Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

WIAW…It’s Ma Birfday

4 Comments

Hey Friends πŸ˜€

Guess what!?!? Today I turn 22 :-O OMG I feel sooooo….not different. LOL. Does everyone feel that way? I think after those milestone birthdays (16, 18, 21 for my USA friends) you just don’t really feel anything special with birthdays anymore. I mean, when you think about it, nothing really changes as you age another year after those right? Anyways, what I do know about birthdays is that they bring an excuse to have lotsa family and friend time PLUS nom on some goooood eat’ins. πŸ˜‰

So my birthday is actually today (July 3rd), but due to the fact that it’s midweek, my family and I decided to have a nice lil celebration at home on Sunday (June 30) instead so that everyone could see the birfday girl.Β  So what did this girl do on her big day? Well, nothing too crazy, but quiet days are amazing and totally required when the rest of your life is always sooo busy! So here’s my WIAW and a recap of my birthday. Oh and don’t forget to check out all the other parter’s noms over at Miss Jen’s page Peas and Crayons

66fb0-wiawsensiblesnackingbuttonI started my day off as I normally would (birthday or not) with pre-workout proats and a nice 2 hour date with the gym. I just love lifting! πŸ˜€ For my breakies (and most of the rest of my meals that were to be eaten at home), I did a lil preppin before hand. I made sure to portion out my oats and chia seeds from Hamilton so that I could just dump them into a bowl rather than carting my chia seeds home with me too…I had enough food coming home with me to sink a small ship…Yeah, anyways, despite always bringing some things home, one thing I didn’t need to pack was quest bars. I have recently gotten my dad hooked on these babies so I had the pleasure of stealing one of his Cookie Dough Quest bars for the making of my absolute favourite proats concoction. Hehe, such a good daughter I am.

It looks very picturesque for some reason. Good lighting in Georgetown

It looks very picturesque for some reason. Good lighting in Georgetown

To make this bowl: The night before, combine just under a 1/2 cup of oats (1/3 cup +1tbsp…baby steps with this increase thing remember!), 1/3 scoop Swiss Chocolate New Zealand Whey, 1 tsp chia seeds, cinnamon, 1/3 cup of unsweetened almond milk and 1/3 cup of water. This is your base for this beautiful bowl of proats. In the morning, I add a tbsp or two of water, a thin slice or two of my nanner (can’t give up much more than that, I want as many chunks of banana as possible) then nuke for 2:30 minutes. Then 1/4 cup of egg whites gets thrown in and madly stirred. Nuke for another 45 seconds. Take out, stir in my 1/4 tsp Lucuma powder (this and Maca are new superfood additions to all my oatmeal bowls) and a wee bit more water. Top with 1/3 of a nanner (so a total of just under a half a banana) and 1/2 a cut up quest bar and nuke again for 30-40 seconds. Take out for the last time to smoosh it all up (chunky banana=love), distribute the cookie dough pieces and top with 2 tsp of my crunchy peanut butta. HEAVEN IN MY MOUTH!

After letting this sit for about 40ish minutes, I drove my lil tushie to the gym for my back workout. It’s always such a weird feeling to not ride my bike! In the midst of this, my lil protein muffin was scarfed down in the change room in addition to two of my horsepills BCAA’s (two are also taken pre-workout). Do you know how embarrassing it is to try to swallow pills in public when you suck at this action?

Recycled pictorial..

Recycled pictorial..

After driving myself back home, I chattered with my dad who had just woken up, paroozed around on fb and IG for a lil bit and then began to prep my lunch.Β  Yes, I’m always eating

Again with this beautiful lighting! Oh and nicer plates...

Again with this beautiful lighting! Oh and nicer plates…

Excuse my photographer fail with my thumb making an appearance. You have seen this before as it’s my typical…favourite… post-post workout meal. Baked basil pesto chicken breast with chili flakes served with roasted green veggies (this time brussels and asparagus) and Japanese purple sweet taters. Unfortunately for me, being at home means no rooster sauce (ie. Srirachi) and despite trying to add Tabasco on them taters, it just isn’t the same. Oh well, my body is better off without the sodium kick right? Psshhhh it will be back tomorrow. πŸ˜‰

After lunch I decided to walk my way to Metro to pick up some groceries as I had yet to restock for the week and stores would be closed the next day for Canada Day. I was super surprised to find that they not only sold kabocha but also my purple sweet taters! I have never seen those in any other grocery store but Whole Foods. Exciting right? Probably not…Anyways, I also picked up some lovely white asparagus and rainbow carrots to enjoy out of a container at work throughout the week for dinna.

Around 3:30 was when my Grandparents starting arriving and also when this guy showed up to the partay

Dont we take beautiful selfies..

Dont we take beautiful selfies..

Our party consisted of my Nana and Papa, Grandma and Grandpa, my parents and Andre. Big party eh? It was all good though, we chattered, got all caught up, relaxed and then I got to open pressies. Did I totally forget to get pictures of those? Opps… Well, what I can say is that my parents are great at knowing what essential’s I am bound to be running out of so all of my gifts will be put to good use! One shout out present though was a new fresh pair of workout gloves that I sooo desperately needed as my Diva gloves are really lookin sad these days. Oh andΒ  they are pink. Nuff said.

After all our shmoozin it was time for noms! Woo. Since it’s supposed to be summer, my parents set up a nice big feast of BBQ’ed goodness for us all to dig into in addition to some dishes made by my grandparents. Here’s what showed up on the dinna table:

IMG_1476What was left of the BBQ meats after the stampede….Hot Sicilian sausage, hotdogs, The Keg prime rib beef burgers and a piece of chicken (with my basil pesto of course) for this lil one.

IMG_1475All the fixins for the burgers and dogs plus a lil corn on the cob.

IMG_1477My mom‘s fresh and chilled bowtie pasta salad. This one is super easy to make! Just mix cooked whole wheat bowtie pasta and some chopped veggies of your choice (we threw in grape tomatoes and tri-colour peppers) with Italian Dressing and a lil hot sauce. You can also garnish with some grated Parmesan cheese like we did to make it look pretty.

IMG_1478Annnd finally my Nana’s infamous potato salad in the front and my Grandma’s garden salad in the back. I really liked the addition of the broccoli florets and bean sprouts to her salad. Gave it a nice crunch!

So what did I load my plate up with….

IMG_1479LOL! Yes, despite there being a lot of food there I had my eye on something else for dessert so I was saving for that. This was still super fresh and tasty though! Big ol’salad topped with chili flakes, balsamic and ACV with that BBQ chicken breast. Super yum and left me with lotsa room for my ‘cake.’ Hey it’s my cheat day birthday, I can eat how I wanna! πŸ˜‰

After dins, it was time for some sing-song …

Wishin on a candle..or two

Wishin on a candle..or two

Check out this beautiful cake that my parents bought me for the sole purpose of me being able to blow out the candles

IMG_1481So pretty! My mom based everything from my presents to the table decor on this cake. Daisies everywhere! I loved it. So summery and pink. πŸ˜€ The cake itself was strawberry shortcake and everyone thought it was delish. Yes, you read that right, I did not eat my own cake…but wait for it, my ‘cake’ is coming up soon. Although, to prevent the lip my mom would give me if I didn’t even try it I had a lil taste. Don’t judge me, I’m just not a cake person. It never strikes me as drool worthy or cheat worthy for that matter. On the other hand, what did make me swoon was ‘my cake’

IMG_1488Yes my parents love me and know what makes this lil girl a happy camper! That there my friends is some pretty authentic pistachio gelato and I enjoyed every last bite of that lil cup. Seriously though, that small cup may have been too small for my liking…portion control Chelsea, portion control! πŸ˜‰ Anyways some serious mmmmms and aahhhs were heard all the way through that foodgasm.

After a lil bit more time with the famjam, it was time for my Grandparents to make their way back home and time for this birthday girl…well almost birthday girl at that point…to get her snooze on! A couple of days of 6 hours of sleep will do that to you. I had an amazing birthday overall. Nice and relaxing with some good noms, an amazing dessert and some good ol’family bonding time.

Oh and looky here! One of my many orders decided to come in and surprise me for my birthday morning:

NuttzoI have been seeing Nuttzo everywhere and really wanting to give it a try. I know I’m straying away from my crunchy peanut butta. :-O Shocking! But this stuff has all good stats so it’s worthy of snagging a a spot on my oatmeal. Nuttzo is a blend of several different nuts including peanuts, cashews, almonds, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, sunflower seeds and flax seeds. This not only makes quite a blend of flavours (which I hope is super yummy!) it also makes this particular butter a great source of ALA Omega 3 fatty acids! Remember my brief post on Omegas? We tend to be off balance when it comes to Omega-6 vs. Omega-3. So this butter is great as it offers you the Omega-3 EFA which most people are lacking. Awesome-sauce. Not to mention, it’s all organic to boot. I also tend to buy an extract in all my Netrition orders, so this time it was butterscotch. Despite it being all sealed off, I could smell it from inside the box even before unwrapping it ha!

So that was my lil recap of my pre-birthday celebration and noms. As for my actual birthday (today), I’m not 100% sure whats going on although Andre is home (YES!) to spend some quality time with me, so that makes me a happy girl.

Have a great hump day and a Happy 4th of July to all my American friends tomorrow!

Favourite part about birthdays? I would say its the family time as I don’t get to see my family as much as I would like

Ever tried Nuttzo? What did you think?

Are you a cake person? No, I like my cold desserts much better. I have never tried ice-cream cake though …maybe that would be better…?

-Chelsea

Peas and Crayons

4 thoughts on “WIAW…It’s Ma Birfday

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ My birthday was last week and I have to agree with you, DONT feel all that much different! Everything over 21 doesn’t matter anymore, LOL!!! These are not the years where you say age is just a number! LOL! But whatever enjoy your day and your long weekend!

  2. I decorated cakes for a long time, so my family is kind of tired of them. For my husband’s birthday last week, he requested an ice cream cake from Dairy Queen. πŸ™‚ They are my favorites!
    Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

