Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Fitness Friday and a lil Quest lovin

Leave a comment

fitnessfriday1 Fitness Friday 40Hey Friends! 😀

I didn’t forget this week despite not actually remembering it was Friday today…#Workproblems. Don’t forget to check out Lindsay’s awesome Crossfit workouts this week! She did quite the round up. You go girl! Anyways, this week I felt the urge to just push. Push harder in the gym and actually do sets of 5 reps with the heaviest weights I can. This is really something I want to and should be doing to work towards my current goals which are to build more muscles. I tend to fall for the “more reps means better results” mentality sometimes. No I don’t push around tiny weights, but for building muscle, doing 8, 9, 10 or more reps is too much even if it’s challenging. So, bring on the PR’s! 😀

Here was my week’s breakdown:

Saturday= Back and Bi’s

Sunday= Rest

Monday= Chest and Calves

Tuesday= Rest

Wednesday= Shoulders and Triceps

Thursday= Legs

Friday= Rest

If you follow me on instagram, you would have already seen this these, but here were my workout routines from this week.

It looks as though I was really out of whack last week and already posted my Saturday Back and Bi’s workout as part of last weeks Fitness Friday. For those who missed it, here it is again

Warmup: Decline weighted (30) oblique situps + leg raises and knee ups on captains chair x 3 sets = Superset

IMG_1112

I managed to do one set of 4 weighted pullups with a slightly higher weight (12.5lb vs. 10lb) due to peer pressure ;-) Oh well, it was good to try it out. I also managed to bump up my single arm dumbbell rows to 40lbs! Back is gettin stronger! With my bicep work that day I decided to try and superset my two exercises together and man was that tiring. Made my arms swell right up! Lastly, I also have been wanting to try weighted side planks for a long time as no matter what variation I have been doing (note that I don’t want to be holding it for like 5 minutes), side planks are just too easy for me. So, I balanced a 10lb dumbbell on my side as I was doing them and I definitely felt it. If you try it out, just place the dumbbell’s bar on your waist (perpendicular to your body) and if it’s shaky, than place your hand on top of it like you would if you were resting your hand on your waist.

Monday was Chest and Calves

Warmup: Weighted (35lb) situps on decline bench + full situps on the floor x3 = Superset IMG_1199So again, I went right up to my highest weight on my first working set so that I could do 4 sets of 5-6 reps. It felt really good to be pushing so hard. One thing I have to work on and accept is the longer the rest time…I get really antsy. Longer resting does not mean I’m working out any less intense! It means that I’m giving my muscles enough time to recoop so they can push just as hard in the next set

Wednesday was Shoulders and Triceps

Warmup: Weighted (35lb) oblique situps on decline bench + hanging leg raises x3= Superset

IMG_1198This was the day that I pushed myself to not only do my dumbbell shoulder press with 30’s, but to also do that 3 times! Surprisingly, as you could see, I got an extra rep in after that first round (mental block anyone?). I was so happy that I made myself do it because this is one exercise that I struggle with as shoulders are one of my lacking muscle groups. Gotta keep pushin even if it hurts if I want to see changes right? 🙂 I also got a thumbs up from a Hamilton Ticat while doing my weighted side planks. How cool is that?!? They have been coming to our gym to train lately.

Annnd Thursday this week was Leg demolition day

Warmup: Weighted (40lb) situps on decline bench + cable crunches using rope attachment (50) x3= Superset

IMG_1197I PR’ed on leg press, only by 10lbs, but still a new best that I can be proud of. 😀 I also bumped up the weight for my step ups to 30’s. I managed to do this even though I was supersetting them with barbell squats! These were suuuper tiring but felt good. Last but not least, I have never held a wall sit for more than 1:15 minutes before (these with a 35lb plate on my lap and always right after a set leg extensions) BUT this week I did three rounds of 1:30 minutes. Wooo.. burn baby burn! Perhaps my sugar loading is doing its job…

Speaking of sugar loading….What do I mean by this? This is nothing scientific, I’m just doing something random to see how it goes. Okay, so normally, even on leg day, I keep the sugars in my pre-workout oatmeal around 8-9 grams (NOTE these are all natural sugars, from bananas generally) but for the past two weeks I decided to try something new and add a tbsp of raisins. This bumped that sugar total to about 14-15 grams. In doing this for the past two weeks I have noticed that I felt really good and strong when doing legs! So now to test whether it’s the sugar that is doing helping or just that I have had a good few weeks, I’m going back to my normal oatmeal (just high carb, not high sugar too) this week and seeing how I feel. The reason why I’m reverting back is not only to see if that sugar does in fact give me a lil boost, but also because I miss my sweet potatoes. This had to be switched out for sugarless brown rice to compensate for the extra sugar at breaky. 😦 I will let you know how that turns out next week.

Well that’s all for my workouts, but before I leave you I also wanted to share a quick recipe that I decided to bake up this week.

IMG_1192

Can quest bars do any wrong? No…the answer is no.

This was a recipe from the Questbar blog and was submitted by Lily (check her page out, she has tons of great recipes!). So it’s not my own personal creation, but it looked really good so I wanted to give it a go. Here is the original recipe with some of my modifications (due to not having some of the ingredients)

IMG_1187Double Chocolate Protein Bread

Serves 10 (I made mine for 8)

1/3c coconut flour
1/3c almond meal/flour
1 scoop ON chocolate whey (I used Cellucor Pb marshmellow)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda (I omitted this)
2 tbsp stevia powder (I omitted this)
3 tbsp raw cacao (I used 2 tbsp carob powder instead)
1/2c low fat cottage cheese
1/4c chobani nonfat greek yoghurt (I used all greek yogurt, no cottage cheese-3/4 cup total)
6 tbsp apple puree (120g)
1 whole egg (no wasting here!)
1 choc brownie quest bar

Directions:

as quoted from their site

  • Preheat oven to 180c, mix all the dry ingredients well. Mix all the wet then add to the dry, combing gently – do not be too rough.
  • Chop up the quest bar into tiny little cubes and gently fold in half.
  • Note: THE BATTER TASTES AMAZING.
  • Pour into a lined bread tin, sprinkle the second 1/2 of the quest bar on top
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until skewer comes out clean.
  • Take out and allow to cool. This step is really important!

When cool, slice and dig in!

Macros for original recipe: 96 Calories per slice. 8g Carb, 8.4g Protein, 4g Fat.

Macros for my version: 125 Calories per slice. 12g Carb, 11g Protein, 5g Fat.

I have yet to try it (will be in my Sunday morning pre-preworkout) but my boyfriend snuck a piece last night and said it was really good! Test it out for yourself 🙂

Did you make time to sweat today?

Do you like at home workouts, classes or gym workouts better?

-Chelsea

Some people are born to lift heavy weights, some are born to juggle golden balls.- Max Beerbohm

Leave a Reply

