Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

A Very Figgy Experiment

Leave a comment

Hey Friends,

Just droppin in for another quick recipe. This one was very much enjoyed by my boyfriend who is an avid fig lover. Now before I give up the goods, how did this pretty thang come about…?

IMG_2011

Yes, I made my boyfriend hold my precious over the balcony for better light…Thanks babe!

Well you see I really don’t like being deprived…..

She be naked!

She be naked!

….and deprived I felt during my studying period before my PT exam. You see, I quite enjoy baking and will do it as often as I can squeeze it into my schedule. Even if I don’t eat what I bake (weirdo I know) I still love the ability to bring to life some random creation that I envision in my mind on a daily basis. Now I said that I don’t always eat what I create…I just want to point out that this is not due to my recipes being filled with not-so-healthy things. No, no! I strive to create healthy and fresh goodies that should be enjoyed guilt free. That’s where all the fun is anyways right? Taking something that is not so great for the body and tweaking it in such a way that you keep that basic flavour while adding more nutrients to the overall product. If I can accomplish that, I will call it a success.

IMG_2001Anyways, back to my story…so after this 2 week long period of absolutely NO BAKING (insert mega sadface!) I went on a baking craze right after I completed my exam. Days upon days of baking went down in this kitchen (of course in and around work and such…hence the days part) and let me tell you, LOTS of stuff was then made and awaiting to be devoured. Amongst some more basic recipes (to be posted), this beauty was born:

IMG_2018I had really wanted to make a baked good with figs for a while now as they have been cheaper and lookin amazing for the past few weeks. So I set my brain wheels a turnin for how I would make a cake of some kind. In all honesty I was suuuper proud that this thing even worked out as I was really just wingin it and hoping for the best. The only thing I was going off was my boyfriend desire for something along the lines of a pineapple upside down cake. So I took the upsidedown cake part and ran with it…tossin in figs, tons of vanilla and a few dates along the way. After it was all done, the smile that appeared on my face when I popped her out of of my bundt pan and all my figs were still nicely in place was prolly massive and slightly crazy lookin. 😀

Hello my pretty purple figgies

Hello my pretty purple figgies

Even naked she was beautiful. Yes, proud mama I was! 😛 Of course I couldn’t leave her naked…I had to throw something on top for a glaze of some sorts…

IMG_2021…so I opted for something super simple and despite it not being translucent like a real glaze, it was still well received by my boyfriend.

IMG_2042

Super moist and teeming with figs and date chunks

So there you have it. The story of how my vision, which could have turned out horribly wrong, turned into something surprisingly yummy and beautiful to look at. Figs just make things look pretty in my eyes. Now, onto the recipe.

Vanilla Fig Upside-Down Cake with Vanilla Yogurt Glaze

IMG_1990Wet Ingredients:

1/3 cup mashed banana

1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1 whole egg

1/3 cup + 1/4 cup liquid egg whites

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 whole fresh figs

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 full droppers of vanilla creme liquid stevia

2 tbsp water or milk (if necessary)

Dry Ingredients:IMG_1991

1 + 3/4 cup oats (blended into a flour, measure first)

1/2 cup whole oats

1/4 cup coconut flour

2 tsp psyllium husk

1 tsp vanilla bean powder

1 tsp cinnamon

6 whole fresh figs

1/3 cup chopped, pitted dates

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • In a blender or food processor, puree all of the wet ingredients together. You will get a deliciously smelling purple liquid!
  • Combine all of the dry ingredients (except figs and dates) in a large bowl
  • Gently combine the wet with the dry, adding those extra tbsp of water/milk if your batter is too dry. **NOTE this will look like a lot of liquid but just wait for the amazing absorbancy power of the coconut flour and psyllium husk to start working their magic.
  • Chop 4 of your figs into bite sized pieces and fold those and the date chunks into the batter.
  • Slice the other two figs and place at the bottom of a well sprayed/greased pan in a nice pattern. I used a large bundt pan.
  • Carefully spoon your batter on top of the figs taking care to not shift them until all of your batter is used up. Smooth out the top so your batter is level all the way around.
  • Bake in the oven (tented with foil) until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out mostly clean (you want a little bit of moisture as you are using coconut flour and don’t want a dry cake) and the top is nice and golden brown. In my large bundt pan, the cake took about 40 minutes. You can take the tent off within the last 5-10 minutes of cooking if you wish to get that top more brown.
  • Let the cake cool in the pan.
  • When cooled, CAREFULLY flip onto a plate. I was nervous so I flipped it right on my hand so that it would release from the pan super slow as to not displace the figs.
  • Leave as is OR you can add a glaze like I did by mixing a few tablespoons of plain goat yogurt (or regular/greek yogurt), vanilla extract and a few tablespoons of milk (I used almond) until a glaze-like consistency.
  • I also then sprinkled the top with some vanilla bean powder just for that extra vanilla kick.

I really hope you enjoy this cake if you make it! The combination of figs and vanilla is simply a classic and smells AMAZING! Hot or cold, this cake can be enjoyed without any guilt as it is made from whole, fresh foods and contains some great nutrients as well:

Oats: Fiber, zinc, B vitamins (can use gluten free), selenium (antioxidant properties by assisting vitamin E), manganese (bone health, aids in absorption of biotin, choline, vitamin C, thiamine), magnesium, phosphorous

Coconut Flour: Very high in dietary fiber, manganese (bone health, aids in absorption of biotin, choline, vitamin C, thiamine), gluten-free, source of healthy saturated fats (lauric Acid)

Eggs: Protein, most of the fat soluble vitamins (E, A, D), vitamin B-12, choline (brain functioning), lutein (eye health), omega-3 fatty acids, zinc, etc etc

Figs: Fiber, potassium, calcium, manganese, vitamin B-6

Dates: Fiber, iron, potassium, calcium, manganese

Vanilla: small amounts of minerals (calcium, manganese, iron) and B vitamins

-Chelsea

 

Leave a Reply

