Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Baked Apple “Pie” Oatmeal

2 Comments

Hi Friends 😀

If you follow me on instagram you probably saw me post of a picture of this deliciousness this morning

Basking in the sunlight...yeah I was working with different lighting #FoodBloggerInTraining

Basking in the sunlight…yeah I was working with different lighting #FoodBloggerInTraining

Lets take another clooooser look at that shall we….

"...wait put the fork down! I need a picture of the inside too..."

“…wait put the fork down! I need a picture of the inside too…”

Yeah that’s the sight of appley-raisiny goodness right there 😉

Ok Ok I will stop rambling now and just give up the recipe, but I’ll have you know that I worked really hard on this lil beauties presentation so please say you appreciate my efforts….pretty pwease 😀

IMG_1092Apple Pie Baked Oatmeal

Serves 1

1/2 cup oats

1/2 small apple, chopped

1/4 cup Coconut Dreams

1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1/3 scoop Cellucor cinnamon swirl whey (or vanilla whey)

3 tbsp plain greek yogurt

2 tbsp raisins

1 tbsp pure maple syrup (can use sugar-free)

1 tsp coconut oil

1 tsp hemp seeds (optional nutritional boost)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

Topping: 1/3 scoop Cellucor cinnamon swirl whey (or vanilla whey with some cinnamon), 3 tbsp plain greek yogurt and 1/2 to 1 tbsp natural peanut butter (I used Peanut Butter & Company’s Mighty Maple)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Place your raisins in a small amount of hot or boiling water. Set aside
  2. Throw your oats, whey, spices and hemp seeds (if using) into a bowl. Add all of the wet ingredients and combine.
  3. Chop your apple (leave the skin on for that good ol’ fiber) and fold into your oat mixture
  4. Fold in your raisins (drain first)
  5. Spray a small mold (I used an aluminum foil one), add your mixture and smooth out the top so that it’s level
  6. Bake for approximately 25-30 minutes or until the centre is set and the edges are brown and pulling away from the mold.
  7. Let cool for about 5 minutes then flip it out of the mold and place upside down on a non stick pan. Place back in the oven (or toaster oven like me) and broil for a few minutes to crisp up the top a lil bit. ***you can skip this step, your top just will be softer***
  8. While your ‘cake’ is crisping, mix up your icing by combining your 1/3 scoop of whey and greek yogurt until the whey has been completely absorbed.
  9. When your cake is finished, spread your protein icing on the top and dollop with peanut butter (and whatever additional toppings you would like).
  10. NOM IT UP!

A few notes:

  • Putting the raisins in hot water at the start makes them plump all up so they are juicier!
  • I would have added walnuts too, but I ran out, so feel free to throw some into the batter at step 4 if you would like.
  • If you are not using coconut milk, you may not need quite a 1/4 of a cup as coconut milk is slightly thicker than other milks or milk alternatives.
  • Lastly, if you are like me and following a stricter meal plan, I don’t think you need the oil. I added the extra oil because I find that Cellucor bakes up rather dry and felt it would need the added moisture. So although I have not tried it without the additional oil, due to the amount of other moisturizers in the cake (ie. the apple sauce and greek yogurt), I think it might be just fine without it.

I hope you enjoy this recipe! The boyfriend sure did….

My all too thrilled photo assistant...it's a good thing you're cute

My all too thrilled photo assistant…it’s a good thing you’re cute

…I swear he did, forced smile and all 😉

-Chelsea

2 thoughts on “Baked Apple “Pie” Oatmeal

  1. All I have to say is– you are amazing! Not only am I not afraid of healthy food anymore, but your recipes have helped me crave more healthy; haven’t eaten fast food in over a week… AND I am happy to report that I have lost 2 pounds in that time! I have to say, you, a near-perfect stranger, have helped change my life.

Leave a Reply

