Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

My Meat!!!….WIAW

6 Comments

Mother Nature…you scaaaary!

Hey Friends,

This week I wanted to share a lil bit of my creative bulk cooking with ya along with my Tuesday noms. This bulk cooking was not by choice but really made me think about how to add some variety and different spices into my food in a short burst of cooking maddness. This cook-off was all led by a lovely monster storm that raged through Hamilton…amongst other areas…and ended up massacring quite a large number of trees in the area and leaving thousands of people in the dark for days. Despite being utterly frustrated at the lack of a speedy power fix, my boyfriend and I were lucky enough to be without power for only a day. I say lucky because there are STILL some people here in Hamilton without it. I really hope that Hamilton Hydro gets their act together and gets those lines fixed ASAP! So, again, why this crazed cooking? Well you see it was super hot that night of the storm and while it brought some relief outside, inside was another story. Our apartment sat at around 90 degrees all night which meant that not only did I get ZERO sleep (….and sweated my lil booty off) but our freezer completely thawed leaving me in a slight panic to save as much of my fish and meat as I could…about 100-150 bucks worth! The best option? Cook everything and freeze most of it once again. So before I show you my noms, here was what took up some of my time on Sunday and Monday.

Before I show you the goods, here’s was my checklist of things I had to cook:

  • 1lb Ground Lean Kangaroo Meat (yeah that ain’t going back I tell you!)
  • 1/2lb Ground lean Turkey Breast Meat (an amazing find at Whole Foods)
  • 1/2lb Extra Lean Organic Ground Beef
  • Whole package of fresh Shrimp
  • Bag of Large Scallops (obviously not letting those get thrown out either!)

The things that bit the dust and had to be thrown out. Everything here was already cooked and in the fridge.

  • A whole package of tilipia that I had just bought and cooked up a day or two before the storm. I was craving tiliapia so bad so this one hurt a lil
  • 2-3 grilled pesto chicken breasts. We had like 6 in the fridge and so I tried to eat as much as possible before having to toss’em.
  • 1/2 of my huge cooked steelhead trout fillet with my basil pesto and chili flakes. You better know that I was mad about this one. Ain’t no one messin with my trout! I did eat one piece for my snack though to mourn the loss…and hoped that I didn’t get sick… Gotta love high fat restdays. #Weirdsnacks.

Oh and before I get started I have to rant get something off my chest…How does anyone actually enjoy COLD overnight oats?!?!? Yes, I was forced to eat my prepped proats COLD on Saturday morning as we were still without power….

IMG_1712Ick. It gives me shivers just thinking about it. You all know that I love my oatmeal. I mean, my life is just not complete without my bowl of oaty goodness every morning BUT I have major issues with cold oatmeal. I CANNOT stand it. Oatmeal should be…in my books at least….pippin hot. Like I’m talking burn my face off hot. At least I tried to make myself feel better by adding my freshly made Homemade Nuttzo (recipe to come) on top…which I ended up saving till the end to hush the gagging that went on through this bowl. Even banana couldn’t have saved this bowl (I added a few tbsp of apple sauce due to it being a restday)! I know, it was that bad. Okay, rant over and hey, at least my Nuttzo was tasty….

Okay, back on topic, so bright and early Sunday morning (all before my 8:15am leave for the gym) I decided to tackle the shrimp and most of the ground meat

IMG_1717

Hello there lil shrimpies. I missed you guys in my life!

The shrimp got to take a quick bath in some boiling water to steam them before draining and then re-freezing. Next was the meat

IMG_1720

One for turkey…

I decided to try something new by adding shredded zucchini to my turkey burgers to give them some extra moisture. Also tossed in the bowl was finely chopped onion and garlic, chili powder, chili flakes, fennel seeds (whole), fresh cracked black pepper and a handful of freshly chopped basil. I actually had one of these burgers last night…

IMG_1752

Topped with my favourite go-to toppings: 1/4 ounce light goat cheese, basil pesto, spinach, sundried tomatoes, sauteed cremini mushrooms with onion, Tabasco and lots of mustard

…and it twas good!

For the beef I decided to stick with my classic favourite mix

IMG_1721  In the bowl went finely chopped onion and garlic, chopped sundried tomatoes, a few spoonfuls of basil pesto, chili powder, chili flakes and fresh cracked black pepper. The moisture for these burgers comes from the pesto addition.

Please excuse the horrible picture quality.

Please excuse the horrible picture quality.

My boyfriend really enjoyed this burger and I have one saved for my next rest day 🙂

After those were done I headed off to the gym for my workout. Before I left, I sat the scallops in a bowl with some napkins to dry them out a lil bit so that I could cook’em up for lunch.

My George Foreman does a terrible job at grilling scallops! Wheres the grill marks?

My George Foreman does a terrible job at grilling scallops! Wheres the grill marks?

The only good thing that came with the power outage/freezer thaw was that my boyfriend and I were forced to eat the scallops…I know, poor us 😉 My favourite seafood! Not shown was my roasted sweet tater bites on the side with Sriracha.

So that was Sunday. I left the Roo meat for Monday’s job as I had to run off to work after lunch. So here’s what went down with my prized kangaroo meat.

  1. Burgers were a must, so 1/2 a pound of the meat when into making 2 of those. I determined that I wanted to try something completely different and since I have been obsessed with curry powder lately, I decided to do Tandoori spiced Roo burgers.

IMG_1753In the bowl went the roo meat, chopped spinach, diced onion and garlic, chili powder, chili flakes, coriander seeds (whole), ground ginger, a good shake of curry powder, paprika and a whole lotta tandoori masala powder. I also threw in 2 tbsp of goat’s yogurt for some moisture and added Indian flavour.

IMG_1758Binded pretty well I would say…

IMG_1762The finished product. OMG they smelled amaze-ballz! I cannot wait to try them out. I’m thinking I will make a date night dinner out of them with Andre and try them out true Indian style. Sorta like this:

…but I will probably have it on a lettuce or swiss chard ‘bun’ and will make the mint yogurt sauce using goats yogurt rather than greek for my lactose intolerant tummy. Yum!

…So I still had 1/2 a lb of meat to use up and despite really wanting to make sweet potato tacos/nachos out of some of it, I would prefer to have that when I can cook the meat right then a there. So instead I decided to whip up a curry spice infused kale saute for my dinner at work today and another taco spiced saute for another day. So here was the process of the first saute

IMG_1755I heated up 1/2 a tsp of coconut oil and tossed in chopped garlic, onions and the kale stems. Let those cook until the onions are nice and caramelized. I then added the roo meat and let that cook up mostly before adding some diced cremini mushrooms.

IMG_1756Then I threw in about 2 cups of chopped black tuscan kale, chili flakes, chili powder and a good shake of curry powder with a few tbsp of water and let that simmer with a lid on it until the kale was wilted and the meat was for sure cooked through.

IMG_1767Tossed it in a container with some roasted rosemary kabocha and called it tomorrows today’s dinna for worky. It’s gunna be yummers!

The second saute process was fairly similar but the spices changed and the kale got swapped out for some diced zucchini….

IMG_1763Caramelize onions and garlic in 1/2 tsp of coconut oil. Throw in roo meat and let that cook for a minute or two before adding diced cremini mushrooms, diced zucchini, chili flakes, chili powder and a few large shakes of my homemade (salt-free) taco seasoning.

IMG_1764Let simmer with a lil bit of water and a lid and then you are dunzo! Not sure what I’m going to eat this with yet, but I will think of something. 🙂

Phew! So that was my protein foodprep/kitchen craziness in a couple snaps. I’m super excited to try out the kangaroo meat tonight! I get excited about the weirdest things…Foodie problems.

Now onto the real show with my Tuesday noms! Hosted by the one and only Mrs. Jen (and mini pea) over at Peas and Crayons

Peas and Crayons

So my morning started off as usual with a big bowl of beautiful, carbolicious, voluminous PROATS BUUUTT before I show ya the picture I need to show you these babies that showed up on my doorstep yesterday…

Hello my name is Chelsea and I'm addicted to Questbars...

Hello my name is Chelsea and I’m addicted to Questbars…

Questbars!! 😀 You really can never have enough of these wonderful bars I swear…or is that my addiction talking. Anywho, this is their brand spankin new flavour flav, white chocolate raspberry, that I ordered a lil while ago and let me tell you guys, it was super good in a tangy kinda way. I was super excited to try’em out so I ripped open a package that night to have a piece with my normal peanut butter chocolate ON casein pudding.

1/3 of a bar baked to perfection.

1/3 of a bar baked to perfection.

Cookies before bed anyone? I decided to bake this piece for my first official taste test and like I said it was super yummy. The raspberries really add a nice tang that I haven’t experienced with any of the other flavours yet. I have to try it raw though because I think the baking caused the white chocolate flavour to get a lil lost…or I just have no idea what white chocolate tastes like as I have actually never tasted it before. Childhood allergy problemz….

So back to those proats….because I was so happy to receive my shipment of lovelies that I threw them into my pre-workout proats:

IMG_1769Half baked is the way I have been rollin with my Questbars as of late. Yum. You may have also noticed that I paired my white chocolate raspberry with bananaWeird combo? Maybe, but I just like bananas and that’s all the fruit we have in this house other than unsweetened apple sauce. Besides, it was delish!

I hit up the gym for my shoulder sesh and immediately following that 2 hours stuffed my face with my normal (now chocolate) protein muffin...

IMG_1790….and two more (I take two pre-workout too) horsepills BCAAs

After coming home, showering and tinkerin around on the internet for a wee bit it was time for lunch….

IMG_1130the usual (and a re-used pic). Yeah I’m not too exciting with my post-post workout noms. Sorry..if it fits your macros….I digress.

A few hours later I was off to work for a closing shift where I got the pleasure of helping out a friend of mine who frequents my gym. I have to say that I’m kinda impressed with the fact that he trusts my opinion on what things should be deemed healthy as I’m fully running off personal experience and tidbits of info I pick up from reading things here and there. But hey, to be honest, I think I know what I’m talking about…at least a lil bit 😉 Anyways, he had recently seen a naturopathic doctor regarding digestive/gut issues and came into the store with a list of food items she had advised him to check out. Due to being a lil hesitant he trusted in lil ol’ me to help him out. Apparently I sold him on some of these products as he will be returning to our store today with his shopping bag. 😀 Props to Lil Miss Fitness Freak for helping a friend on his journey to a healthier self!

Before all that happened I munched on my shnackie

IMG_1774My usual fish oil protein muffin BUT I used almond flour rather than coconut flour. I always find it interesting how these different gluten-free wholefood flours react when baking. Th different varieties tend to give a slightly different consistency to your goodies which is why baking gluten-free can be a challenge sometimes. For example, this is my muffin with coconut flour:

IMG_1688

Excuse the fact that I clearly cannot mix batter properly. Hello clump of coconut flour…

Cakey, dense and overall, smooth. I really like the texture that coconut flour gives to my muffins and a lil bit (1 tbsp) goes a long way! On the other hand, here’s what the almond flour looked like in my muffin keeping all the other ingredients the same:

IMG_1775Still relatively dense, more moist (from the higher oil concentration perhaps?) and more chewy. I could definitely tell the difference between the two but I quite enjoy either flours.

Dinner was also eaten at work and that was the picture you saw earlier of the Roo-kale saute with roasted kabocha:

IMG_1765The kangaroo was really yummy! I’m so happy I bought some to try out as I would definitely eat it again. Addicted to game meats much. 😀 One of my co-workers asked me if it tasted ‘gamey‘ and I had no idea how to respond. From my experience, which only includes trying a few exotic meats (bison, moose, and now roo), all I taste is yummy. No sourness or tang or whatever gamey refers to. Perhaps ‘richer’ could be a word I might use (for bison especially) but to be honest, they taste a lot like really lean beef to me. One exception is bison….bison is da bomb (ie. better than beef IMO). My thoughts might change when I try venison though as I have heard that it is very ‘gamey.’ We shall see.

To cap off my night, I always end on a good note with a lil something to finish off my macros for the day. My beloved Peanut Butter Chocolate Optimum Nutrition Casein (turned into a pudding using unsweetened almond milk) with a 1.5 tbsp of my homemade crunchy peanut butta (only good thing about these recent calorie increases) and a 1/3 of a peanut butter chocolate Questbar, baked.

IMG_1583Alrighty, well that was a suuuuper long post but hey I had lots to share food wise. I hope you enjoyed a look into my very roo-tastic WIAW this week and have a great rest of your humpity-hump day. 😀

Do you like exotic meats? Favourite ways to cook them? As you already heard, bison is my go to right now

Favourite thing you ate today? That would have to be my Banana Chocolate ‘Chip’ Baked Oatmeal Cake I had this morning for my pre-workout breaky. Check it out!

Sneak peak

Sneak peak

Recipe to come I promise!

Keep on nommin’

-Chelsea

6 thoughts on “My Meat!!!….WIAW

  1. Haha, I’m not a cold oatmeal fan either even though I love love love it hot hot hot!

    • I thought I was the only one who hated it cold! It’s surprising because I love everything oatmeal (pancakes, proats, baked oatmeal) just if you give a cold bowl to me I will pass it along LOL

  2. I once had a bison burger – gotta say, it was pretty damn delicious!

    Best thing I ate today – lol….
    A whole foods frozen vegan veggie pizza topped with sliced turkey and A LOT of brie cheese…
    so essentially i really de-veganized the sh*t out of that pizza…
    haha

    • Hey Thanks for stopping in to read my post! OMG bison is my fav! I had it once at an amazing burger joint here in Hamilton and now I can’t get enough..when I can afford it lol.

      Although I’m not much of a brie fan, I’m definitely one to add a crapload of stuff onto pizzas. Pizza without lots of goat cheese, protein and veggies is just not a pizza in my eyes 😀 haha

  3. Nice job on all the food prep, very impressive creations. And I didn’t know kangaroo was available outside of australia! It is gamey, but damn, its tasty!

    • Thanks, I wish I had more time to be creative but I did what I could! And yes I was super excited when I found it…had to have it 😉 and I still have yet to figure out what gamey tastes like haha but I like the roo meat!

Leave a Reply

