Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Nuts N’More Chestnut Flour Muffins

Leave a comment

Hey Friends,

Just droppin in for a quick lil recipe. This is the one I posted earlier in the week for Instagram’s #MakeItBakeItMondays with Chelsea (chelsea_lifts) and Kelly (fitpaleolife). This weekly event is simply where you make a recipe that includes the use of protein powder and each week there are a few winners that catch the eyes of these two lovely ladies. You should definitely check out their accounts on IG as they are quite the chef-esses. Surprisingly this is the FIRST one I have entered but hopefully won’t be my last as I bake with protein all the time! This lil event not only is fun (as baking is always a good time!) it also sets me up for healthy snacks for the rest of the week (aka snack prep). Multi-tasking at its best I would say :-D.

This week I ended up making muffins (I know I know, more muffins) BUT these are special muffins as they include my new flour...

Chestnut Flour!

Any Italian readers out there?

Cool eh? I spied it in my health food store over the Christmas break and after seeing a couple people on IG testing it out, I had to have some to experiment with. Of course I took to the big ol’ internet to see just how this special flour behaves when baking. Here’s a few things I found out:

  • Despite being in the nut flour family, it behaves nothing like it’s other family members and thus cannot be substituted one to one for any of those flours
  • It has less fat than traditional nut flours
  • It apparently makes for a cakey texture in baked goods
  • Doesn’t require eggs! Thanks for your experiments Brittany! Check out here Carrot Cake Chestnut Flour Muffins (I made those too!)

Lastly, like it’s nutty family members, it’s gluten free! This is great as I am now gluten free completely to see if that helps my tummy out at all. Realistically, the last thing in my diet containing gluten was my oats, so I switched those over now to gluten free (can’t give them up!). My Ezekiel bread may also have to be given the boot soon (it’s only wheat and flour free) to be rid of absolutely everything. My tummy has been doing a bit better so my nutritionist may be right and I may have developed a gluten intolerance due to a restricted diet over the past few years. Ooops.

Anyways, back to the main point, maa muffins.

They also got a lil something else special in them….IMG_3763

Chocolate Peanut Butta. This is by Nuts N’More and it’s delicious!

Just a lil bit…

A touch in the centre of each muffin. A surprise if you will…IMG_3766

Nice lil blob eh?

Now you see itIMG_3772

Now you don’t.

Their all cute and stuff when they are all baked up…

IMG_3795

Bite sized even.

Oh and lookie..IMG_3799

 There’s that peanut butta middle peeking out again. Yum.

Want the recipe yet?

Here it is 😀

Nuts N’More Chestnut Flour Muffins

Makes 10 muffins

Per muffin: 113 cals, 12g carbs, 4g fat, 7.5g protein, 4g fibre and 2g sugar (from the banana only)

In a large bowl mix the following dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chestnut flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup gluten free oat bran
  • 1/4 cup gluten free oats
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey (I used Optimum Nutrition Decadent Chocolate)
  • 4 Stevia packets
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom

In a smaller bowl, whisk one large egg and then add the following wet ingredients to the bowl and combine well:

  • 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 50g banana, mashed
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil, melted (add this last so that it doesn’t solidify again due to the cold ingredients)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Add wet to dry and fill 10 sprayed muffin tins about a 1/3 of the way up. Take a 1/2 a tsp of your nut butter (I used Nuts N’More Chocolate Peanut Butter) and place that in the centre. Use the rest of the batter to top up each muffin and then bake in the oven at 350 for about 18-20 minutes or until the tops are firm and a toothpick inserted off centre (to miss the nut butter) comes out ALMOST CLEAN. **You want almost so that when they are cooling in the tin, they don’t go too hard because of the whey and coconut flour**

Let cool and enjoy! 🙂

These were subtly sweet from the banana and not too dense. The chestnut flour is quite an interesting flour that I look forward to using again for other goodies! I hope you like them if you try them out. I will be trying a Vanilla Spiced Apple version of these in a few days and will let you know how that goes.

Happy Thursday Friends!

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

