÿ˜‰. I love love love liquid smoke. Especially with rest meats! So good and a lil bit goes a long way! You can find it in every grocery store with the sauces I believe. How was your first week back?

      • Busy (So many extracurricular – I volunteer too much) especially since I have 24 hours of class ( 3 labs – Orgo, Foods and Human Ecology)!! Hope yours was a smooth transition. Oh I did NOT know you lived in residence. Neat ๐Ÿ™‚ And okay, I will have to purchase some. I was hoping to cook Tofu in it!

      • you always were one to take on a lot. Remember to take care of yourself too lil miss! Yeah, I also trying to adjust to having more class as I had two onlines + a night class last semester so I always had all afternoon off! Now I have 1.5 hour classes that are spaced about 5hours apart so I always feel like I’m running around + I also have labs, but only two (foods and microbiology). But wow, 24 hours?!?! That’s crazy! Yeah, I’m on res but I’m in a townhouse so maybe that’s where I confused you.

        Interesting, I’m sure it would work well with tofu, it is a strong flavour so it will perfume it for sure!

Leave a Reply

