Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Juice Cleanse Rant…Q&A

46 Comments

So here I am again! Procrastination at it’s best 😉

Thank you so much for all of your awesome questions on my last post! The comment number just kept getting higher and higher as the hours went on and it got me too excited to wait to respond. So with that, I bring you the first few questions..

Once again, click on the picture and it will take you to video.

IMG_6838

I gots me a halo halo hallllooo…

I just realized that the title of the video included the ACV question (ie apple cider vinegar) that Andrea posted and I totally missed out on talking about it because the video was already like 15 minutes long. Man, I really need to work on that.

…apparently something I fail to compute. I feel like I kinda know what I’m talking about (or I would say I’m not the best to attempt to answer, plus these are my opinions), so please don’t feel like my really long explanations are because I’m trying to pull some BS on you I just need to be a better communicator.

Short and to the point…

Just like me…

Does that even make sense?

Anywho, back to that ACV question

Andrea asked:

Hi Chelsea, I was wondering if you use apple cider vinegar at all in your diet? I have read so many different opinions about it but not sure what to think. Can you shed some light for me P.S. Love this blog; it’s my daily highlight!! Thanks!

I do use ACV in my diet but with some restraints. Yes I truly believe it’s amazing for you…

Detoxifying.

It is recommended to start off your day with a ‘shot’ of ACV (you can really use any very acidic substance I believe, but I will have to check up on that) to cleanse your body and start your day off with something alkalizing. Yes, contrary to the fact that vinegar is super acidic, it’s actually alkalizing (or de-acidifying) in the body. Alkalizing of any kind does wonders for the body because acidic bodies are inflamed bodies and the majority of our American diets support acidity. Hello carbs, sugars and proteins..not to mention stress.

So try it out! Take a tablespoon or so of the lovely vinegar and shoot that stuff back when you wake up before eating and you will feel a nice little energy boost! If you can’t tolerate the vinegar as is, then you can dilute it in a bit of water too. Personally, I can drink vinegar, but for many, it’s too strong. I guess I just have the taste buds for all dat tang. I swear I was balsamic swiggin European in a past life.

Helps with digestion.

Many people have a hard time digesting their food, resulting in indigestion and heartburn and one contributing factor could be low stomach acid. We have our gastric juices (acids) in our stomach which do a large part of breaking down the food we eat and so if you are running dry, an upset stomach may result. By adding more acid, you can help your body out if it’s runnin a bit short. So either you can take a shot, or just have a salad with an ACV vinegar (or any vinegar/lemon juice) based dressing and see if you notice a difference.

I added the …. because most people do very well with it. For me, of course being the exception to the majority of the population (story of my life for realz #TheStruggle), I have to be careful how much vinegar I have because I’m actually the opposite and overproduce acid. So much so that I actually have a prescribed medication to take daily to ensure that I don’t decay my teeth. Crazy I know and, yes, another random quirk of mine.

So, to conclude this answer, I believe it has great benefits and I urge you to try it out and see how you feel. If you feel good, then by all means, continue using it as we can all use a lil alkalizing in our lives. On the other hand, if you feel like it’s giving you heartburn, then be careful with how much you have.

As with many things, it’s all about listening to your gut body.

So I hope you enjoyed the video and feel free to keep posting questions and I will get around to answering them as I motor along. As for the links I mentioned in the video, here is the link to Robyn’s awesome blog

[Click here]

I’m so sorry that I blanked on your name in my video Robyn. I love your blog and really enjoy hearing your thoughts as a future RD to be.

As a lil extra, here are some cool green smoothies..

This one doesn’t include fats or protein as I mentioned so make sure you can eat something else soon after or add something to it.

How-to-make-the-perfect-Healthy-Smoothie-307x1024This site is a great resource for a variety of types of smoothies and it gives you ideas for fillers to make it more of a meal. Just ignore the fact that it’s for weight loss as that’s not what I’m getting at.

…and some not so green smoothies that still give ya a good boost of veggies…

Round of applause for this one! Fiber from the chia, spinach for dem greens, avocado for a dose of healthy fats and a creamy texture, protein powder for some staying power and bloobs for some sweetness.

Hope they help you out!

Much love!

-Chelsea

46 thoughts on “Juice Cleanse Rant…Q&A

  1. Ohhhh Chelsea, don’t feel bad for not answering my question. I mean, who else just offers free knowledgeable health advice. just you blogging and being honest is enough

  2. OMG HOW LUCKY ARE WE FOR YET ANOTHER ONE 🙂 LVOED EVERYTHING YOU DISCUSSED

  3. Those smoothie recipes look delivious. Thanks

  4. I’m a fan of solid foods, so a juice fast wouldn’t work for me –but know many people who swear by them- but think detoxes are a good way to eliminate sugar cravings and focus on pure, whole foods.

    • I really ejenyod your last 2 posts about Maca and ACV. I’m a mama of 2 young’uns and I’ve been struggling with too many health and even emotional issues (I guess that’s what you’d say lack of patience, feeling blah, etc). I vowed to make a change with the start of the year but I’ve been feeling a tad overwhelmed and haven’t really done anything at all. Maybe I’ll start with one of these things make just one change at a time. Progressing at a slower pace may make my change and hopeful transformation more successful! Good luck with your own changes!

      • progression is an uphill battle and you don’t want to put too much pressure on yourself or you won’t be able to make it to the top and reap the rewards! You are doing the right thing in adding one thing at a time and that way you can adjust and not feel overwhelmed. I’m so glad you enjoyed my posts and good luck with your journey!

    • I agree that it makes you focus on whole foods but they just tend to do in the wrong way in my opinion. Everything is low fat and no protein so it really just goes right through you and your body thinks it’s starving so I totally agree with your solid foods approach. There is a way to kill those sugar cravings without going to unsatisfying drinks.

  5. Obviously I have to bring up the scary new thing that brides are supposedly doing (although I’m sure it’s not sure brides) of having feeding tubes inserted into their noses for 10 days…not just scary, TERRIFYING. I actually just finished a juice cleanse (BluePrint Cleanse) though and loved it! I didn’t do it for weight loss, but I did lose a bit of weight. I immediately gained it all back, so it’s not a great weight loss option…better for detoxing than weight loss.

    • that is terrifying. Some of the extremes people go to for certain things. I have had my own battles and so I can’t say much, but I have now learned to appreciate my body for what it does for me and all that it has endured so I will never take it for granted again.

  6. Of course we are all here to support you Chelsea! I mean, for me, you’ve been SO SO SO much help- reading your blog and commenting is the least I can do!

  7. I would Love if you can share some helpful tips on how to lose belly fat. Exercises or foods that help shrink your belly fat. It been months and I can’t seem to lose my belly fat I would lose a few inches and then it Stops!! I feel like underneath this Santa stomach there’s some hardcore abs ready to break through lol jk. I really appreciate any tips you may have.
    Thanks!!

    • remember there is no way to spot reduce (ie say I want to loose fat in this particular part of my body). Instead, you have to be in a general caloric deficit to loose body fat as a whole and the body will decide where it is lost first and last. Fat on the stomach is quite a difficult one to treat as well because not only is the place where most tend to store that last few pounds (if you want to say that), but it’s also the storage area when you are stressed whether that is physically stressed (not enough sleep, pushing your body too hard, etc) or mentally (work or student stress, anxiety, not taking enough off time, etc).

      Some basic tips would be to really check what you are eating. Are you snacking when you’re not hungry? Are you eating past your feeling of fullness? All of these can lead to overdoing the calories you body needs and lead to not loosing weight. Also ensure to keep that body moving on the daily, drink lots of water to flush toxins out of the body (as those also get stored in body fat) and get plenty of sleep.

  8. I love that you answered the whole diary question. I mean, it keeps being in the media.

    • yeah dairy and grains are the ‘it’ foods to talk about these days. while I can understand why (because of the new research coming out) to a degree, people have to take what they hear with a grain of salt and form their own opinions and make their choices from those. i sometimes feel like opinions can be a bit strong, but I don’t try to push my thoughts on others.

  9. I love your honesty in these questions! Thanks for answering the big tough one on dairy

  10. I really love your approach on moderation, not cutting out food groups etc.

  11. Thanks for discussing dairy. Interesting post! I love goat cheese, but I love all cheese for the most part 🙂 Except fake American cheese and the like!

  12. Is there any animal welfare aspect to your choice? Though the term is controversial, it seems easier to find “humane” goat dairy products than cow dairy products.

  13. Really informative post, I loved the dairy answer!

  14. Thanks for this post. I’ve been avoiding dairy for a while now and I’ve noticed a difference in my energy, but sometimes it is really hard (and sometimes I want the creaminess on my pizza!). I’ll definitly be trying goat’s cheese to see how my body reacts.
    Thanks!

  15. Of course, I had to comment on the “soy” issue. I personally also avoid soy- eat it occasionally such as organic tofu. But love to hear your thoughts.

  16. Hey Chelsea! This isn’t related o this post, but I wanted to let you know how much I LOVE your “Q&A” posts! Well, I love all of your posts, but these I find especially helpful!

  17. I love that powerpoint idea!

  18. I found your flexible dieting post- thanks- I’m such a ditz

  19. “have to shove food in my mouth, and not gain a pound”…. I am so sorry. I mean, I gain weight just looking at food. But I do understand, how it can be hard…. somewhat. But I mean thanks for being honest. I do not want to minimize your struggle.

  20. I also really wondered why you didn’t want to compete. Your answer was amazing. I love how you talk about the mental state etc.

  21. I love how you can talk about your body in such accepting terms. It is so refreshing to see.

  22. “dumb him and go with someone else”…. it is so amazing you said that, because I wanted to begin 2 a days to lose weight (not compete). eeeeeek. NTS: Always run everything by Lil Miss Fitness Freak

  23. PRAISEEEEE! I AM SO HAPPY YOU ADDRESSED JUICE CLEANSES.

  24. Funny you blogged about this subject, about a handful of girls at work are all crazy about the “master cleanse” (you know the one with lemon juice, cayenne pepper and maple syrup). One girl has been doing it for 8 days and has dropped 15lbs. I made the comment that all that weight loss would just come back when they start eating solid foods (a lot of them are doing it to meet they’re weigh-ins at PT testing next week), I also told them that all that lemon can’t be good on their stomach so they gave me the evil eye. I’ve tried a detox but not for weight loss but to cleanse my body of all the junk I ate. Felt great, however I was still eating fruit and veggies. I say everything in moderation is the best way to lose weight!

  25. Excellent post! I entirely agree with all of this. Some of the quick-fixes you see in magazines etc look so scary, and really wouldn’t achieve any sustainable results.

  26. . I love your healthy approach on your blog! Eating well and exercising year-round is what matters. Not quick fixes to look good for bikini season. It’s so shallow and unhealthy.

  27. What about information on calorie intake, vs protein intake, etc? Being over 30 and trying to loose those last 10lbs, calorie counting is the only thing that’s working for me. However, I’m concerned about the amount of protein I’m consuming. Do you ever look at calories vs protein, etc?

    I’m eating clean and adjusting my calories based of my physical activity for the day but still the pounds don’t budge!

    Love your blog and thanks for all the great posts!

  28. You rock! That’s all I have to say… 🙂

  29. Thanks for clarifying on juice cleanses. I wanted to try one because it seems like the ‘it’ thing. It’s very expensive. Love your thoughts.

  30. I have dabbled in cleanses and fail after about 36 hours. I need real food to feel satisfied! Also – I love running. LOVE. When I am training for a marathon or half I have to actually watch my diet pretty hard because I tend to pack it on. Distance makes you hungry constantly and crave sugar. Early on I thought it was a free for all. “I ran 18 miles today, so I can drink an extra cocktail and go back for 2nds/3rds on pizza and dessert.” I just wish people would learn that the only way to lose weight and maintain is to exercise regularly (no crazy 2 hrs x 6 days a week), generally watch what you eat and indulge in moderation.

  31. Thank you for posting these practical and healthy tips

  32. Years ago, when I had a bunch of new age ideas about nutrition knitted together from various sources, I did the Master Cleanse, along with a couple high colonics. I lost a bunch of weight (which I promptly put back on as soon as I stopped the “cleanse,” disrupted my balance of healthy bacteria, and actually got pretty sick (A lady can’t live on lemon juice and maple syrup alone).

  33. Ooohh I just went on a juice cleanse (three days, lots of fruits and veggies). I did it for digestion (I was worried about being stopped up).

    On day two, I realized my digestion was just fine, I was nauseous (too much sugar), and grossed out by the idea of my afternoon juice (cucumbers are delicious unless juiced).

    I followed the same recipe as this famous juice place in town except I was too lazy to find the young coconut milk so I mixed regular coconut milk with coconut water. I think that is what made me nauseous (I just had coconut water the day before and I was fine).

    I would rather have a cup of Senna tea than do that again.

Leave a Reply

