Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

When Life Be Buzzin … WIAW

2 Comments

Hey Friends!

Well this week it was officially my 2nd week back to both jobs and let me tell you...

I’m still not adjusted once again. I’m sleepy.

I will say that I was super proud of myself the other day for gettin my lil tush to beddies before 11pm for once in my life…. It’s a start lets see if that can continue.

This WIAW is going to be all about container life meal preppin at its finest as I work a double shift at the gym back to back. After working out first thing in a morning then working an 8 hour floor shift I feel like I live at the gym on Tuesdays. Thinking about it, I pretty much do.

Peas and Crayons

Don’t forget to check out the other partiers this week and all their yummy foodz

Preworkout: Brownie Chunk Proats.

  • Base: GF oats, cake batter Cellucor whey, chia seeds, cinnamon, 1/3 cup US almond milk and 1/3 cup water. Soak over night
  • In the morning I cook in 2 egg whites and banana. When it’s done cooking I stir in lucuma powder and break the banana up into chunky goodness before topping with 1/4 of a brownie Questbar (some baked and some raw…yeah I’m back to doing that ;-)), 1 tsp my chunky peanut butter and 1 tsp of cashew butter (crack I tell you, crack)

20140115-213054.jpgAfter killing my bi’s and tri’s I eat this lil numba in the change room immediately following my workout:

Postworkout: Baked Oatmeal

  • 40g banana
  • 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp Gluten free oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey (I use my Probiotic whey)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites
  • cinnamon

Melt the banana in a cup. Stir in the rest of the ingredients until combined. Add to a sprayed mug/ramekin and bake for about 15 minutes at 350. I use my toaster oven so it may take a wee bit longer in the oven.

IMG_3545After that, it’s just before 10 and I work back at the gym at 12:15 so I biked home to shower, grab my prepped food for the day and eat my prepped lunch.

Lunch/Post Post Workout: Flexbowl container #1

In the Bowl: Roasted sweet potatoes (rosemary and olive oil), grilled spicy chicken breast (used Miss Dash extra spicy and grill on my George Foreman) and swiss chard saute with mushrooms, onion, garlic, curry and chili powder.

20140115-213151.jpgI chose to do two 4 hours in one day instead of doing an opening shift (5:30am start time) on Thursdays. I need my naps on my rest days off the gym peoples! 😛 Despite it being January and thus the gym being swamped with people, the first shift is really tough…like I’m falling asleep tough. Ugh, don’t know why..Maybe my post workout fatigue finally kicks in then. Anyways, because I’m doing 8 hours I get a 30 minute unpaid break SOOOO…

At 3:15 I take 10 to sit on the bench and eat my snackie and hopefully perk me back up

20140115-213115.jpg2 tsp of my fish oils. Mmmm Key Lime. Love my Barleans Omega Swirls.

AND20140115-213132.jpgChicken (same from lunch) with one of my Apple Vanilla Spiced Chestnut Muffins. Love that almond butter centre in those!

The second part of my shift goes by faster as I have a buddy now due to it being peak hours (starts around 4ish). It’s now a zoo. I took my other part of my break around 6:30ish when my tummy started grumbling and nommed on this yummy flexbowl #2

calamariIn the Bowl: Buckwheat groats (new to me grain..gluten free. Tastes like Israeli couscous), calamari saute with sesame oil, chili, basil, snow peas, mushrooms, onion and broccoli. Avocado on the side for some healthy fat action.

Finally after my long workin day, a friend of mine, Chaunda (fellow trainer at work), came over and we baked some nice peanut butter banana protein muffins for her to take home. It was a fun lil way to end the night off.

Speaking of ending the night off..

IMG_2724You know the drill. Questbar of the evening was Apple Pie 😀

One side note that I want to make is the gluten free randomness that has shown up this post. I’m trying to go completely gluten free now to see if that helps my tummy. Appears that it’s doing a bit better lately and I don’t know if it’s because of that or that my IBS has just finnally decided to calm doooowwwn. We shall see. Although I can keep my oats (that would be a disaster!) if they are gluten free certified, bulgar and my Ezekiel bread had to take the boot. Sadface. I loved my bulgar BUT if I get a happier digestive system without it, I will take it.

Have a nice hump day evening friends!

-Chelsea

 

2 thoughts on “When Life Be Buzzin … WIAW

  1. That’s too bad that you had to go gluten free. Sacrifices are always so hard but feeling less bloat is definitely a win over the taste of gluten! Perhaps in some time you’ll find you can reintroduce it but it seems like you are doing a great job finding alternatives. 🙂

    • It’s not too bad as I was already about 95% there anyways. Just my convenience sandwich that I can sneak to eat at work was a problem that I had to fix BUT now I have my homemade gf wraps for that! Perf 😀 Maybe down the road but for now, keeping the tummy at bay is more important. And thanks! I’m trying some new stuff and enjoying them 😀

Leave a Reply

