Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

The WIAW of a Carb Monsta

2 Comments

Hey Friends,

For this weeks WIAW I decided to show you a day in the life of Lil Miss Fitness Freak on her high carb day. I promise to do a post on my eating plan soon, but for the purposes of this post I will give a brief intro to the madness that is my diet. Okay, it’s not too crazy and I actually enjoy eating this way unlike a lot of other carb cyclers appear to. So, as I alluded to, I carb-cycle. This means that I have less carbohydrates on some days, while having more on others. In particular, I tend to decrease my carbs on my rest days (and increasing my fats), while increasing them on my training days. On my leg day, which is the most draining workout of the week, my carbs go even higher to feed me as much energy as possible so that I don’t end up like a zombie post-workout. Been there, done that. I know all of those keto-believers out there will tell me that carbs are not necessary for keeping my brain and body energized, but I have found that having the more carbs on this day keeps me from wanting to sleep all day long. To each’s their own.

Despite this working better for my body, I don’t particularly like high carb day, with the exception of one meal (can you guess what that is?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) because I find carbs to be very heavy. To deal with this, my meals are kept as simple as possible so that I can get what I need and avoid the “carb bloat” that I dislike. One thing that also goes along with high carb day is a reduction in fats. Now, FOR THE RECORD this does not mean no fats! NO! This just means that in order to keep my calories for the day the same, I have to decrease another macronutrient. Protein reduction is a big no-no, so that leaves me with fats. This also makes sense because fats, like carbs, are used as an energy source for the body. They keep ya going for the long term. So because you have two sources of energy here, it’s generally one or the other that will be high. I do still have plenty of fats on that day not to worry! Sadly though, my peanut butta is lower than my liking that day….

Anyways, now that you have the gist of what I meant by high carb day, lets get started shall we. Thanks again to Miss Jen over at Peas and Crayons for hosting our weekly nom part-ay!

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast:

This is my favourite as you probably already know and it’s almost ALWAYS some version of my proats. Before I kill my legs I carb it up by adding a wee bit more carbs to my oatmeal, while decreasing the fat a lil bit. Sadface, that means only 1/2 a tbsp of peanut butta. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So how do I carb it up even more? Well I could add more forms of natural quick sugars like raisins, which was what I doing for my sugar loading experiment that I mentioned in my recent Fitness Friday post. These past two weeks though, I went back to doing my normal sugar levels and just adding a lil bit more banana and a quest bar to get those carbs in.

I still get a lil peanut butta...my other love

I still get a lil peanut butta…my other love

So I made my normal egg white proats with a lil less than 1/2 a banana (tiny piece cooked in, with the rest slice and then broken into ooey-gooey chunks..mmmm), 1/2 a banana nut Quest bar (my favsies other than the cookie dough), 1/2 tsp of lucuma powder (superfood) and my 1/2 tbsp of crunchy peanut butter. You like my carbs? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I then proceeded to head to the gym and demolish my legs despite being rather exhausted that fine morning. Before my last set I scarfed down my lil protein muffin because I can’t seem to make it through a workout these days without eating before I’m done.

AM Snack/Postworkout

IMG_1239After my lil snack, I powered through the last exercise combo that I needed to do then went to stretch and play on the foam roller. Leg days are always super long because not only does the workout itself take longer, but I know that I have to stretch everything all out after legs or I will really be sorry the next day. Of course, that doesn’t mean DOMS doesn’t exist in my life…3 days later, my legs feel normal again.

Lunch comes pretty quick after that workout and guess what I got my regular bright orange sweet taters this week because I didn’t sugar load! ๐Ÿ˜€

Lunch

Green and Orange love

Green and Orange love

First course (yes I eat in pieces often because I like my food hot hot hot!) baked basil pesto chicken with chili flakes along side roasted brussels and broccoli. Second course was a mix of regular and japanese sweet taters all roasted up and served with some sriracha. Spicy lovin.

After that deliciousness I rode my sore lil bottom to work for 1pm. It’s a short ride (maybe 10-15 minutes tops) but riding a bike after leg day is seriously a crime. At work my lil fish oil protein mugcake goes in the apron to eat at my 3:30 PM snack time inconspicuously…

PM Snack

IMG_1128Always does the trick ๐Ÿ˜‰ After my snacky, the work day goes pretty quick as I start to get ready to close up shop. Our lil store closes at 7PM and I was closing that day which meant that I get to do all of the chores in a timely manner so that we can all leave ASAP after the doors lock at 7. Despite the early close time, having dinner at this time is a wee bit on the later side for this lil one and after running about doing the closing tasks, I’m starving! I like to heat up my dinner and finish up the rest of the tasks as soon as those doors lock!

Dinner

IMG_1295More carbs! Although, it was a better combo than I expected it to be. In my bowl was brown jasmine rice, roasted brussels and broccoli, sauteed swiss chard leaves and stems with beets (no oil used), about 4 large shrimpies, 1/2 a can of tuna packed in water and a range of spices. I think I threw curry powder, ginger and chili flakes in there. Noms

After than I rode my bike back home and chilled for the rest of the night. Unfortunately Andre was in Toronto for the evening (my movie star) so my chillaxin time included the publishing of my Fitness Friday entry, paroozing facebook and killing time reading bloggies. It also included the usual suspect:

Repeated pictorial

Repeated pictorial

Gotta ensure I get my protein in for sleepy times for those legs to heal up and not be completely useless tomorrow. And yes, I do ensure I save some of my daily fats just for this meal. I need my 1 tbsp of peanut butta here, no excuses! ๐Ÿ˜‰

That’s it for this week and because I totally fail at eating cool-eo snacks I will leave you with my weekly cheat meal…OMG it was a good one!

But first the good girl in me…

Andre and I decided to have a date night on Sunday night after I was done work at 4. For dinner I made us some yummy salads with some special toppings

PicMonkey Collage DinnerIn the bowl was a mix of various lettuces, spinach, corn, sundried tomatoes, roasted carrots, brussels and beets, red pepper, raw carrots and a sprinkle of light goat cheese. On top I decided to celebrate my first big paycheck from worky and splurge on some on sale scallops and lobster meat! Mmm I love seafood! Andre said it was nom worthy, so much that he even said he would model our creations. ๐Ÿ˜€

aaannd now the picture you wanna see. The naughty part of our date night, well mine, because Andre didn’t have any! He said he was too full from dinner and pre-dinner snackage. Psshh amateur ๐Ÿ˜› Love you babe!

PicMonkey Collage CheatI had the hugest craving for cookie dough anything. I blame those quest bars for starting this monster ๐Ÿ˜› And you know what I wanted some real ice cream! Very strange for me eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Despite my love for the cold types of treats, I have actually never had real ice-cream before! Yes, gelato has gone down before (my vice) but never anything like this. This was a special life moment I tell you. I did go for the cookie dough but of course peanut butta can’t be left alone so when I saw the chocolate peanut butter swirl I had to have some of that too…Problem was look at the size of that thing (first picture)! Yes it’s my cheat meal, but seriously, my tummy just ain’t big enough for two Baskin Robin scoops apparently. So sadly I scooped some out into another cup that taunted me so that I wouldn’t overdo it. Prolly still had too much, but this was my treat and it was absolutely amazeballs!

Andre decided that this momentous occasion had to be photographed AND tweeted.

baskin robinsThat’s a whole lotta ice cream for a lil girl, but it was delicious and will happen again! Maybe next time though I will ask if I can have 1/2 a scoop each so I don’t waste any goodness. Yeah, I’m the best type of customer ๐Ÿ˜‰

Is there anything you have never eaten that is a common love? Ice-cream can now be crossed off my list!

Favourite flavour of ice-cream? I swear this cookie dough is being a problem…peanut butta will always have a place in my heart though

What do you have for date nights?

Enjoy your hump day

-Chelsea

One day I will regain the ability to just enjoy something because I like it. Guilt will be forever gone. The ignorance, per say, that is common of a child will return….I hopeย  –Lil ol’ me

2 thoughts on “The WIAW of a Carb Monsta

  1. Loved the post! High carb days for me are every 2 days pretty much and I look forward to them ๐Ÿ™‚

    You definitely love your peanut butta lol…keep rockin those workouts!

Leave a Reply

