Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Carob Avocado Puddin

Leave a comment

Avocado pudding 2

Hey Friends 😀

I have been wanting to share this recipe for a while now, but just never remembered to write down how much of this and that I added. Ooops. Anyways, this is a really simple recipe that I make all the time for my boyfriend to snack on because not only does he loooove avocados, but they are super good for him too 😉 Carob is my own addition to this classic vegan treat as it gives it a nice subtle sweetness while still providing that chocolatey hit. Although carob is nothing new to me as I used to have it as a chocolate alternative as a child when I was allergic to dairy, it was fairly new to my boyfriend. Not surprisingly, he loved it which is great because carob provides a few benefits over regular ol’ chocolate. First and foremost, carob is free of caffeine. I know that many people seek out caffeine for that lil extra stimulation, but I try to avoid it if at all possible. The second great thing about it, as I already mentioned, is that it contains no dairy which means that all us lactose intolerant people can eat it no prob. 😀 Lastly, in its natural state, carob contains less fat and more calcium than regular cocoa powder, which is a nice addition, but when you are eating chocolate, you probably don’t care about those 😛

If carob is just not your thing you could always substitute pure cocoa powder for the carob but you will probably have to add more sweetener as cocoa powder is much more bitter than carob. I hope you enjoy it!

Carob Avocado PuddingAvocado pudding 1

Serves 4-6

3 ripe avocados

7-8 tbsp of unsweetened carob powder

9-10 tbsp of Coconut Dream milk

3-4 tbsp of maple syrup

A few unsweetened carob chips for topping

Directions: throw all of the ingredients in a blender (except for the carob chips) and blend until combined and smooth. Portion it out into small dishes, top with carob chips and refrigerate for at least an hour and then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

