Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Skillet Cookies

26 Comments

Hey Friends,

So I have been on quite the recipe hiatus for a while now and I apologize for not posting as many as I should be given that I’m a foodie blogger.

It’s not that I haven’t been making new things, because I have, it’s more that I just haven’t gotten around to posting them due to tackling other blog topics that I have really wanted to talk about. In addition to that, I still need to get over the ‘this doesn’t really seem like a recipe to me” thing and just post how I do stuff. Sometimes what seems silly to post to me, may actually be quite helpful to someone else. That thing may just be very much enjoyed by that person too, so why am I holding them back based on the thought that just throwing something together doesn’t make for a ‘good enough’ recipe post?

No more I tell you, no more!

Now that I have set a goal to post a recipe every Sunday,Β a weekly recipe (at least!) you will get! And, since it’s still Sunday, why don’t we throw one up right now.Β  skillet cookiesIf I’m not mistaken, I have talked about these and given a rough recipe already, but I wanted them to have a more formal post as I have better pictures now.

These guys are really nothing new. They have been baked for own nommin pleasure as well as for others. They actually date back all the way to my fourth year. Yes a whole two years ago. #FoodBloggerFail.

They started off with me needing an easy way to transport my pre-workout proats to my early morning thesis class before I hit the gym. I also happened to find a recipe for these oatmeal skillet cookies (Ashley at Edible Perspective is a genius!**) around the same time and thought they looked very similar to the ingredients I used in my proats. Sooo I then decided to throw my normal oats in a pan and see how that went…

20140622-202619-73579889.jpgTurns out, they worked quite well. Again, Ashley you are amazing!

**Oh and when I linked those these Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes from The Minimalist Baker in my earlier mentioning of this recipe that was incorrect. Ashely’s oatmeal skillet cake-cookies were was my original inspiration, but those pancakes are definitely on my list of to-try recipes! **

Make sure you go check out Ashley’s version of these super yummy (and guilt free!) cookies, but for now, I will leave you with my creation.

One final note I want to make is that these cookies are very customizable. The pictures and recipe I’m about to give here are for the ones I ate on my rest day so they are my Zoat’s version. I have made these for others (many others recently and gotten rave reviews! See end of the post) in various flavours and ingredient quantities and they still work out perfectly. To be honest, it’s all about the consistency of the batter with these guys. All you need is a thick, cookie dough like batter in the end before ‘fryin’ them up and you are good to go. What goes in that batter is really up to you for the most part.

I hope you enjoy!

Zoaty Oatmeal Skillet Cookies

Gluten-Free and can be made Dairy-free if a vegan protein is used.

Makes about 3 cookies.

In a bowl combine the following:

  • 2 egg whites or 1/4 cup of liquid egg whites (can use a whole egg)
  • 1/3 cup of unsweetened almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1/3 of a grated zucchini (or about 70-80g)
  • 1/2 tbsp-1 tbsp of nut butter ***I omitted this from this particular batch as I wanted it on top***

Mix until you get all of the nut butter well distributed.

Than add start adding your dry right into the wet. See how easy, you don’t even need to mix dry and wet separately!

  • 1/2 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/4- 1/3 scoop of protein powder, flavour or choice (more or less to get the thicker batter)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (or flax meal)
  • Cinnamon and extracts to taste

Mix these all together until they form a THICK batter. This is not a pourable batter, it should be needing to be scooped onto the pan.

Next fold in any extra add-ins. Fruit chunks, nuts, seeds, etc. I used 4 grams of raw cacao nibs.

Let the batter sit for a minute while you preheat your sprayed or lightly oils pan. Ensure that your pan is no higher than medium low heat (about half) or your cookies will burn on the outside before fulling cooking on the inside. You also want to ensure that your pan is sprayed enough or they will stick. I used a non-stick spray and 1/2 a tsp of coconut oil (for the crispier top).

Plop your batter into the pan and form your cookies. Let those cook for about 3 minutes or so, or until the bottom is golden brown and then carefully flip them over to let there other side cook. Remember that although you are cooking them like pancakes, these are not the same consistency. They are much denser and should therefore be a bit easier to flip.

Once your skillet cookies are done you can do a number of things with them….

You can take them as is and eat them like a cookie.

20140622-202618-73578517.jpgOR…

You can be super cool like me and stack them up

Throw some homemade strawberry rhubarb compote (just simmered strawberries and rhubarb chunks!) on top…

Plus a blob of much need Chocolate Nuts n’More peanut butter cuz no breakfast is complete without nut butter…

And a final sh**storm dusting of cinnamon on them …

And call them pancakes.

20140622-202617-73577726.jpgAnd then proceed to destroy said stack and spread out the toppings on each pancake like a pro.

Once the picture is all said an done, this is how pancakes are supposed to be eaten right? #FoodBloggerConfessions

20140622-202617-73577178.jpg

Can you tell what order I eat them in lol. First one has no nut butter, the last has the biggest blob. I have peanut butter issues.

Good stuff, good stuff.

Final Macros for my version (with 1/2 tbsp Nuts n’More peanut butter and 1/2 tsp coconut oil for frying):

Cals: 358 Carbs: 42g Fats: 11g Protein: 24g Sugar: 6g Fiber: 10g

Go and make them. You won’t regret it! They are a totally wholesome and healthy cookie that you can feel great about eating! You can also make a big batch of them, freeze’em and pull them out for perfect on-the-go breakfasts or snacks. πŸ™‚

Before I leave, I will give you some of the NON ZUCCHINI versions I have made for my gym peeps (aka my famous lineup of spotters ;-)). Here are their favourites:

***Please not that for each of these versions, the batter I have given above is too wet as fruit purees listed below are wetter than the zucchini. To compensate, you can add anything from more oats to coconut flour to more chia/flax to psyllium husk to get the consistency thicker. I simply bumped up the whey to 1/2 a scoop and added one of the aforementioned ingredients if needed***

For Dean: Oatmeal Raisin. 2 tbsp of unsweetened apple sauce gets added to the wet along with vanilla and butter extract (optional) and a tbsp of almond butter. The whey is either cinnamon swirl (cellucor) or vanilla. Some raisins are then folded in before cooking.

For Vince: Chocolate Peanut Butter. 1/4-1/3 of a banana, melted first before combining with the wet. 1-2 tbsp plain green yogurt was also added to the wet as he likes more protein. Finally, 1 tbsp of crunchy peanut butter was thoroughly mixed with the wet. Peanut Butter Marshmallow whey (cellucor) OR 2 tbsp peanut flour. Extra Add ins: Peanut pieces and unsweetened carob chips.

For Tony or the White Chocolate Raspberry Questbar-aholic: White Chocolate Cake Batter. 2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce was added to the batter along with 1 tbsp coconut butter. Cor-Fetti whey was used (Cellucor), which can be subbed for vanilla. Extra Add-ins: 1/4 of a white chocolate raspberry questbar.

Final bonus and common favourite. Peanut Butter and Jelly. 2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce gets added to the wet. 2 tbsp Peanut flour is added instead of whey. Extra Add-ins: Diced strawberries (or berry or berry combo of choice) and chopped peanuts.

Let me know what your favourite cookie combination is!

What are your thoughts…Better as a cookie or as a stack of ‘cakes?

-Chelsea

 

 

26 thoughts on “Skillet Cookies

  1. Tony or the White Chocolate Raspberry Questbar-aholic is a smart man πŸ˜‰

  2. I hope these were as delicious as they looked πŸ™‚ I’ll be trying these tomorrow morning!

  3. This looks soo yummehh! God Im going to give it a try soon for my family πŸ˜€ hope it will work!. Thank you love for sharing this yummy recipe ❀ ^_^

  4. Those look AMAZING! I haven’t had cookies in a long time so I’ll try your version of the recipe soon. πŸ˜‰ Thanks girly, and I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  5. Oh no, I can see myself eating the cookie batter before they are even baked! They look delicious!

  6. These look delicious! I’m a sucker for all cookies, so will be trying these as soon as I can. πŸ™‚

  7. they look amazing!!! πŸ™‚

  8. I love the pancakes so I will have to try the cookies πŸ™‚ Love the simplicity of these!

  9. These are perfect πŸ™‚ Skinny, easy, and pretty on a plate! They look and smell amazing and I can’t wait for them to cool off! Your blog is really great. xoxo

  10. Are you ready for me to rock your world? I JUST tried these but put the almond butter in the “dough”. I could totally try and make a variation of these with coconut flour and flax. I love them – and holy hot damn, I was so impressed with my domestic skills, LOL!! I ate the whole pan, and then licked it. Yep. I ain’t afraid to admit that πŸ˜‰

  11. can I substitute with steelo cut oats? All the recipes seem yummy

    • Thank you! Hmmm raw steel cut would definitely not work. If you cooked them first it may work but you might need more binding powder (increase flax/chia/ or something to soak up any excess liquid). I feel like they would be harder to work with as well while cooking because the oats would be creamy rather than raw. If you try it out, let me know as I know some people like steelcut oats better!

  12. That looks so delicious. I love oatmeal, and eat it as much as possible.
    Thanks for the recipe. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

