Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

A Lil Fun Times Survey

Leave a comment

Hey Friends!

I recently came across this survey on Natalie’s blog (liftsleepeat) and I thought it sounded like a super fun thing to fill out PLUS it means I get to share even more about Lil Miss Fitness Freak. So what did I do? I stole it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks Natalie for giving me something to do in my spare time!

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

This morning was a training morning. Woo for my Back workout! ๐Ÿ˜€ So it was proats time. This one was my normal egg white proats with the added chia seeds and lucuma powder and topped with almost 1/2 of a nanner, 1/2 a PB&J Questbar and 1/2tbsp of my homemade crunchy peanut butta. Yum.

PB and J chunks, banana and a lil ol'blob of my crunchy PB. Peanut Butta-licious!

PB and J chunks, banana and a lil ol’blob of my crunchy PB. Peanut Butta-licious!

2. How much water do you drink a day?ย 
Not enough I’m afraid. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have tried really hard to drink more but its tough. I have been more thirsty recently though. Perhaps one of my new supplements is causing that. Anyways, I always bring my water bottle to work and I’m trying to drink one of those bottles. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t, but hey, I’m trying. My stomach is very sensitive to water and liquids in general so I can never drink too much in one go without getting bloated, slooshy and nauseated almost instantly. Sigh. I don’t know how some people drink those 2 gallons a day. I wish.

3. What is your current favorite workout?
Overall I work with weights and weights only. Strength baby! As for a particular workout….Hmmmm that’s a toughie. I have always loved working out my back butttt chest is starting to catch up as my top muscle group to train. This is probably because I have seen some major gains in strength for my main lifts during these sessions. Chesticles anyone?

4. How many calories do you eat a day?
This I will not post simply because I’m working at a slow increase at the moment so it will be constantly changing. I have been continuously leaning out more and more and thus need to take action now to ensure that my muscle mass stays put…better yet, grows more! So I’m hoping the extra calories will help my body do what it needs to do to fill out those muscles so I’m not lookin so flat.

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

My snacks are always the same lol. They fit into my macros well and give me the protein boost I need every few hours. My favourite one would obviusly have to be my casein puddin, which I have every single night without fail (except on cheat nights)

1/4 of a Quest bar comes in only if my carbs were short that day...generally rest days

1/4 of a Quest bar comes in only if my carbs were short that day…generally rest days

I also do really like my afternoon snack. My lil VERY FUDGEY protein mugcake made with my Barlean’s fish oils. This one is 3/4 of a scoop Swiss Chocolate New Zealand Probiotic Whey, 1 tbsp oats, 1 tbsp of coconut flour (sometimes left out, again if more carbs/fat needed), 2 tsp Barlean’s Omega Swirl oil, 2 tbsp liqiud egg white, 2 tbsp of unsweetened almond milk and about 2-3 tbsp of water + cinnamon to taste. Mix everything in a mug and microwave for about 1:30mins or until it’s dry enough to plop out of your mug.

IMG_1469

IMG_1471 I love my protein powder find. See how fudgey it is and this one didin’t even have any oil!

…..mmmm Fudgey ๐Ÿ˜€

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?ย 
Depends on the day, whether it’s a training day or an off/rest day. On my training days, my lunch is my post-post workout meal and tends to look like this

IMG_1130Baked chicken breast with roasted green veggies and Japanese sweet potatoes. On rest days I tend to make something that is easy to hide in an apron and eat inconspicuously as I’m generally at work. Recently I have been making wraps or quesadillas with Ezekiel wraps.

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?
See question 3. Love’em pullups ๐Ÿ˜€

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

9. What are your โ€œbadโ€ food cravings?ย 
Cold treats for sure! I save these for my cheat days once a week. I have never really been a dessert or ‘junk food’ person so I will easily pass up cake, cookies, chips, etc but ice cream has become a favourite of mine.

Pretty sure I mmmm'ed and ahhhh'ed all the way through this...peanut butter dreamin'

Peanut Butter Chocolate Swirl Coconut Dream ice cream with various peanut buttas and a Quest Craving cup

Pistachio gelato always steals my heart

Pistachio gelato always steals my heart

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?
Yuppers! I work at a supplement store soooo ya know that was gunna be my answer. My daily stack, if you wanna call it that would be 2 calcium tablets (one following breakfast, one following dinner or PM snack if I’m working), 2 tsp of fish oils in my PM snack, 1 probiotic capsule with breakfast and spirulina throughout the day. The spirulina is for helping to alkalize my body after my high protein consumption. Oh such a carnivore I am. On training days I also supplement with BCAAs (2 horsepills before training and two with my post-workout muffin). Whey and casein protein are also used every single day, so if you call those supplements, add those to my book too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have been told that my calcium should be taken with magnesium so that I’m balancing out contraction vs. relaxation of the muscles so I’m thinking about swapping my calcium out for a CalMeg soon. The dose of magnesium is also supposed to help you sleep like a baby so that’s an extra perk!

11. How often do you eat out?
Generally one a week for my cheat meal. For food, my favourite is Thai and for my normal cheats you will find my lil self face planting into something cold and delicious at an ice cream shop

Gelato is just a beautiful site

13. Who is your biggest supporter?ย 
Supporter for what exactly? I would say my boyfriend supports me in a number of ways and so do my parents. Yes I’m 22 years old and I still have a solid relationship with my mom and dad. Some may say that is weird, others, including myself, would say that’s lucky.

14. Do you have a gym membership?ย 
“Yup, couldnโ€™t live without it, major gym addict.” This I left from Natalie’s version as I would say the exact same thing. Gym rat over here ๐Ÿ˜€

16. Do you have a โ€œcheatโ€ day?
Yes I do. I truly love my food but I’m also human and get cravings for some not so healthy (read: processed and sugar-laden) treats. Therefore I have one day a week where I get a meal of whatever I want, which is generally something cold like this beauty I had last night:

IMG_1536

First time at Coldstone Creamery but definitely won’t be my last!

This was peanut butter ice-cream combined with cookie dough bits and reese’s peanut butter cups. OMG heavenly. Foodgasm. Mouthgasm. Ok I will stop now. Of course this came first to to not only get my greens in, but also to buffer my body a lil bit from the sugar hit I was about to experience.

IMG_1534

Salad at home filled with raw and roasted veggies, greens and Steelhead trout.

Of course due to not eating much sugar (even from natural sources) on the daily, about an hour after that ice cream beauty I was falling asleep on the couch. Hello sugar crash. Oh well I loved the ice cream and will have it again for sure.

One reason I believe in cheat meals is because I have a ‘fear’ of a lot of foods and experience an abnormal amount of anxiety following them. Take last night for example I had the anxiety breathing issues going on afterwards despite enjoying every last bite of that treat. This is something I need to fight against and thus I will continue to have my cheat meals. Also, I don’t like the IIFYM approach simply because normally these types of foods don’t agree with me. For example, I’m lactose intolerant, so to have my treat I have to pop multiple lactaids and digestive enzymes to help me out a lil bit. I am still a lil bloated the next day, but after that, it’s out of my system. If I tried to incorporate these things into my diet more I would always be feeling heavy, bloated and just like I’m not working towards my goals as those foods I enjoy for my cheats really won’t help me build muscle.

17. Do you drink alcohol?ย 
Not really. I can’t remember the last time I had alcohol to be honest. Alcohol is just an antagonist for so many health and fitness related things that I just avoid it. It’s okay though because I don’t really enjoy it or crave it anyways. Feeling slow and fumbly the day after? Ain’t nobody got time for that!

18. Do you have a workout buddy?
No I’m a lone wolf-ess in the gym and I like it that way….except when I need a spotter. This has been much more of a problem recently as I need a lot of spots during my workouts now that I’m lifting super heavy. Although there are trainers around most of the time, the other times I’m thankful that my ‘mornin crew‘ can help a lil one out.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?
Wow such a loaded question. So many good things! As for the best thing, hmmmmm. Maybe I could say that since I started lifting my confidence has sky rocketed not just from an aesthetic point of view but in regards to feeling like I have the ability to accomplish what I set out to do. Training really helps you both physically and mentally.

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

Ate a dinner full of omega fatty acids and greens. ๐Ÿ˜€ Something similar to this picture except the trout had no walnuts. I just love fish and now that my calories are increasing, so are my fats which means that I can sneak in my trout on a training day. Score!

IMG_1351Your turn….

Do you like working with a training partner? Alone?

Best thing that has changed in your life after beginning your healthy lifestyle journey?

Favourite body part to train? OR favourite workout?

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

