Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

WIAW…Smirfin’ It Out

Leave a comment

Hey Friends!

So I had really good intentions to come home after my 6AM-9PM day last Wednesday and share my noms…but lets be honest, after such a long day of go-go…go-go…and well, more go-go..in the rain…that post just failed to write itself.

What kept me going like a human yo-yo all day you ask? Ohhh the life of having two jobs..

I just want to point out that it was a big day at the Pulse (McMaster University gym where I live work)…It was the Aerobathon that day.

This is a day once a year where there are back-to-back fitness classes running all day long in the gym for people, member or not, to sign up for and enjoy. To get into any of the classes all day all you had to do was donate 2 or more dollars which would then raise money for charity. Oh, and when you donated you also chose a “smirf” to allocate that money to. This smirf would basically be doing the classes as well and so by choosing them, you would essentially be rooting for them to do as many classes as possible and be the best smirf ever. Who are the smirfs you ask? Well, they are randomly chosen personal trainers who don’t know they had been ‘smirf-ified’ until that day.

Guess who was smirfette?

Moi.

How did Miss Smirfette’s fair you ask?Β As of right now, I’m not sure who received the most donations BUT I will say (again…toot toot) that in the morning this lil smirf was totally in the lead! πŸ˜‰

So all in all, what did my crazy day look like?

5:30AM wake-up call for breakfast and early prep before a 7AM staff meeting at the Pulse (gym-job 1)…eh a girls gotta have time to eat!

8:30AM yoga class with the boyfriend…and unfortunately my only class of the day…Smirf fail. BUT it was a great easy-breezy class to jump start both of our mornings

9:30AM returned back home with Andre, was gunna take a nap BUT we got a visit from his dad who was bringing us more chicken and some mahi mahi to enjoy.

11AM-12:15AM I food prepped my snack and dinner, scarfed down my lunch and ran out the door back to the Pulse

12:30PM Train client

1:30PM was my ‘table time’.Β  All trainers had to do at least one hour volunteer time at the raffle ticket tables either inside or outside the Pulse.

3PM biked bused to GoodnessMe! for my 3:30PM shift..ugh I hate when it rains as busing takes for life.

Just before 9PM I finally arrive back home to then relax, have my nightly snackie and enjoy Entourage time with Andre before bed.

LOOOOOONNNG DAY

So I hope your forgive my lack of eats last week as blogging is not supposed to be stressful, but rather, I should be able to write as I have the time to so that it can be relaxing πŸ˜€

So with all that said and done, I will have quite the photodump display for you to oooo and awwwww at today in addition to today’s noms πŸ˜€ Kapeesh?

Peas and CrayonsAhh the falling into good habits theme has arrived. Always a good one. What habits do you want to work on or create this fall? Some of mine, or more so fall goals I suppose, include:

  • Drinking more water. Get into the habit of having my water bottle glued to my hand.
  • Continuing to work on my nutrition with my coach.
  • Trying to get more sleep…yeah this one always fails for me but it can be a work in progress. Get into the habit of setting a time for Entourage and then a time for bed and sticking to it!

Check out Miss Jen’s WIAW post this week and all the other partiers for a showcase of their nomful habits here.

So today is a rest day for me as I had to train a client at 9AM-10AM and then I have to work at GoodnessMe! a lil later than normal to cover the Lifewatchers course.

So I woke myself up with my typical rest day ZOATS. Still lovin the greens in my oats πŸ˜€

Chocolate whey oats with grated zucchini, chia seeds, almond milk and cinnamon. Egg whites stirred in half way through cooking. Topped with melted bloobs, cacao nibs, coconut oil and two types of nut butta (Marantha roasted almond and my chocolate nuts n'more peanut butter)

Chocolate whey oats with grated zucchini, chia seeds, almond milk and cinnamon. Egg whites stirred in half way through cooking. Topped with melted bloobs, cacao nibs, coconut oil and two types of nut butta (Marantha roasted almond and my chocolate nuts n’more peanut butter)

Before I ran off to train my client I scarfed down my morning snackie which was yet another one of my lovely snack plates of goodness

Leftover mahi mahi and grilled spicy chicken, roasted broccoli and kabocha squash and one of my Candyfit muffins.

Leftover mahi mahi and grilled spicy chicken, roasted broccoli and kabocha squash and one of my Candyfit muffins.

Random throw together plates are always a good idea in my mind. πŸ˜€ After my client I came home, showered and then proceeded to chow down on my current favourite rest-day lunchTACOs!

2 Ezekiel corn tortillas stuffed with sauteed mushrooms and onion, grilled spicy chicken, spinach, avocado and mustard. Side of sauteed spinach, kale, asparagus, onion and zucchini in my favourite spice blend.

2 Ezekiel corn tortillas stuffed with sauteed mushrooms and onion, grilled spicy chicken, spinach, avocado and mustard. Side of sauteed spinach, kale, asparagus, onion and zucchini in my favourite spice blend.

I make sure I can have something like this when I’m not working during lunch as they are my favourite thing to enjoy. I just love wraps! Anyone else fall in the same boat? They have to be soft wraps though, I don’t like hard tacos.

My snackie at work is actually eaten from a baggy with great class BUT this is what it looks like

IMG_3078Apparently my so-called childhood hatred for pumpkin is no more as I have been adding punkin puree to my lil mug cakes when I’m on the go during snack time and they are quite yummy. If I’m at home, another random snack plate is often nommed on as I’m trying to stick to whole foods as much as possible and less so on whey.

The best version I have come up with for this lil guy is as follows..

In a cup or bowl combine:

  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1 tbsp almond flour
  • 3 tbsp pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey
  • 2 tsp Barlean’s Omega Swirl oil OR use 1 tsp oil of choice
  • 2 tbsp liquid egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Once mixed, pour into a sprayed ramekin and bake for 20ish minutes at 350 or until the top is set and the cake is starting to pull away from the sides of the cup. OR nuke for 2-2.5 minutes. If you are microwaving, make sure it doesn’t overflow. You may need to pause the microwave for a second, allow it to sink a bit and then continue.

Dinner was eaten at work and was one of my new found favourite bowls of stuff…which, literally, is a “throw random stuff into a bowl and call it a salad” type of meal.

Do I know how to salad or what? Lettuce pleaazzzz

Do I know how to salad or what? Lettuce pleaazzzz

Okay so here is the breakdown of this beast

Base of:

  • Raw spinach
  • Raw kale leaves
  • Cucumber
  • Red pepper

Second layer consists of:

  • Super ripe avocado
  • Cooked bulgar (just in water)
  • Grilled spicy chicken chunks

Third layer is a sautee of:

  • Onion
  • Kale stems and some leaves
  • Broccoli florets
  • Mushrooms
  • Zucchini
  • Few large shrimpies
  • Curry powder
  • Chili powder

You may think it’s super strange to top a salad with something hot, let alone a sautee BUT I love topping my salads with hot things as it wilts and combines everything together. ALSO, the sautee creates a lovely dressing all on it’s own if you leave it slightly runnier than normal. Mmmm curry. πŸ˜€

So there you have it…all of the layers of my salad. So good!

Do you like hot components in a salad?

So that ends off my day of noms (with the exception of my nightly puddin deliciousness and 1/2 a baked Questie, but you have seen enough of those), BUT before I leave you all, I will share some recent eats as well…Starting with my cheat meal of this week

IMG_3082THE KEG! YUM! My parents treated my boyfriend and I to this lovely dinner. I got the filet mignon (sans bacon) with the oscar topping (shrimp and scallops) with a side salad and veggies. Super yum.

Other dinners were the usual bowls of stuff

Baked spicy basa topped with avocado. Black rice. Sautee of chili flakes, red peppers, zucchini, onion, mushroom and calamari

Baked spicy basa topped with avocado. Black rice. Sautee of chili flakes, red peppers, zucchini, onion, mushroom and calamari

This was super good as I picked up some calamari that was on sale this week! I’m also lovin the Mediterranean style sautes in coconut oil and chili flakes (ie. the zucchini, mushroom, pepper and onion).

Leg day dinner of tuna, baked white fish, roasted green veggies and onion, black rice

Leg day dinner of tuna, baked white fish, roasted green veggies and onion, black rice

….And some dinners on plates consisting of the usual favourites:

Steak spiced Basa, greens saute and roasted kabocha and hubbert squash

Steak spiced Basa, swiss chard and mushroom saute and roasted kabocha and hubbert squash

Dinner on repeat but with my trout

Dinner on repeat but with my trout

Lovin me some Mahi Mahi

Lovin me some Mahi Mahi

Or even in a bowl with another salad beast creation.

IMG_3090Of course you cannot bear to go on without some proats action right?

Chocolate proats with a Candyfit muffin crumbled in, melty banana chunks, P28 banana raisin peanut butter spread and cashew butter

Chocolate proats with a Candyfit muffin crumbled in, melty banana chunks, P28 banana raisin peanut butter spread and cashew butter

Cookie dough proats with chocolate nuts n'more

Cookie dough and banana proats with chocolate nuts n’more

Appley proats with cashew butta

Peanut flour proats with sauteed apple chunks topped with cashew butta

Brownie and banana proats with chocolate nuts n'more

Brownie and banana proats with chocolate nuts n’more

And more crazy snack plates

roasted brussels, kabocha, broccoli, egg white cup (nuked with Ms. Dash extra spicy) and leftover chicken

roasted brussels, kabocha, broccoli, egg white cup (nuked with Ms. Dash extra spicy) and leftover chicken

IMG_2997

trees, kabocha, egg cup, left over fish and one of my Apple Cinnamon Goldenberry muffins

Those lil muffins will be shared soon I promise. They were tasty πŸ˜€

Nomz

See! Nomz

Last but not least, my out-to-eat meal of last week was my favourite meal in the Eaton CentreΒ courtesy of Fast and Fresh..

IMG_3016The ultimate in gourmet, custom made salads. SOOOO GOOD! Sundried tomatoes and sauteed mushrooms make my world go round. No bowls of lettuce here (although getting to have kale as a base now as pretty cool). This girl needs her toppins! πŸ˜‰

Happy Hump Day all!

What’s your favourite restaurant?

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

