Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Bunny Day Nomz…WIAW

16 Comments

Hey Friends!

How was your Easter??

101-Cute-Easter-Bunny-Pictures-Adorable#SorryImNotSorry a cute bunny had to be involved!

My Easter was fabulously relaxing! I told you a bit about it in my last post (here) but today since it’s Wednesday today that means it is once again time for…

Peas and Crayons

…and therefore I thought I would share with you my eatins over the long weekend.

Thanks to Meghan (from Clean Eats Fast Feets) this week for guest hostin for our partay over at Peas and Crayons for for Miss Jen. Your eats look awesome! Make sure to check out our party page this week as I’m sure there are tons of holiday goodies to gawk at. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So since we are on the topic of Easter Dinna, why don’t we start with that shall we? My parents and I hosted again this year and despite it being a small gathering, it was quite lovely and quite delicious! In our company was my Nana and Papa and my Uncle Gary and Auntie Wendy (who we haven’t seen since last summer as they head down south for a few months to enjoy the sun while we get stuck with the cold hearted winter). The afternoon was spent chattering and catching up and while the evening was spent chowin down!

IMG_5055Anyone remember beanie babies? I collected them as a kid and now the 100’s I have stashed in the house are used by my Mom as holiday decor!

IMG_5054Our lovely table a la Mom designs..

IMG_5053Hey that’s me! ๐Ÿ˜€

So here’s the grubs..

IMG_5051Rainbow salad from moi. Everything colourful was tossed in it including purple kale, Asian salad blend, green spinach, raw yellow, green and red bell peppers, roasted purple beets, yellow carrots (yes, yellow not orange) and sprouts. Anyone else think that Easter is just the holiday to be obnoxious with colours?

IMG_5060The traditional Easter ham by my Mom. Served up with roasted pineapple.

IMG_5058My Nana’s turnip and carrot mash.

IMG_5057My Mom’s uber cheese-y and green onion-y baked mashed potato dish.

IMG_5056My roasted multi-coloured carrots and asparagus. Yup, more colour rage! ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_5061Stuffing thanks to a box of some kind. My Mom and I vowed to one holiday make our own stuffing but my Dad wanted to keep it simple this year.

And of course we have the…

…which I failed to take a picture of. So this “turkey’ will have to do. Hey, it’s cute to look at. ๐Ÿ˜€

So what did this girl snatch up for her plate?

IMG_5064Omnonnomnom!! And why yes there is roasted kabocha on my plate….The perks of hosting dinners. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So turkey, asparagus, salad and a few of those purdy carrots made it into ma belly and left it quite content.

Dessert was also store bought and came in a turkey form.

..

Unfortunately I failed you again and forgot to take a picture. It was a pound of icing a vanilla cake with a turkey face an tail decor pieces and we served it with some french vanilla ice cream. No, that cake shown above was not ours. That cake is much more impressive. than our Sobeys cake but ain’t it cool??

My Mom and I opt’ed out of dessert (I’m not a cake person anyways) to have our own lil ice-cream (coconut ice cream that is! So yummy, you need to try it!) party and watch the Veronica Mars movie when everyone had left. Having this ice-cream was quite the challenge for my guilty self but I’m proud that I did it and boy was it delicious…you could say it was So Delicious. Haha I’m so not funny right?

Molly, the bowl is something you would like! An owl!! They made for the perfect seving bowls for my sundae of sorts…

IMG_5066Drools…

IMG_5067So we have So Delicious cookie dough and sugar-free chocolate (surprisingly really good! Not too cocoa-y like I expected. Great with some extra nut butter ;-)) and a sample scoop of my Mom’s Coconut Bliss salted caramel flavour (omg soo soo good!). I then proceeded to go harder with a tsp each of Nuts n’More toffee peanut butter and raw cashew butter and a 1/4 of a baked cookie dough Questbar. So amazing. #CheatMealSoHard!

If you haven’t tried these coconut ice-creams you have to get on it! They are gluten, soy and dairy-free and, to be honest, I feel they almost taste better than normal ice-cream and at least coconut milk is way better for you than cows. They are still a treat, but hey, that’s something right?

As for my picky stomach, it was decent after this. It made a lot of gurgling noises and was a bit upset the next morning (which was out of my system by noonish. TMI?) but I think that was just because I haven’t had this in a long time as there is nothing in these ice-creams to upset it other than they are out of my normal food. I will try some again soon to try to see if my anxiety about the whole thing goes down a bit and just because I should be able to treat myself! So, again, I’m proud that I finally ate it (would you believe I have had these ice-creams in my freezer taunting me for like 2 months!) and I’m glad that I had my Mom to share it with and support me. ๐Ÿ™‚

What did you have for Easter dinner?

Are you a dessert person?

So that’s it for Easter nomz…

…but before I leave you, I thought I would share a few other things I ate and BAKED over the weekend.

What I ate…

20140420-075009.jpgSpaghetti squash with a homemade chunky tomato sauce (no salt tomatoes+ eggplant+ zucchini+purple kale+dried basil+onion+chili+garlic) and my pesto chicken meatballs. It was topped with avocado and nooch. Why don’t I have this more often? It’s sooo good!

IMG_5025One of my best #SaladBeasts yet because it had lobster, baked steelhead trout AND roasted kabocha in and amongst my other normal goodies. Droolllzz..

IMG_5071Stuffed acorn squash (roasted chicken breast+mushrooms+zucchini+onion+garlic+worchestershire sauce+ chili+spinach) with a saute of asparagus, chard, kale and mushrooms.

Annnnddd because we got to stop into Whole Foods on the way back to Hamilton (we got to check out the new one in Mississauga!) …

IMG_5096Scallops. ๐Ÿ˜€ I was in a rush (hangry side came out) so they aren’t as pretty (aka seared to perfection) as normal.

What I baked…

My parents also got some treats baked for them this weekend. You saw the cinnamon rolls I made my Mom in my last post (recipe needs tweaking so not post yet), but I didn’t show you the muffins I made for my Dad later that day.

IMG_5035There were a lot of strawberries lurking around and a Double Chocolate Chunk Questbar that my Dad hadn’t eaten yet so they got made into these lil guys..

IMG_5036Check out that chunk!

I don’t have any nutritional information for these muffins as they were just thrown together to be a yummy, high protein snack for my Dad to munch on for the next lil bit. They are healthy though, I assure you, as that’s just how I do. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here is the rough recipe:

Makes about 12 muffins.

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups oats (grounded up) + 1/2 cup (left whole)
  • 4 tbsp coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 2 tbsp hazelnut meal (or another nut meal can be used)
  • 1 packet or scoop of vanilla rice protein (can use any protein powder just you may need more/less liquid)
  • 6 packets of Stevia Balance (more or less to taste)
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 chopped Double Chocolate Chunk Questbar
  • Handful of walnut chunks
  • A couple large strawberries, chopped

ย Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butternut squash puree
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 small (100ml) carton of yogurt (I used Yogo strawberry as that’s what my Dad eats)
  • 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups water + more if batter is too thick (add after mixed)

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine the wet ingredients in a large bowl (except the coconut oil). In another bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients and make sure there are no clumps left over. Add your ad-ins (Questbar pieces, strawberries and walnuts). Fold in your liquid mixture and let sit for a minute or two. Add more water if it is too dry. Divide your batter into 12 sprayed muffin tins or cups and bake in the oven until they are done (toothpick comes out dry). ***Store in the fridge and freeze extra’s that won’t be eaten in a week or so as the lack of preservatives means they won’t keep in the fridge for too long. ***

I also baked a batch of muffins for myself for snack prep this week…

IMG_5042Like my Dad’s, these had walnuts and strawberries in them but I also added a bit of cooked quinoa into the batter to see how that would affect the moisture and texture.

IMG_5047Overall, they are very moist (in a good way!) but the taste is not there yet so I won’t share the recipe until they are up to a better standard.

So that is all friends. All of the nommin (well not everything of course, but the interesting stuff at least) that went on this weekend. Hope you enjoyed!

Of course I just can’t leave you hanging on the Maggie front so here are some pictures of my bald liondog baby girl being her crazy, rambunctious, cute, 9-month old self.

IMG_5075Always tossin you toys to play with..

IMG_5080Always wanting attention… (gawd that blasted haircut…sigh)

IMG_5072Never wanting to sit still to take a picture…

IMG_5090Lookin at cute and yawn-y and such in her car seat on the trek back home…

IMG_5094…and pooped. She’s adorable.

Happy Hump Day!

-Chelsea

 

16 thoughts on “Bunny Day Nomz…WIAW

  1. I’m so glad you had a relaxing few days off you really really deserved them. Maggie is actually the most beautiful girl (puppy) in the world!!!!!! I once talked to my professor about always being on the go & he said “if you donโ€™t take a day of rest, youโ€™ll burn yourself out. Itโ€™s so important to take one day off a week & not do one thing having to do with work. Youโ€™ll be a happier human, youโ€™ll feel more inspired, & youโ€™ll start your week off with more energy and drive.”And honestly? It kinda felt liberating.

    • Thanks. After at crazy week of non-stop working long hours I think I deserved to not thing about work for a weekend too ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maggie would really appreciate that compliment after her messed up hair cut via the groomer (still mad about that lol). You prof is a smart man. I always feel refreshed and happier coming back from home. Just a different environment (one that isn’t where you leave and come home from work) makes all the difference in your ability to truly relax. I hope you had a great weekend Lia! โค

  2. Really happy to hear you had the ice cream

    • Thanks. It was a bit of a challenge as I had a lot of anxiety about it BUT it was super yummy and I enjoyed spending the time with my Mom and having our ice cream date. It’s easier when you make it about the social aspect more than the food. ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  3. I REMEMBER BEENIE BABIES- thanks for the trip down memory lane. And as always I can’t wait to try that new recipe of yours! And that salad looks freaking amazing!!!!!! Cant wait to grab a hold of some hazelnut meal (never even herd of this) and whip up those muffins!!

    • hahahaha I loved those Beanies! Glad you enjoyed the recipes and let me know if you make’em and how they turn out! I love hearing how others enjoy my health-ified recipes. As for the hazelnut meal, feel free to use almond meal as a replacement. I just used hazelnut because I found it randomly at my health food store and thought it was cool haha.

  4. Oh my godddd everything looks and sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing the muffin recipe! I’ll have to give that a shot ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This was such an inspirational read for those of us who fell of the wagon during easter time.

  6. Looks like a perfect first Easter for you and your little family. Have a great week!

  7. You are seriously the bomb.

    Because, duh? Who doesnโ€™t love a blogger who is honest, responds to her readers etc etc etc Tank you veeery much!! Love your blog, and your motivation!!

  8. Happy Belated Easter Darling! You are right, I do love that bowl.. You seriously know me TOO well! I’m really proud of you for having ice cream, and for enjoying your Easter meal. Holidays can be a challenge for anyone, and you conquered it like a pro. All your eats look fabulous, can you cook for me? Though I think my mouth would be on fire – maybe I’d get used to it? Maggie is so cute! Glad you had a fun time back at home.

    • I knew you would! My Mom got a whole dish set of owls as the colouring matched to kitchen! I hope you enjoyed your Easter (although short) as well lovely. One day if you come to hamilton I will cook you a dinner or lunch. Or we can cook together! That would be fun and I promise to tone it down for ya ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

