Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Fitness Friday #10

3 Comments

If only…

Hey Friends,

It’s been a while since I have posted anything related to fitness so I figured that I would end that today as I have a lil bit of time to spare. Big thanks to Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean for starting up this weekly fitness round-up and showing us fitness from a crossfit perspective.

I know that some of my readers did say they liked it when I posted workouts and I sincerely apologize for not posting more frequently. I hope you can forgive me and I will try to be a better fitness blogger.

Before I give you my workouts of this week thus far, I wanted to give an update as to how me and the weights have been getting along lately. AMAZING! My strength keeps going up and up and up some more which is awesome. That may be the only good thing resulting from more fuel in the tank (as I still battle those stomach issues associated with said ‘bulk’). That said, it does help that at least I’m seeing something positive in return. So here’s some of the numbers that are making me proud currently…

Back Squat…Max out at 150 for 4-5 reps w/o assistance

Walking Lunges…2 60lb dumbbells (THATS 120 POUNDS Y’ALL!) on my shoulders for 5-6 reps per leg. That was definitely a proud moment for this 5’0 lil gymrat let me tell you. The boys in the gym ain’t got nothing on me! πŸ˜‰

Dumbbell Chest Press (basic, flat)…Pressing 40’s now for 5-6 unassisted reps (45’s on decline)

Pullups (various grips, exception is wide)…12 unassisted, 5-6 with 10lb weight

Dumbbell Row…Maxed out at 45lbs for about 5 reps

Dips (feet on bench)…5-6 reps with 125lbs stacked on my lap

Holler back! I love all the gaaaaiiinz. Do notice the lack of shoulder hoorrays though…darn stubborn shoulders. Oh well, must think on the bright side, even your slowest and most resistant body part has to come around eventually right?

Okay so that we are all up to date and such, how did I throw around my weights this week so far?

**As a reminder as it has been so long, I like volume so you see that my workouts tend to look like multiple circuits. I also ALWAYS lift as heavy as possible (to failure) for the reps I want to reach. For every workout I start off with a 5×5 type set (where I go to my absolute max weights) as they need the most energy, the next 2 are 4×6-8 (hypertrophy style) and the last is typically a burn out set of 3×8-10. I also always start off with weighted situps (either normal/oblique) and another ab/oblique exercise to warm up the core***

National Chest Day….cough.. I mean Monday

Superset 1

Incline Dumbbell Chest Press…5 total sets with a final drop set, 1 warmup set

Glute Hamstring Raises (new to me, my hammies hurt for 2 days after these)…4 total sets

Weighted Knee Ups (captains chair used)…4 total sets all with a single drop set (two different weights), double drop for last set

Superset 2

Vince’s REP IT OUT Chest Press…4 total sets

**Let me explain. This is an isolateral exercise where you do a standard chest press motion but you are doing it one arm at a time. You generally have to drop your weight a bit to account for stability issues. The rep it out aspect is that fact that you do one arm (to failure), roll to the other side to do the other arm to fail and then continue to roll the weight back and forth (no rest) until you can only do one rep per arm** Fun times.

Reverse Situps (on decline bench)…4 total sets

Superset 3

Decline Cable Flies…4 total sets, one drop set

Peck Deck Flies…4 total sets, one drop set

Weighted Mountain Climbers (hands on bosu ball, feet on bench)…4 total sets of 1 minute

Superset 4

Weighted Pushups…3 total sets, final drop set with no weight. (GREAT BURNOUT!)

Weighted Leg Raises (on captains chair)…3 total sets, all with single drop set, last with 2 drops.

Tuesday Bi’s and Tris

**for this day I do 2 5×5 sets (one for bi’s, one for tri’s) then 2 3×8-10’s**

Superset 1

Weighted Chins…5 total sets all with drop set, 1 warmup set

Tricep Extension using V-Bar

Tricep Extension (standing with v-bar)…4 total sets, final drop set

Weighted Russian Twists (on decline bench)…4 total sets, all with single drop set, final with double drop set

Superset 2

Weighted Dips (feet on one bench, hands on another)…5 total sets (weight increasing to max), one final multi-drop drop set (like down the rack drop sets)

Cross Body Hammer Curl

Cross Body Hammer Curls…4 total sets

Weighted Side Plank…2 total sets for each side, hold for 1:30mins

Superset 3

Barbell Curls…4 total sets, one drop set

Overhead Tricep Extension (using rope)…4 total sets, one drop set

Weighted Oblique Mountain Climbers (hands on bosu ball, feet on bench)…4 total sets of 1 minute

Superset 4

Standing Tricep Extensions (using bar)…3 total sets, one drop set

Tricep Pushups (feet elevated)…3 total sets

Weighted Oblique Dips (on bench)…3 total sets

Wednesday Deathday Leg Day

**Ask anyone in my gym, I go crazy on leg days. Like literally try to murder my legs. I don’t know why, but my super competitive side comes out and it’s a sweaty one. There’s a reason my rest day ALWAYS falls post-leg day**

Superset 1

Back Squat…5 total sets with one drop set, 2 warmup sets (1 with just bar, 1 directly after with 95lbs)

Weighted Mountain Climbers (hands on bosu ball, feet on bench)…4 total sets of 1 minute

Superset 2

Foot Variations for Leg Press. Feet together is the last one

Leg Press (Feet together, toes face straight up)…4 total sets, one warmup

Calves (directly after leg press, feet pointed outwards)…4 total sets

Glute Kickbacks (cables)..4 total sets

Superset 3

Weighted Walking Lunges…4 total sets (these killed me, I did 2x55lb for 8-9 reps 4 times in just under 20 minutes…cue the baby deer legs)

Weighted Leg Raises (captains chair)….4 total sets all with single drop set, last set double drop set

Superset 4

Leg Extension Machine…3 total sets, 1 drop set

Weighted Wall Sits (with 2x45lb plates on lap)…3 total sets held for 1:30 minutes (total burn out!)

Friday Shoulders and Delts

Superset 1

Overhead Barbell Press….5 total sets, one warmup and one final drop set

Weighted Russian Twists (decline bench)…5 total sets all with single drop set, last one double drop set

Superset 2

Seated Arnold Press

Seated (no backrest) Arnold Press…4 total sets, 1 drop set (standing) **First time actually trying these, good burn**

Rear Delts (using peck deck)…4 total sets, one final drop set

Plank rotations (feet on ball, elbow on bench)…2 total sets for each side for 1:30 minutes

Superset 3

Upright Row (using bar and cables)…4 total sets, one final drop set

Dumbbell Lateral Raises….4 total sets

Weighted Oblique Mountain Climbers (hands on bosu, feet on bench)…4 total sets, 1 minute each

Rope Pull Throughs. Great for the anterior delts. Don’t bend at the hip and thrust up, instead, keep posture upright and extend arms upward.

Superset 4

Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press…3 total sets, 1 final drop set

Pull Throughs (using towel attached to cable machine)…3 total sets, 1 final drop set

Oblique Dips (using bench)…3 total sets

So that’s all I have for you today, I will be smashing my back tomorrow morning then having another rest day on Sunday to re-coop…and nap before work πŸ˜‰

Thank Gawd It’s Friday! Have a good one and a good weekend.

Favourite body part to workout?Β I used to jump immediately to back and despite still liking back a lot, I’m really starting to enjoy chest day because of my improvements in strength.

Favourite style of training? Weights? Circuits? Full Body? Isolation? I always do weights and weights only, lifting as heavy as my body will let me with proper form. Isolation is my go-to as I enjoy burning out 1-2 body parts at a time.

What’s your lagging body part?

Don’t forget to get your sweat on!

-Chelsea

3 thoughts on “Fitness Friday #10

  1. I’d LOVE to hear a how you got started type of post or advice for newbies/

  2. Pingback: Weekend & Back to My Normal Self | Peanut Butter Kait

Leave a Reply

