Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Those Old Family Recipes…

19 Comments

Hey Friends!

I have been wanting to post this recipe for a while as I really have been enjoying..or I should say RE-enjoying it…a lot these days. The reason that has been stopping me was simply that I haven’t gotten pictures that are decent enough for my liking but you know what…

I shouldn’t be obsessed with trying to get the best, most appealing pictures all the time right? I mean, I’m working with an iPhone here.

So I’m going to give you an old family favourite that I have ‘healthified’ a touch (it really wasn’t that bad to begin with, just the sodium for the most part) that is simple, fast and a one-pot meal. To all my students out there…

One pot wonders. I’m doing you a favour. 😉

Family recipes are great because not only do you know you already love them, but they also remind you of your childhood and I dunno about all of you, but that just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

What are some of your favourite old favourites?

So I’m bringing my family’s “Concoction” to the table. This was a meal that we always made following a holiday when we had tons of leftover turkey or chicken. Although, we did also make it all fresh too because we loved it so much and it really cooks itself for the most part.

20140803-213656-77816005.jpgI only recently started re-making this when I happened to notice another blogger using water chestnuts and those lil guys just always remind me of this meal so it was re-created and very much enjoyed. So much so that I have made it quite a few times since that first time.

Lots of great protein and healthy carbs while also having great flavour and a veggie punch!

FYI. I’m giving you a single serving here as that is how I have been making it lately BUT feel free to cook it in bulk as it keeps and reheats very well!

The Cross ‘Concoction’

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup rice (I used a wild brown rice blend)
  • 1/2 cup no salt added stock or water (or a blend)
  • 80g pre-cooked chicken/turkey/meat of choice (or raw is just fine)
  • 30g sliced water chestnuts, no salt added
  • 40g snow peas, cut in half
  • 30g bamboo shoots, no salt added
  • 60g mushrooms
  • Handful or two of bean sprouts (Optional- I don’t add these anymore as I don’t do soy) OR other sprouts (I used alfalfa)
  • 1 green onion stock, chopped, whites and greens
  • Handful of spinach
  • Clove of garlic
  • tbsp or more of diced onion
  • 1/ tsp garlic powder
  • tsp of ginger powder
  • 1 tsp coconut seasoning (or another low sodium soy sauce alternative OR you can just use soy sauce). **can use more to taste**
  • Cracked black pepper and chili flakes to taste

Directions:   1⃣ heat a bit of coconut oil in a medium sized pot (one with a lid) on medium heat and add your onion and garlic and saute until golden and fragrant. 2⃣Add your water chestnuts, bamboo shoots and chopped mushrooms and sauté until the mushrooms are cooked. 3⃣Add your rice, meat, 1/2 cup liquid of choice, green onion, tsp (or to taste) of coconut seasoning or soy sauce alternative, ginger, garlic powder, cracked black pepper, and chili flakes to taste and bring to a boil. 5⃣ Once boiling, turn down to a simmer and pop a lid on it. 6⃣ Half way through (or later if you like them more crunchy) add your snow peas and bean sprouts if adding. 7⃣Let that simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat and fluff with a fork and stir in some spinach. Pop the lid back on and let rest until the spinach is all wilted. Serve with sprouts or as is.

If you are using raw meat, simply cook that up with the garlic and onion until the meat is cooked through. Follow the rest of the directions as is.

20140803-213655-77815424.jpgIt’s quite yummy so if you test it out, let me know what you think!

Is there any meal that you used to love that you can’t stand anymore?

-Chelsea

19 thoughts on “Those Old Family Recipes…

  1. I have a question- how are bean sprouts soy?

  2. What is coconut seasoning??!?! Where did you buy?

  3. Oh my gosh that look so good!!!

  4. ohhh great recipe! I bet they would be good with squash too!
    thanks chelsea.

  5. I just recently found your blog and I love it! I like that you eat what your body tells you to eat and you don’t limit yourself or force yourself to give up things you love! I hate diets, they don’t work and have recently changed my eating habits to something similar to what you do. It’s so refreshing to find a blog that has healthy food and exercise with a real person who is honest and true to herself!!! You’re doing a great job, keep it up!!!

    • Thank you so much! So true that everyone needs to work at not labeling what they do, but instead just doing what works best for their own bodies. We care too much about what other eat and what they do that we often forget the most important thing which is to listen when our body likes and dislikes something. Good luck with your diet experimentation and thanks for joining my blog and for your support. 🙂

  6. You do a great job with the blog. I am about to go make my first concoction. 🙂

  7. Love your website … love your story… and I do also believe that raw unprocessed food is the best!!!! Good in good out! I am trying out your concoction asap!

  8. What are your thoughts on caffeine? I’ve herd so many things ranging from “no” to “only before workouts” to “yes” to “drink lots it helps suppress appetite”

  9. Do you have any input on Carb Cycling (what is it and how does it work?)

  10. Hi, so ive been working out, as much as I can, mostly upper body, doing bicep curls, dips, chin ups.. that sort of stuff.. Not really a routine, trying to workout all my upper body muscles a little bit.. My questions are, I want to get a 4 pack, and generally low bf, I want to be lean but still muscular, if that makes sense.. I am 18, around 76kg, 5ft 7 height.. How much should i be eating? How much protein? How much carbs? What times of the day? Is there a website that can help me make a nutritional sheet or something, I have a belly and man boobs so i know i need to lose fat but i want bigger upper body, i dont want to train leggs as i have big thighs.. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP

  11. Should I train to Failure? What does that mean, anyway?

  12. Your journey, all the knowledge you’ve gained and the way you’ve shared it with the world has been such an inspiration to me. You have also been the biggest catalyst for transforming my health.

Leave a Reply

