Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

You Remember Me!

8 Comments

Hey friends!

How was your weekend?

I had a few fun things that I got up to this weekend and because I like being all personable with you all, I decided to share them with you.

The first thing, which was on Saturday, is something you may cock your eyebrow at but I was sooo excited about. What can I say, I’m a foodie and the chance to go to a new an exotic (that being the key word here) makes me excited. So I bring you…

Yes. I went to go see these guys

Does anyone else think ostriches are terrifying? I mean look at that face?!?

Speaking of ostriches, this video actually makes me roll on the floor laughing…

Sorry it cuts off at the very end, I can’t find the full skit for some reason

Anyways, yes I went to the ostrich farm to get me some new exotic game meat and yes I was uber excited about it.

STEAK!

STEAK!

On top of buying a good sized steak (which I will try tomorrow for dinner!) and a pack of ground ostrich, I learned quite a bit while I was there too. Did you know that:

  • Ostrich meat is higher protein and iron then beef?
  • Leaner then chicken?
  • It’s easier to digest than beef?
  • All cuts are the same filet mignon-like tenderness?
  • Obviously antibiotic free and able to freely roam eating what animals should be eating (ie not grains)

Amazing no? Now you understand my excitement.

This place is actually super close to my parents house so I may be frequenting it often when I’m home for a good splurge if I like the ostrich, which I would be surprised if I didn’t as there hasn’t been a game meat I have met so far that I don’t like.

They also sell free range chicken, local whitefish, bison, water buffalo, eggs (including ostrich, chicken and duck) and boar. All antibiotic free and free range.

If you are interested, here is the link to their main page. Check them out!

Today was also exciting because I was heading over to my grandparents house for a Christmas brunch with my Mom’s side of the family. I’m actually going to call it linner because it was at 2pm. Anywho, before we left, I did make something a lil special that I wanted to show you using a very special bread that my Dad and I snagged a few days ago..

You guys this stuff is not healthy whatsoever but do you know how long I stood there with the package literally up my nose?

…with the bread.

…OMG cinnabon is actually one of my favourite smells like ever and I just couldn’t put the package down.

So with said bread of amazingness, I wanted to give my parents a lil something special so I whipped up some french toast for their breakfast before we left for my Grandparents house.

IMG_6924I basically took a few pieces of the bread (3 for my Dad and 2 for my Mom) and soaked it in a mixture of egg whites, milk, cinnamon and vanilla extract and then cooked them up in a pan in a lil coconut oil and voila, cinnabon french toast. So easy and my parents loved it.

Seriously guys, french toast is like the fastest and easiest thing to whip up when you want something tasty and seemingly fancy. You can use whatever bread you want and the mixture I used above to make a perfectly healthy french toast for any morning. If you’re worried about your sugar, skip the maple syrup and spread some nut butter on them along with melted berries for a PB&J style breakfast.

Soon after we left to head to Kitchener for the meet up and I was super surprised (and excited!) to find that my Auntie Melanie and Uncle Kent had showed up with my cousins, who I haven’t seen in like 3 years! I was worried at first that they wouldn’t remember who I was but I was happily greeted with a hug and a big smile from both of them. Of course the moment had to be documented with a few selfies. I happen to love this picture of us all snuggle up on Grandpa’s big chair.

IMG_6946MacKinnely, “Kinney,” (on the left of me) is in grade 3, while Kodey is now all the way in grade 5. Oh how the time has passed. I had missed them.

IMG_6945She’s quite the lil girlie girl with a big and bright personality. She was more then happy for a few snap happy moments with cousin Chessie.

I was so happy to see and spend some time with them and was thrilled to see their excited faces rippin their presents open because, when it comes down to it all, Christmas is all about the kids, seeing their smiles, their joy and enjoying your family.

I got it from my Mama

I got it from my Mama

Also in attendance was my Auntie Candy and Uncle Rory (my Mom’s brother), who I also hadn’t seen in quite some time, so it was nice to catch up with them and see what’s been happening with them. They got a new dog recently!

IMG_6948Overall, it was a great few days and this week is going to be filled with last minute shopping, more traditions (ie dinner date with my Nana and Papa tomorrow night and Christmas nails and baking with my Mom), and of course the big day on Thursday. We will be hosting Christmas dinner for my Dad’s side of the family so that will be tons of fun with lots of food and good company. Can’t wait to get cookin!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and have some time off soon for the holidays!

Are you a last minute shopper?

Favourite thing about Christmas?

-Chelsea

8 thoughts on “You Remember Me!

  1. YOU AND YOUR MOM LOOK SO ALIKE! SUCH PRETTY LADIES

  2. Ostrich meat… really? πŸ˜‰ let us know how it tastes!

  3. It’s funny how as soon as I read this, I thought “ew” but I thought about your post from last night. I mean free-range, healthy ostrich meat is “gross”/abnormal, but eating something made of chemicals is normal… just something to think about

    • That’s an interesting point. Literally this meat is coming from that farm to my table so it’s as real as it’s going to get but many people are not into game meats because they are think they are gross but I love them! So tasty and so good for you because they aren’t fed grains and other crap like cows, chickens and pigs are.

  4. My dad got the same bread this week. It must have been on sale! I plan on trying some despite it not being ‘healthy’ – for old times sake and because it won’t ‘kill me’ πŸ™‚ Sounds like a fun day! Your cousins must admire you. xo

Leave a Reply

