Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

A Lil Home Bakin For the Menz

Leave a comment

Hey Friends,

So I got the pleasure of taking the day off on Saturday and getting to go home for the weekend. Whenever I go home it’s like a mini vaca for me as I never get two days in a row off. Crazy talk right? Anyways, it’s always exciting to go back home to see my parents and lil miss Maggie! This time, my boyfriend even got the chance to hop a ride back to Acton with us as well to see the house (he hadn’t seen the new one yet) and do some bonding time with da puppie.

IMG_3475She’s such a cutie.

Being at home and up early in the morning, I tend to get the urge to bake something and, well, family members end up being my guinea pigs err.. receivers. My boyfriend is the easier one to please as he doesn’t really ask what something is, he just eats it. Win. 😀 My dad on the other hand wakes up this mornin comes into the kitchen and proceeds to say..

“I don’t want any oatmeal!”

This was following my lovely greeting of…”Good morning Dad, I made some breakfast for you…” Ahhh the fear of trying something new. Where has that come up before?

To be honest, my Dad is one of the most stubborn people I have ever met when it comes to trying new foods. I can write a list a mile long of the things he refuses to try based on something silly (well in my mind it’s silly). Here are a few examples of some of the worst offenders **When I say worst offenders it’s because every foodie would gasp**

No hummus because it looks like ‘throw up’

No squash because…he has yet to give me a reason. I KNOW he refuses to eat kabocha!

No sweet potatoes (white potatoes out of the wazzoo, but no, the second they are any shade other than white, nose in the air)

No cooked veggies (only par cooked or raw is acceptable)

No fish…possibly the fault of the first fish attempt with him. Plain baked sole. Quite possibly the most fishy smelling fish out there and my mom and I seasoned it with lemon I believe. Big mistake. He has yet to touch fish since.

So you see why I never serve up my favourites to my parents.

Anyways, this morning I put my foot down and said that this wasn’t just oatmeal and he had to try it. I said it was BAKED oatmeal so he should trust me cuz it ain’t your old school porridge. 😉 It’s like having cake for breakie for real! Apparently both my mom and my dad have been scarred for life after having oatmeal simply boiled in water and sprinkled with some suga as a child. Wow traditional style is boooorrring! Such a shame as oatmeal has so much potential to be amazing (HULLLO it’s my favourite meal of the day!). With some resistance my dad complied to this ‘baked porridge’ idea and guess what

He liked it.

Can I say WIN twice in one post? Oh I should never say it?…

Anyways I was pleased with my success so I will now share with you the oatmeal cake that put a slightly more positive spin on oatmeal for one picky eater. The version to follow will be a cool one I made for my boyfriend after raiding my Mom’s baking cupboard. That may not be the healthiest of oatmeal dishes, but hey, I’m having fun and my boyfriend liked it. 😀

IMG_3472Chocolate Strawberry Baked Oatmeal

Dry

1/2 cup oats

1/2 scoop chocolate whey (I used Cellucor Molten Chocolate)

1/2 tbsp ground flax

1/2 tsp baking powder

A handful of semi sweet chocolate chips

Wet

1/4 cup liquid egg whites (or two egg whites)

About 1/3 cup strawberry yogurt (I used Source 0% strawberry as that is what my Dad has at home) + 2-3 tbsp for filling

About 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1 tsp coconut oil, melted

2 tbsp U/S almond milk

Fold-in’s

A few strawberries, diced

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl mix all of the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, combine the wet (except the 2-3 tbsp of the yogurt for the filling). Add your wet to dry and combine. Gently fold in your strawberry pieces. Spray a ramekin or foil bowl and add half of your oat mixture. Place your 2-3 tbsp of yogurt in the middle and cover with the remaining oat mixture. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until firm and the top is golden. Let stand for a few minutes to fully set before flipping out onto a plate. Top with whatever your desire. I topped it with the rest of the strawberry yogurt (it was a lil single serve container), few chocolate chips and some more diced strawberries.

**NOTE my eyes were slightly bigger than they should have been when adding the ‘filling’ as it made the overall oatmeal a lil more moist than it should have been. Wait 1/4 cup of yogurt in the middle of the cake won’t make it runnier? Shocker. #RookyMistake. Take care not to over fill your cake, especially if you are not using a thicker (ie. greek) yogurt as it will increase the baking time and possibly make the cake split a lil bit like mine did. **

Now for my boyfriends version. I spied some mini marshmallows in the cupboard and since the chocolate chippies were already out I decided to run with the s’mores idea.

S’mores Baked OatmealIMG_3481

Dry

1/2 cup oats

2 tbsp peanut flour

1/2 tbsp flax meal

1/2 tsp baking powder

A handful of walnuts

A handful of chocolate chips

Wet

1/3 cup egg whites

1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1/4 cup U/S almond milk

1 tsp coconut oil, melted

Add-in’s

Mini marshmallows

Graham cracker pieces if you have any

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl mix all of the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, combine the wet. Add your wet to dry and combine. Spray a ramekin or foil bowl and add your oat mixture. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until firm and the top is golden. Let stand for a few minutes to fully set before flipping out onto a plate. Place some more chocolate chips and mini marshmallows on the top and broil until the marshmallows are browned to your liking and chocolate and all melted. If you have graham cracker pieces, you can totally sprinkle some of that one top too to give it a more traditional s’mores feel.

So there you have it. Two baked oatmeal delights. One for the picky eater and one for adventurous eater. Both flavour combos are classics so you really can’t go wrong.

Oh, and after a lil chattering in the car ride back to Hamilton with my dad, he promised to try my roasted sweet taters AND maybe even some kale at Christmas. A Christmas miracle if I do say so myself. I’m so proud. 😀

Anything you don’t like that EVERYONE else does?

Do you know any picky eaters that AREN’T kids?

Best baked oatmeal flavour combo? Peanut butter and banana hands down. But that’s obvious coming from me right? Of course throwing some questbar pieces in there too takes it to a whole other level of mouth-gasm-ness

Hope you had a great weekend and enjoy the rest of your lazy Sunday

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

