Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Hippity Hoppity!

22 Comments

Happy Easter my lovelies!

EASTER BUNNY with NOSE dog or cat hat  small / medium by ilickyou, $15.00

Anyone else used to LOVE this commercial too?

toys r u bunny commercial.jpgI just thought the bunnies were so cute…and those lil voices. Ah I die. 😀

Anyways, what are you all doing for Easter?

I happened to book off the entire four day weekend so I could go home and chiiiilllax and, well, it has been just that. Relaxing and thoughtless really.

I got to see this pretty girl

Let's make picture taking impossible...

Let’s make picture taking impossible…

…who is so hyper these days apparently that she turned into Tornado dog.

Speaking of appearances, another note on Maggie

Maggie prolly feels the same kinda way about her new haircut. Sorry my baby!

The groomer maimed her! I came home to find her practically bald with a fluffy tail. Who does that? She said that Maggie had mats that just had to be shaved off so she buzzed her whole body (!!!) leaving the poor lil thing (she looks like a stick dog now..) cold. Ugh. People are saying she looks like a lion dog.

I got to do some creative baking

Zee log..

Zee log..

I have wanted to make a healthier cinnamon roll for my Mom for a while as she adores Cinnabuns. These were my second real experiment but the first time trying to use just oat flour and flax.

20140420-075023.jpgI kinda referred to Katie’s Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll recipe (subbing oat flour for the flour component and making some other lil changes) and Heather’s Honey Oat Cinnamon Roll recipe for basic ratios when using oat flour. They didn’t rise as Katie’s did despite having yeast in them and they are much more dense, thus they didn’t spread out while baking. #ExperimentalBaking is all a learning curve peeps. <-Easter reference intended 😛

With a Cellucor cinnamon swirl and sultana raisin filling and a cinnamonny protein drizzle icing, I hope they turned out tasty despite not looking as pretty.

20140420-074933.jpgI got to walk along the Lakeshore with my parents and said rambunctious puppy….

…the day wasn’t as nice as as we had hoped for, but the walk was still fun and Maggie got to run and chase anything and everything that moved.

I also got to cook my parents a lovely dinner….

I always love cooking for others, especially my family. My parents are busy with work all week and so they don’t get too fancy-shmancy in the kitchen so when I come home I make sure that I make them at least one meal that is something out of their norm. Fish is usually in the cards for my Mom because she LOVES it but never cooks it for herself because 1. my Dad won’t eat it and 2. because she doesn’t really know how to cook it and doesn’t have the time to then try to search for a recipe to make one serving for herself. For my Dad, I typically make him some form of exotic meat that I have tried recently that was super yummy and I think he would enjoy.

Pappa food..

Pappa food..

Seared elk medallion topped with onions and mushrooms that were sauteed in the leftover steak marinade. Sundried tomato, mushroom and feta pilaf. Roasted mushrooms and peppers.
Momma food..

Momma food..

Baked rainbow trout fillet topped with my homemade basil-cilantro pesto. Sundried tomato, mushroom and feta rice pilaf. Roasted asparagus spears and mushrooms.

Lets take a closer peek at that pilaf shall we…

20140420-082515.jpgThis was another random experiment inspired by a picture from Janice’s book (GoodnessMe!‘s owner) that I still have yet to read (I really want to!! I lent it out :-(). I didn’t have the actual  recipe or anything I just saw the picture on one of our new flyers and work and I just “winged the recipe” as I wanted to test it out. My parents really enjoyed it so I will share! It’s a nice and easy one and makes for a great gluten-free side dish!

I do apologize for not-so-perfect (aka approximations) measurements the not-so-professional-looking picture as I didn’t think I would end up posting it. I promise it was a goodie!

Sundried Tomato, Mushroom and Feta Rice Pilaf

Serves 3-4

  • 1.5 cups of Brown Jasmine Rice (or any other kind of wild rice, just not instant)
  • 1 can Low Sodium Chicken Broth (plus 1/2-3/4 of can of water)
  • Handful of Sundried Tomatoes
  • Handful of chopped Mushrooms
  • Handful of diced Onion
  • tsp minced Garlic
  • tsp of Coconut Oil
  • Dried Basil to taste (can add other spices of choice)
  • Block of Feta Cheese

Directions: Heat your oil in a medium sized sauce pan (one with a lid) on medium heat. Saute your onions and garlic until the onions have become translucent. Add chopped mushrooms and sundried tomatoes and saute for a bit longer. Add your rice and stir around for a minute or two to toast it. Add your broth and water to the pot and turn up the heat to bring it to a boil. When boiling, turn the heat down to a simmer and let it cook until all of the liquid has been absorbed and the rice is cooked. When it is done, take off the heat, toss your basil (and/or other herbs), fluff with a fork and set aside for a few minutes. When you are ready to serve, stir in some feta to allow it to partially melt, while also saving some feta for a finishing sprinkle. Enjoy!

Some notes:
~I used brown jasmine rice in this recipe, but feel free to use any rice you wish. A nice wild rice blend would be fabulous! Just note that the liquid to rice ratios and cooking times may be different for different grains.
~Feel free to add another other Mediterranean ingredients to this dish as well. If you like olives, toss in a few black ones. Roasted red pepper? Go for it. This dish is very customizable.
~Mushroom or vegetable stock would be wonderful in this dish as well to make it vegetarian. You could even make your own mushroom stock by simply soaking dried fancy mushrooms in boiling water for a few hours and then draining the mushrooms out when you are ready to cook. Just make sure to toss those beautiful re-saturated mushrooms in your dish!
 

I got to eye some cool Easter inspired things on Pinterest

Ombre with a bunny...I like the green to blue ombre, maybe more without the bunny.  :)I always enjoyed getting my Easter nails with my Mom. I loved the colours on this design! The bunny helps too. 😉

As for today, Easter Sunday, more baking is probably in store (for my Dad this time) before some family arrives for a nice dinner in the evening. Also, my Mom and I are also going to be watching this movie that I’m soooo excited for…

 

ERMAGAWD! Is anyone else a huge fan of this show and died a lil inside when it left us all?

Did you know that apparently this movie was fully funded by fans? People were so upset when the show fell off the planet (why did that happen?!?!) that they begged for a movie to be made. I guess it wasn’t moving fast enough and so millions of dollars were raised to make this movie happen.

…I’m just so excited I can’t even handle it.

Enjoy your Easter Sunday Friends!

Any Easter traditions you do?

Favourite Easter recipe?

Do you like peeps? Chocolate-addict? Jelly Bean hoarder?

-Chelsea

22 thoughts on “Hippity Hoppity!

  1. Happy Easter Chelsea!

  2. Hope you’re all chilled out & celebrated the beautiful day!

    Happy belated Sunday/Easter, xx. zm

  3. Hi Chelsea! You’re a babe! Seriously. I was just stalking all of your old posts!

  4. I’ve just come across your blog after finding your twitter through the Pulse’s blog article with your wrap recipe. I am very impressed at your dedication to this lfiestyle- I struggle very much around the holidays – and even today found it hard to get back on track from Easter (those darn chocolate eggs). Sigh.

    Whatever, I guess it’s motivation, right?! I’ll be passing on the extra cheesecake in my fridge & going extra hard in the gym tomorrow. Ya in? 😉

    Love the honest advice – being fit involves clean eating and hard work, but its totally worth it when you feel fit & healthy, and actually learn to enjoy working out 😉
    Thanks for sharing! Thanks for such an amazing blog!

    • Thanks so much for the blog love! I’m so happy that more Pulse members I finding my blog and enjoying it 😀 Don’t be too hard on yourself! It’s the holidays and if you indulge more than normal…that is normal! Just take the next day like you always would and dont stress about it. One day won’t make any difference other than a lil bloat the next day perhaps.

      Kill it in the gym because you want to not because you feel you need to work anything in particular off. 🙂

  5. I have a silly question- How can I get ‘tank top arms?///How do you make your shoulders look chiseled… I thought I was doing all the right things at the gym but am not seeing any changes

    • No silly questions! There is a lot of factors that come in when looking at ‘molding’ your body per say. With getting some definition, you have to ensure you are lifting heavy weights. Aim for a weight that is challenging at the 6-8 repetition range for 3-4 sets. Doing high repetitions is not the best at building some lean muscle mass. Hypertrophy (that range I mentioned) is where it’s at! Be persistent with it and change up the exercises that you do to stimulate slightly different muscles in that major muscle group as well. For example, do overhead press and arnold press instead or with a basic shoulder press to build those shoulders. Just remember that it takes time and some body parts are slower to respond than others. For me personally, shoulders are the hardest for me to see gains in. They are my ‘lagging’ body part. Hardest to get definition and hardest to push higher weights with. Don’t give up! 🙂

  6. ALSO You mentioned hit training in an old post- why! What makes HIIT better than continuous cardio? Or is it even better than continuous cardio??? Sorry for the flood of comments- I ended exams and want to focus my time on my body now

    • No need to be sorry! I love when readers are interested in knowing more 😀 HIIT training is better than continuous cardio in my opinion for a few reasons:
      1) continuous cardio can lead to a plateau very quickly because your body adapts to the single speed and incline. Body adapting= stalled progress.
      2) It also doesn’t place you in a muscle building range. Instead you are simply burning energy (often using fat a fuel source, which is why many people tend to like doing slow and easy continuous cardio or LISS (often fasted, no eating beforehand) if they are wanting fat loss. I wouldn’t recommend this for those who are not ready to jump on the fitness model stage as I don’t know if the body gets stressed doing this) and possibly using up muscle stores as fuel if you are not careful and do too much
      2) continuous cardio is boring.

      Instead, HIIT is…
      1) efficient! You can get a much better workout in half the time as you are working much harder in various intervals.
      2) Due to the interval style this training is, you are placing yourself not only in the fat burning zone but also in the muscle building zone as your body is working in an anaerobic state (no oxygen) just like weight lifting.
      3) More fun! You can use anything really for HIIT and because you are not going at a constant pace (going between rest and working intervals), it will keep your mind stimulated.

      I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any more questions.

  7. Are you always like RA RA, all the time. I mean don’t you totally have your off days? I probably know the answer but I’m just trying to make myself feel good for skipping the gym for about a week

    On that note, do you have any fitness tips that help you stay on track?

    • hahaha. No, despite LOVING my gym times, everyone will have those days. Sometimes it’s tough getting up and going on 4 hours of sleep (not that you should necessarily do this, I just suck at getting to bed at a half decent time often lol) but I know that once I get there, my energy will perk up and push me through it. Don’t feel bad about missing the gym (I feel like a hypocrite saying that haha). Life takes over sometimes and just one bad meal won’t kill ya, missing a few days at the gym doesn’t do permanent damage either.

      As for tips, my number one is always find something you love doing. That is the best way to motivate yourself to stick with it! Make goals that excite you so you won’t even need external motivation. Set off that internal fire!

  8. Chelsea, happy belated easter. I have a question- should I eat when not hungry…I know it sounds silly because I’m trying to lose weight but some days I go until 2 or 3 without eating. should I eat even when I’m not hungry but know that I’m under my calorie goal for the day?

    • First off i wouldn’t recommend counting calories. It drives people crazy and can lead to number focus an obsession. For the average normal person (one who hasn’t dealt with eating related health issues in the past leading to messed up hunger cues, fitness models, competitors, etc) I would say follow your body’s cues. That being said, if you are not hungry all the way until the mid afternoon, your body may be thinking it’s starving and has slowed your metabolism down to compensate (to try to burn less calories as it’s in ‘save everything’ mode). I could be wrong here, as you would know your body best, but perhaps try eating a small breakfast when you get up (as you have been fasting all night long) for a week or two and see how you feel.

      Another question though, is are you eating a large amount before bed? If that is the case, perhaps you are just full up until that time and thus should consider spreading your meals out a little bit more by eating less at night and having a breakfast when you wake up.

      I hope that helps!

  9. Absolutely dying. I just learned that HARLEY PASTERNAK holds a Master of Science in Exercise Physiology and Nutritional Sciences from the University of Toronto and an Honors Degree in Kinesiology from University of Western Ontario….THIS MADE ME SO EXCITED BECAUSE YOU’RE GOING TO BE JUST LIKE HIM RUNNING THE NORTH AMERICAN FITNESS WORLD SOON ENOUGH AND I CAN SAY I READ YOUR BLOG AS YOU STARTED OUT!!!!!!!

  10. Hi! 🙂 I’ve been surfing around WordPress when I came across your blog. I just loove it!! Can’t wait to read ALL of your posts. I love your blog! Super cute! and btw you look amazing! 🙂 I’ll definitely be reading more! Just barely scrolling through here and I get soo inspired! Thank you and God bless! 🙂

  11. I just discovered your blog a few days ago and I want to twll you how much of an inspiration you are!! I love how honest and real you are! I have had such struggles with food throughout my life…struggling with what to eat what to not each, how to be healthy, how much to exercise, when to rest etc. and reading your blog has truly given me a new outlook! All I truly want is to be healthy and content and reading your blog for a few days has already helped me – just wanted to say thanks and keep it up, girl!

    • Thank you so much!! That makes me so happy to hear. The body is a really a challenge to understand and it doesn’t help when the media throws all these new “ideas” at us on how we SHOULD be eating and exercising. Most of these are wrong and don’t look at the individual but they are still influential and make us second guess ourselves and what we are currently doing. Listen to your body. It’s smarter than we all think. 🙂 Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

