Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Spill It, Sundays #4

59 Comments

Happy Sunday Friends!

I want to first start this post by thanking you all so much for all the love over my last post (my vlog). It really meant a lot as I was kind of nervous to post it as I’m, as I said, not the most camera happy person. I promise to be a bit more organized with my thoughts the next time around as I felt I was super scattered and “trail-offy.”Β  It’s all a learning process I suppose. I also appreciate the feedback and all of your fabulous questions!! So many to answer in the next video. πŸ˜€ Hugs!!

I do want to make mention that my non tech savy self fixed the whole cutting off at minute 11 thing. The full video is now posted and the link in the last post has been updated to the full 31 minute version πŸ™‚ Thanks to all of you that let me know that it was incomplete!

Now onto this post’s topic…

I had the nicest lil cardinal singing to me when I began this post…I say began as these posts are always started first thing in the AM and then completed following my day at work. Some peeps just don’t get your typical lazy Sunday.

What do your Sundays look like?

Anywho lets jump right into the topic of today’s post which is…

Lettin it all hang out with Arman over at The Big Mans World.

Did that sound wrong…or gross? Get your mind out of the gutter, I meant our answers geesh.

The big man's world

This weeks edition is brought to us all by Jen over at Chase the Red Grape so send her some love by checkin out her blog too!

1) I am coming to visit! Where would you take me and what would we do?

To be honest…I would prolly take ya to the gym or the farmer’s market because those are my favourite places πŸ˜› Oppps. But for real, if we could try something new and exciting together there is this circus school (Zacada Circus School) in Hamilton that I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to go and try out. You basically pay like 20 bucks or something cheap for and hour and a half of circus ring hoppin, silk rope sliddin and back bendin. Exercise made super fun is a great trip to me!

gallery1Weeeooo!! So much fun! Check out their website

Oh and then I would take you to Chucks because you can’t come visit me without tryin out a dirty burger πŸ˜‰ Preferably, a dirty exotic meat burger.

Gotta end the trip on a “you gotta eat here” food note right?

2) What is the one thing you never leave the supermarket without buying?

Okay okay I’m going to be uber boring with this one but my top five “oh I will need this in a day or two so I mind as well pick more up” buys would be…

  1. Kabocha
  2. Mushrooms
  3. Swiss Chard
  4. Fish
  5. Acorn Squash

Calling squash addicts anonymous now.

I will say that I rarely leave without some form of seafood in my hand. Blasted fish counter and those lovely gems of the sea just get me every time.

3)When I say burpees, you say…

Agreed?

4) What is the first website you check in the day?

A show of some kind while nommin on breaky because food always comes first πŸ˜€

Amirite or amirite-rrr?

5) Tell me about one act of kindness you have done recently?

It had been a while since raisins and oatmeal had married and produced one of in my personal spotters favourite goodies so on Saturday I brought the Deanster in some homemade skillet cookies in his favourite flavour

Oatmeal Raisin.

20140525-204428.jpgThese cookies are not winning any prizes in the appearance department that’s for sure BUT they are quite good and very easy to make. Want a soft and warm cookie with a slightly crispy outside in five minutes? Try out skillet cookies! I got this idea years ago from the genius herself, Dana over at the Minimalist Baker. After seeing her recipe, I created my own version to use as a pre-workout snack that I could cart around with me in class before heading to the gym. Her oatmeal cookie pancakes took on the form of my “skillet cookies” as I made my batter quite a bit thicker, thus creating a much chewier and ‘oatier’ product than your average pancake. Much more like a cookie I would say. Her recipe is here, and I should really get around to posting my own version as they are really good actually eatin either as a stack of ‘cakes or cookies.

Please note that I’m still thinking I found an actual ‘skillet cookie’ recipe but I’m failing at remembering the amazing blog that posted them despite literally seeing the blog page in my mind.

Continuing on my baking spree of kindness, this blueberry paleo loaf made it into the hands of my Dad for snackage over the week at work…

20140525-204421.jpgAs I had never worked with JUST almond flour before, I wanted to use a recipe as guidance for my first attempt to wrap my mind around the tricks. Thanks to Kristen at Live Simply for this amazing recipe. I made a few tweaks as I always do (subbed 1 tbsp of pure maple syrup and a few Stevia packets for all of the honey, used apple sauce and bloobs rather than banana and used 2 eggs+1 flax egg) and my Dad very much enjoyed it!

6) You have a carton of eggs, what would you make with them?

Hmmm…toughie as I don’t really cook with eggs too much. This is totally sad because I really do enjoy them! So let me find a tasty recipe to use’em all up.

Oh Oh I got a good one!

I would have a burger party and everyone could rock perfectly poached eggs on their [bunless bison] burgers.

I have always wanted to try that!

Oh wait!

Actually I have a better idea! Since we are on the topic of acts of kindness

If it was around Easter, I would bring those eggs over to the McMaster Children’s Hospital (where I used to volunteer in the ER) and we could paint some easter eggs. That would be so much fun and hopefully bring some happiness to those kids waiting for hours in the ER.

7) Tell me about a sight you have seen that took your breath away.

Coming home yesterday evening from the Eaton Centre on the bus, we drove past Cootes Paradise as we came around the bend to the highway exit and it was just that perfect time of dusk where the clouds were that lovely shade of pinky-orange and cast a stunning glow over the water. It’s the simple things that are the most beautiful I think.

What I saw was not as breathtaking as this image, but you get the idea.

8) Your an elephant, what would you never forget?

Those who were sincerely kind to me.

I believe that you should always always always remember and cherish those people who stumble into your life and want only good things for you. Showing empathy, love, kindness and respect is not always a given these days and shouldn’t be taken lightly.

9) Reveal to me a β€˜slang’ word or term that you use where you are from, and what it means!

Smorgasbord. Not really a a native slang term but rather a term that my Mom passed to me…and the only slang term I can think of at the moment. It basically means a combination of things. We often use it to describe food when there is a whole bunch of goodies combined into one great thing

My proatmeal for example πŸ˜‰

…. Or for a more universal example…

…your average Christmas or Thanksgiving feasting plate.

10) Tell me a corny joke!

I saw this yesterday morning on Facebook and it made me smile and laugh despite it’s corny nature…

Thanks again to Jen and Arman for the hook up this week!

Last act of kindness you did for someone?

What’s your favourite way to use eggies?

Would you try out that circus school with me?

-Chelsea

59 thoughts on “Spill It, Sundays #4

  1. Oh my goodness – circus workshop and then a burger, I want to come and visit! What a perfect day!

    And you are so right, we should all remember those who are kind to us – love, support, kindness and respect for one and other is so important – you give it and you get it in return πŸ™‚

  2. I once went to a circus party where they had a full on trapeze and everything- it was awesome! Whenever I get seafood, it’s on or off- if it’s discounted, I’m buying it otherwise no dice. So expensive here!

    • That does sound amazing! I just heard about this place and would definitely love to try it out! Awww I would be super sad if I couldn’t get my daily fill of seafood! Come visit and I will make sure you get your fill of the creatures of the sea. You just have to figure out a way to bring me some gelato mmkkkay? 😜

  3. Going from 50 lbs to 130lbs on your lunges! WOW! What an inspiration. I weigh a lot more than you & can’t do lunges with even 25 lbs! Thanks for uploading the rest of the video

    • Time and patience with increasing those weights. Looking back it seems like a huge jump but it did take a year after all. Never downgrade your own weights as they are the best your body can do at that time and can just grow from there πŸ™‚ thanks for your sweet comments!

  4. .could u do a video on best ways to permanently lose belly fat..I’m very fit but due to only the belly fat I look fat and old..and I don’t know what to do to get rid of this belly fat…ο»Ώ

    • Remember in my vlog I mentioned that you cannot spot reduce, you have to loose weight everywhere. Fat situated around the tummy can be related to a number of things other than a lil bit of excess weight. Stress (as cortisol is a hormone that tends to cause fat retention in the core region) from environmental or physical stressors, digestive issues that can lead to bloating or a protruding tummy, etc.

      If excess weight is indeed involved than it’s all about your diet. Lots of water, vegetables (especially greens), lean protein sources and good healthy carbs. πŸ™‚

  5. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your attitude. “I don’t care”. I want to become like that. You seriously are my role model in more than just fitness.

  6. How do you deal with food guilt? You said you’re working on it.

    • I am working on it slowly by trying to challenge myself with having those things I feel guilty about. The sweet potato with nut butter was a big step for me (seems silly I know) and I still feel like it’s more of a treat but I’m trying to have it at least twice a week as I really do enjoy it and I shouldn’t feel bad about it.

      Overall dealing with food guilt you have to face it up front just don’t overwhelm yourself. Don’t run out and force yourself to have a burger and fries and a shake if each one of those pieces freak you out. Choose one. Deal with it. Move on. Then try that same one again if you’re not ready to break into one of the new ones. It’s a progression and doesn’t normally happen over night.

  7. Can you please do a post on fitness terminology for some of us non-fitness-freaks πŸ˜‰

  8. I wish I knew about the circus school when I still lived in Hamilton. It looks so amazing! If you ever go please do a post about it.

    • I just learned about it from my manager at the Pulse actually. She attends classes there for pole and circus training I believe. I would love love love to try pole dancing as it’s a great core workout and those ladies are so strong. If I do go, I would definitely do a writeup about it not to worry πŸ˜€

  9. PS: Why don’t you like burpees?

  10. Thanks for posting that cookie recipe. God Im going to give it a try soon for my family πŸ˜€ hope it will work!.

  11. Awwww! How was volunteering in the ER?! How did you get involved with that?

    • It was good. It was slow at times because there are quite a few restrictions on our jobs because of liability and such but the times where I actually got to sit with the kiddos were really enjoyable even when they were crying all over you hahaha. I had volunteered back at home in the Chronic care unit so I think that may have helped me get into the Mac hospital but I just applied and they picked me πŸ™‚ I then got to pick the area that I wanted to work in, so I picked the ER because I felt that it would be the most busy and I would get to see more different cases. Looking back, I think that I would have enjoyed a more steady unit as I would get to form relationships with the kids that were there more long term.

  12. I love love love oatmeal raisin cookies, my mom used to make them for me all the time growing up but of course with Crisco *yuck* Thanks for showing that recipe.

    • hahaha. Didn’t we all. It’s those memories with our parents (I love baking with my mom, as unhealthy as they were) that we love. I’m glad that I could show you how to make something reminiscent of your childhood love without the crisco πŸ˜€

  13. Omg yum! The last thing I need is cookies right now, I have eaten my weight in sugar this week, but damnnnn these look good! Also, thanks for posting the rest of the video. I absolutely loved it.

  14. Do you drink hot or cold green tea? love your video!! great tips!I love your attitude on this subject. It’s refreshing! I need to follow more of these tips!

  15. Hey love your blog. I check it daily! I just Looooooove your advice! With the weather being so warm, can you maybe do a post on family bbqs or ice cream

  16. You did AMAZING. That is simply the only feedback I could give. Love this!!! Motivation!!!!

  17. Amazing! I love these motivation pieces, it gets me more pumped for my gym session this video πŸ™‚ Love it! I always used the naturally thin excuse when I was younger. I’m so glad that I discovered how much I love working out! πŸ™‚

  18. Yes, thank you for the rest of the video! I needed this! I just worked out for 30 days straight as a challenge but as soon as those days were over I slacked off. And now I realize that my excuses really really suck! I’m starting again!

  19. I like this. I’m guilty of making excuses. However, I’m finally starting to get on a good schedule and now things are changing. I’m a little frustrated. I’ve been making 30 mins to an hour each day for exercise and it’s worked. However, my boyfriend is starting football soon and I’m the team ”mom”. This means, I’ll work 7:30-3:30, home by 4, fix dinner and clean it up, we will leave for practice around 6:15, practice from 7 – 9, come home, get my son cleaned up and ready for bed. By then, it’s 10 or 11 and I’m exhausted and in desperate need of a shower myself. I’m terrified that I’m not going to be able to find time to work out. He has practice Mon – Thurs and then will have games on Saturdays. I know I can still find time Fri – Sun but that’s not enough. I need to figure out some way to fit in some physical activity Mon-Thurs. Any suggestions?

    • Great job for starting up your “me time”! That’s awesome! On the days you have off you can definitely just do what you were doing but on the days that you are busiest, is there the possibility of getting your work out in before work? If not, perhaps 30 minutes could be squeezed in between home and practice by having your kids help make dinner or by prepping dinner on your days off so that it’s just there to throw together. If waking up earlier is not your thing, really consider doing a good food prep on the Sunday so that you have grab and go meals during the week. That way, instead of cooking for 30 mins, you can have your workout and simply reheat or toss together items from your prep for dinner.

      What about that?

  20. I was slacking on going to the gym today, read this post and watched your video and got my butt to the gym! Thanks for the motivation!! πŸ™‚

  21. I love the motivation, thank you so much! What I have gotten after watching your video is nothing but extreme motivation. F**k excuses, I will never have them again. You’ve done a great job with the video. I definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

  22. I really liked your vlog but couldn’t help but notice how thin you are. Just thought I would let you know I think you could benefit from gaining a bit of weight. It’s great you are comfortable in your eating habits but eating extra and or foods that may cause you a bit of guilt is beneficial to push you outside your comfort zone.

  23. Great post ! So true, we are all busy, but you can always make time to work out πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder!

  24. What do you think is necessary for every workout?

    • I don’t think that there is a specific formula for every workout as you should be varying what you do to keep your body challenged. You should be doing things that work towards your goals though. If strength is your goal, lift heavy enough weights to get between a repetition range of 6-8. If you are looking to run a race this summer, ensure you have some endurance and interval training on the various cardio equipment in your plan. You workouts all depend on what you want so there is no specific guidelines.

      I hope that helps!

  25. Love your blog, Lil Miss Fitness Freak Every little piece of it inspires me in one way or another. Just wanna say thanks – you are quite inspirational! xoxo

  26. I drink a lot of water, yet on beach days I try to hold back to prevent extra bloating. I know, I know, it is bad for me do to dehydration & possible heat stroke. Everytime I drink water I feel
    fatter” any tips?

  27. I have a pretty intense workout schedule with lots of heavy weights and interval training, but I have a hard time controlling my appetite. If I just eat when I’m hungry I will eat absolutely everything in sight! Any tips on how to curb an out of control appetite?

    • Do you have any issues with your weight? If not, than don’t worry about it! You’re training hard and need to re-fuel. Your body is telling you it needs nourishment and if you aren’t seeing an increase in weight at all than it’s what you’re body is requiring. If you do find that the extra food is causing you to gain unwanted weight, take a look at what you are eating when you are super hungry. Adding more veggies will help to fill you up not only because of their water and fiber content but because they are generally more gassy and add more air to the stomach making you feel fuller. Also ensure you are getting enough hydration afterwards AND that you are getting a good amount of lean protein. The protein will keep you fuller and fill you up.

  28. do you know anything about adrenal distress? i just had a test done which showed my cortisol and DHEA levels were through the roof, which is why i get crazy sugar cravings, can’t lose weight/tone up, and have sleeping problems. any natural remedies you recommend to repair my stress hormones?

  29. I have two questions: how do you determine what foods to splurge on? For example, what to buy organic vs. non? I’m finding quality fruits and veggies so much more pricey. And, how do you keep yourself from snacking when bored and stuck at a desk? Thanks Chelsea

    • I gotach covered for the first part of your question in my new vlog. As for the second one, I don’t find that I snack when I’m bored, I tend to get ansy and end up leaving haha. That being said, I don’t have an office job where I’m bound to a chair so I can’t really relate to the feeling. I eat every few hours as well so I suppose that is what keeps me going. Having a healthy snack is perfectly okay to get you through that mid afternoon slump, but nibbling away just because is a slightly different story. Have a tea going or some flavoured (with veggies like cucumber, herbs like mint, or fruits like lemons/limes/etc) water to sip away at. Lack of proper hydration can also lead to snacking as you think you are hungry. The best advice I can give is to try to distract yourself when you find you are reaching for something when you know you aren’t hungry. I hope that helps!

  30. I would LOVE to see some at home, quick workouts! I don’t always have time to go to the gym or do anything particularly long after work so a quick, but effective, at home workout is what I do. I’m getting bored of my routine though. Any ideas for me?

  31. As a relatively new reader to your blog (last few months) I would love to see β€˜day to day life’ stuff as well as fitness please. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I will totally try to upload more personal life stuff. It’s tough because most of my life revolves around work during the summer (sad I know!) but those few events that I do go to I will try my hardest to whip out the camera and take some pics so I can chatter about them and share them with you!

Leave a Reply

