Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

You are now a Scientist…

Leave a comment

Hey Friends!

Soooo guess who graduated??!? This girl! 😀 Got my pretty diploma on Thursday morning after I walked the stage, shook a few hands, walked back to my seat and proceeded to fall asleep almost fall asleep in my chair for the rest of the convocation ceremony…Not my fault. The entire thing was almost three hours long! Phew…

Did I just say that out loud? Okay, so I didn’t do a very good job at making you think I was proud of my diploma….but I am…I think. We will get to that, but first lets run through the morning with some picsies.

Because this is a food blog I figured I had to throw in at least one picture of food right? Tadaaaa my colourful oatmeal to fuel me for the long nap morning ahead:

IMG_1289I love the strawberries this time of year…Pauly D reference anyone? Anyways, the strawberries have been looking amazing lately so I picked myself up some of these organic babies to have on my restdays in my oatmeal creations. This one was my normal egg white proats (no banana) with an added tsp of chia seeds and maca powder for them superfood benefits. Of course my crunchy peanut butta was involved, can’t have breaky without it ;-), and 4 large and in charge strawberries (2 cooked in, 2 melted in the microwave and thrown on top). Delish!

After breakfast I ran around my apartment like a crazy person trying to get ready. The ceremony was at Hamilton Place, which is downtown Hamilton and therefore not too far from my apartment, at 9:30AM. My parents and I were to arrive at the hall before 8:45AM which meant that we would be leaving my place before 8:30. Not a lot of time for preppin. So between my breakfast and then I had about an hour to…

  • Make AM snack…mini egg quiche thingy using left over chicken, broccoli and swordfish
  • Make lunch ….thank gawd we had turkey burgers already to go in the fridge. Score one for meal prep!
  • Decide what to wear…too dressy, too casual??
  • Throw on said outfit….sequins galore!
  • Make-up…not to much ever goes on this face so that was easy
  • Fix hair…not too bad as I got my hair cut and blown out the day before

Wow! Somehow I managed to get that all done before my parents arrived and we were on our way…in the pouring rain. Sigh…

This was the first snap at the hall. I found my friend Morgan as I walked in and than Gabby and naturally we had to take a pic of us three 😀 Psych girls reunited…well 3 of us at least. Sadface. I guess because of space issues, me and my core psych girls all got split into different ceremonies. Morgan, Gabby and I were that morning with the Faculty of Sciences, while Lora was the day before (Psych and Linguistics major), Sophia was the ceremony following us (with the Faculty of Arts and Science) and Laura (my first year roomie!) was unfortunately unable to attend as she is having her own adventures in Disney training to be a flight attendant for Air Canada. So proud of her! 🙂

After some chit chattering it was time to be rounded up for the ceremony to begin

We all shnazzy in our blue and gold robes

Look at us all shnazzy in our blue and gold robes

We were placed in alphabetical order (#100 over here!) and then given some instructions that no one could really hear that well….We then moved in our lines through the halls and to the big hall where we found our seats and sat down. As I walked in I could see my parents waving at me from the balcony. At that moment I felt a lil bit proud because I know that this was a big moment for them and I was so happy they could be there to support me!

Unfortunately, I couldn’t snap any pictures during the ceremony but let me tell you, it was looooong! We went through the Ph.D students first (only about 8-10) then the Master’s graduates followed. One interesting thing I noticed was that the Chancellor and the President stood up to shake the hands of the Ph.D grads, but then sat down for the Master and Undergrad students….Hmmm favouritism I see? Anyways, Faculty of Science (at least 300 people) honour degrees, my faculty, was up next, followed by Honours Kinesiology (maybe 80 tops), Bachelor of Science, no honours (30 maybe) and Bachelor of Kinesiology, no honours (less than 10). After all of that, we listened to the Valedictorian for my faculty who happened to be someone I had a few classes with. Smart cookie that Paige is. 🙂 followed by a few other speakers. Last but certainly not least was the President’s closing speech. I kid you not this thing was an eternity 10 minutes long. That is 9 minutes too long in my books 😛

After all of that, the ceremony was concluded and we all marched out of the hall line by line to a very large room filled with grads and vendor booths selling flowers and teddy bears. I decided to head right to the room where we ‘traded’ our robes for our diploma’s because I was getting slightly claustrophobic  being squished between everyone else. This whole trading thing really didn’t sit well with me because I didn’t get to take pictures with the whole sha-bang (robe + degree). Not to mention that the 40 dollar deposit I gave to be lent a robe for the event did not include a hat! Seriously?!? NO HAT! So basically it cost me forty bucks to get my hands on the degree which cost tens of thousands of dollars already…..hmmft.

Wow I rant a lot…

After I nabbed my papppaaa (ie. my diploma) I set out to quickly snap some pictures as my Mom had to get back home to worky after the ceremony.

PicMonkey Collage GRADLookin a lil green there? 😉 The fountain was pretty but not so good for taking pictures unless I wanted to sport the alien look. Oh and btw, my biceps are lookin good these days if I do say so myself. :-D. Top right is me with my lovely and proud parents. Bottom left is with two friends of mine from Psych. Speaking of that picture….

lets get a close up shall we (please excuse the blur)

IMG_1298_2Can we just highlight the fact that this diploma+its frame was like 3/4 the size of my entire body?!? How sad is that lol. Lil’est graduate 😀

After a few snaps, my parents and I left to grab some lunch (mine was all packed in the car…sneaky sneaky ;-)) before they left for home and I headed off to work for 3:30. Overall, despite the ceremony being a bit of a bore I am proud of my achievements. Although the amount of time, effort and stress I went through during these past four years cannot be seen with this piece of paper, I myself can be happy that I made it through! I also believe that this paper doesn’t really say much about me. Can I start the job I want? No. This paper is instead just a checkpoint in the journey towards….a RD…I think haha.

Other things that McMaster gave me the opportunity to experience:

  • Meeting my best friend and loving boyfriend, Andre
  • Making friendships that will last long after this graduation. Love my girls
  • Experiencing what it takes to research and write up scientific papers
  • Meeting some great researchers and clinicians in the field of clinical psychology.

….and lastly….

Gave me a glimpse into what it is like to be a scientist through the completion of my senior year thesis practical research courses! With this came the realization that I don’t think clinical psychology is the right field for me. I never got bit by the research bug and doing research for the next 6+ years really just makes me shiver a bit (Masters+Ph.D). I am truly considering going the route of Registered Dietician instead because…well…what can I say, I love health and wellness. Oh and food 😉

McMaster University will always have a place in my heart and lucky for me, I get to enjoy it for at least one more year as I am coming back in the fall to work at the Pulse (the gym) as a Personal Trainer 😀

Hope your day is fabulous!

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

