Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Swirlin’ And Whirlin’

2 Comments

Hey Friends

Another recipe droppin in on ya real quick. I mentioned in my last recipe post (my Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Pronuts) that I brought in two batches of goodies to the gym last week, the pronuts and one batch of a lil something something that I didn’t share.

I just wanted some mystery mmmkkay?

I’m sure you were just dying to know right? Right?? 😛

Anyways, so I saved a whole bunch of nanners from the dumpster of doom at work because apparently the second a banana starts to look too brown, it’s too unappealing to buy…

I truly don’t see how everyone else can’t look at these brownin lil guys as a world of possibilities like I do, but hey, maybe I’m just weird.

Almost dead looking bananas have so many potential uses!

Of course you have your traditional use

I would reduce the sugar in this bread as I think it would be sweet enough with a lil bit of Stevia only.

Banana Bread thanks to Yammie’s Glutenfreedom.  For a Paleo version, check this recipe out. For the Paleo version, I would sub apple sauce or butternut squash puree for 1/2-3/4 of the butter and use coconut oil or coconut butter for the rest.

But what other cool things can you use them up in?

ICCCEEE CREEAAM. Eddie Murphy voice anyone? Two Peas And Their Pod mixed probably two of the best ingredients together into this yummy, simple and light treat. Peanut Butter and banana.

Pancakes. These Paleo cakes are from the Paleo Plan and are a version of the simple, few ingredient banana pancake recipes that are constantly floating around. For a version that has a bit more protein, try my take on the 3-ingredient pancake.

3-Ingredient Banana Pudding | stupideasypaleo.com #paleo #dairyfree

Chia Seed Pudding. Steph, It really is stupidly easy aaaannd Paleo. Great job on shining a light on a snack that is guilt free, sweet and full of hearty and healthy fats. 😀

This is just a short list! So many uses.

So for those who don’t like nanners

Who are you?!?

Just kidding…Kinda. 😛

So what did I end up making with my deathly looking nanners?

Banana Bread.

I know, I know, boring right?

Why, when she just talked about all these cool uses did she make the most unoriginal thing you ask?

Well because I wanted to.

No, but really I had this idea in my mind that I wanted to bring to life and well they kinda looked portrayed that image. You know those beautifully swirled or marbled banana bread recipes you always see? Well that’s what I had in mind, BUT then I went and made it a swirl toppin rather than marbled all the way through AND THEN I went and used carob instead of chocolate AND THEN I made them into bars instead of a loaf because bars are more user friendly.

20140827-214418-78258580.jpgOh and I added some peanut flour for some protein and lil nuttiness cuz you can’t go wrong with anything peanutty.

So there. Creativity.

😀

Not as pretty as I wanted because I’m no swirlin and whirlin expert but hey, for a total experiment, they turned out well and everyone at the Pulse (my gym) gave me good reviews on them.

Score one for the nanner bars!

It was an interesting lil process that I will showcase in film following the recipe. So here she is.

20140827-214419-78259222.jpg

Carob Swirl Banana Bread Bars

Makes 9 large bars.

Macros: Cals: 180 Carbs: 22 Fat: 8 Pro: 8 Sugar: 6 Fiber: 5

In a large bowl combine the following dry ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats, ground into a flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats kept whole
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 Stevia packets (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or more to taste)

In a second, smaller bowl, combine the following wet ingredients:

  • 300g very ripe banana, mashed (reserve 9 slices for a topping if you wish)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk + a few tbsp reserved for topping
  • 4 tbsp chunky natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup plain, 0% greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

You will also need 1 tbsp of unsweetened carob powder and 2 tbsp (30g) of peanut flour or PB2 but don’t mix those in yet.

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine all of your dry ingredients and ensure there are no lumps. In your other bowl, mash your banana and whisk in your egg. Combine the rest of the wet ingredients into that bowl. Fold your wet into your dry. Take a few tbsp of your batter (about 3-4 heaped tbsp) and mix that with your carob powder in a separate bowl. If that batter becomes too dry, add a tbsp of almond milk. Add your 30g of peanut flour to the rest of your batter along with a few tbsp of almond milk.

Pour your larger quantity of batter (the peanut flour one) into a sprayed square tin or glass dish. Or be cool like me and use a non stick rubber thingy.

20140828-211452-76492898.jpgBlob your carob mixture in various areas on top of the peanut mixture.

20140828-211450-76490823.jpgThen take a knife or toothpick and use it to swirl and whirl the carob mixture in with the peanut mixture to marble the top.

20140828-211451-76491794.jpgPlace your reserved sliced nanners in the middle of each *invisible* ninth of the bread.

20140828-211450-76490071.jpgThen toss’er in the oven and bake until the top is firm and a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the bars. Sorry I threw out my sticky with the time on it but these took at least 30 minutes BUT keep an eye on it as I find different dishes bake slower vs faster.

20140827-214420-78260930.jpgWhen it’s done, remove from the oven and leave it in the tin to completely cool before ploppin it on a plate to divvy up into your 9 bars.

20140827-214420-78260326.jpgAnd enjoy these massive bars!

20140827-214419-78259743.jpgFeel free to add your own touch with walnuts or even some carob or chocolate chips. Also, if you don’t have carob powder (it’s a dairy and caffeine free alternative to chocolate), feel free to use unsweetened cocoa or cacao powder instead. Just ensure to adjust the sweetness as carob is naturally much sweeter.

I hope you like them if you make them. Tell me about them if you do! 😀

What’s your go to use for almost dead nanners?

Most random banana recipe?

-Chelsea

2 thoughts on “Swirlin’ And Whirlin’

  1. Wish I went to your gym 😉 How did you meet all those people, I’d love to try and meet people with the save healthy views as I do when I go to school.

    • Hahaha the pulse is great and I’m just really chatty and need spotters constantly so I meet a lot of people. Plus lots of people came over to chat with me and got to know me because I lift so heavy for a girl. Built up a rep for myself.

Leave a Reply

