Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

WIAW…Fuel Those Stems

2 Comments

Hey Friends,

Just dropping in for a quick WIAW with the gang over at Peas and Crayons. Thanks Miss Jen for hosting once again this week! Today’s post will feature the eats that fuel my big Wednesday Legday. Shall we begin?

Peas and CrayonsIm up nice and early when I workout to eat my big ol’ bowl of proats. Gawd I love my oatmeal every morning. For leg day, my carbs shoot up and my fats drop slightly to give me lots of quick energy.

IMG_3544This bowl was made from a base (which was soaked overnight as usual) of 1/2 cup oats, 1/5 scoop Cellucor Cookies and Cream whey, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1/3 cup each water and unsweetened almond milk and a shake (or 10) of cinnamon. In the morning, 1/4 cup of egg whites are added during the cooking process (pumpin up that volume!) and my lovely add-ins include: 65g of melted banana chunks (quick carbs!), 1/3 of a Double Chocolate Chunk Questbar (ooooohhh the melty chocolate goodness!), 1/2 a tbsp of cashew butta and 1 tsp lucuma powder (superfood). Cue faceplant. So good!

After a lil digestin, I pop my first 2 BCAA’s (Branched Chain Amino Acids) and head off to the gym. It’s around 7:20ish am by now. The BCAA’s are there to protect my muscle mass while working out. Especially because I’m currently not where I should be weight wise, these are super important as they give free amino acids to the body ensure that it doesn’t start feeding off my muscle for fuel.

IMG_3548I hate swallowing horse pills. Ick.

I then went and murdered my legs with this workout

First Set

5×5 Barbell Squats. Started with a warmup (not included in total sets) of no weight then 50lbs + the bar (95lbs total). I started my set at 135 and worked my way up to a new PR of 155lbs for 4 unassisted reps. This was followed by a drop set at 135lbs for 5 reps. Super set that with weighted (25lbs) oblique mountain climbers using the bosu (feet are elevated) x4 sets of 1 minute each.

Second Set

4×8-9 Weighted Walking Lunges. I use 2 55lbs dumbbells on my shoulders for these. Yes I need a lot of spotters for my workouts. 😉 I super set this with side plank rotations with my elbow on a bench and my feet on a stability ball for 4×1:30minute sets.

Third Set

4×8 Leg Press with Super Set Calf Raises. I use 6 45lb plates for this one and immediately do calf raises following each set. I super set this one with weighted (25lb) isolateral hip bridges for 4×9-10 sets.

Fourth Set (Burnout Set)

3×8 Quad Extensions. I do 145lbs for 8 reps then immediately went into wall sits with 2 45lbs plates + 1 25lb plate on my lap. This was held for 1:15 minutes for all three sets. KILLER! I did this 3 times in just under 15 minutes. Yes, another spotter needed to get all that weight on my lap for me 😀

I then booked it to the change room (I was ready to eat my hand off) to choke on take two more BCAAs and had my post workout cake/muffin

IMG_3545 IMG_3546This is simply:

  • Heaped 1/4 cup oats
  • 40g melted banana
  • 1/2 scoop Chocolate Probiotic Whey
  • 2 tbsp liquid egg whites
  • Shake of cinnamon

Combine in a small cup and pour into a sprayed ramekin. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes or until firm to the touch.

After some much needed foam rolling and stretching, I biked my way home to shower up, grab some lunch and then head off to work at GoodnessMe! Lunch was a new standard post-post workout meal since my brussel sprouts are still off the table for my tummy.

Still delicious nonetheless!

IMG_3552Baked basa fillet seasoned with Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy seasoning, sauteed red swiss chard leaves and stems with mushrooms, onion, chili powder and flakes and curry powder AND rosemary roasted kabocha squash and purple sweet taters. Love it all!

Around 3:30 I had my lil snackie mugcake that I tend to make when I’m on the go to get my fuel and fish oils in me:

My digestive enzymes are taken with EVERYTHING!

My digestive enzymes are taken with EVERYTHING!

In a cup combine:

  • 3 tbsp peanut flour
  • just under 1/4 cup oats
  • cinnamon
  • 2 tsp Barlean’s Omega Swirl fish oil
  • 2 tbsp liquid egg whites
  • lil bit of peanut butter extract

Sprayed a ramekin and bake at 350 for ~15 minutes or until the top is firm and it has cracked in the middle.

Dinner was also eaten at work while pulling forward.

IMG_3550Today’s Flexbowl contained organic brown basmati rice, lil bit of leftover protein (barramundi fillet and grilled chipotle spiced chicken) and a saute of kale, zucchini, asparagus, onion, cajun and chili powders. Fuel up!

Finally back at home to relax a lil bit, chatter with you guys (oh hey WIAW partiers and fellow blog readers!) and make some healthy peanut butter and jelly muffins for some snacks to go. Hopefully they turn out! Experiment in process.

Before bed, as always is my peanut butter filled, frozen casein pudding (Optimum Nutrition Chocolate Peanut Butter Casein+almond milk+ cinnamon + 1tbsp+ 1 tsp my crunchy pb)and half a baked Questie. I’m thinking banana nut tonight. 😀 BEST SNACK EVAR!

On that happy note, I think I will go eat that now 😀 Have a great Wednesday nite all!

What do you eat to fuel up for a big workout?

Do you use pre-workouts? Nope, all food all the time friends!

-Chelsea

2 thoughts on “WIAW…Fuel Those Stems

  1. What an awesome blog! I love all your recipe suggestions throughout the post 🙂 Your breakfast looks fabbbb! I usually avoid oatmeal (I feel better on lower carb), but two weeks ago I went to an ashram where I had some oatmeal for breakfast…mmmmmm I had forgotten how GREAT IT IS!!! I’m going to try your recipe & see if all that loaded protein will prevent a low blood sugar!!

    • Awesome! Let me know how it goes!! 😊 ensuring you have a good amount if protein and fats will not only help with keeping you full longer but also helps to keep that blood sugar in check. If you’re concerned about the carbs, use berries for your add in OR you could try something like a zucchini or carrot cake version. I use bananas a lot because they fuel my workout that follows breakfast, but I usually stick to berries on my restdays as I don’t need the quick release carbs ✌️

Leave a Reply

