Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

Bananas for Banana Bread

1 Comment

yes...yes I did

yes…yes I did

Hey Friends πŸ˜€

Many banana’s have been sacrificed for the purposes of this work in progress. What work in progress you ask? Banana Bread! Yes, there are dozens of banana bread recipes out there. Yes, making a yummy banana bread is not really that hard. So why am I making a big deal about this? Well you see, in keeping with my nature of ‘healthifying’ things I have been trying to make a tasty and HEALTHY version of this sugar, fat and carbohydrate laden treat and let me tell you, it’s not easy. The recipe that I have been continuously tweaking is something I find delicious, but I have always been worried that my experiments would be disappointing to others. You see, my taste buds have been altered such that they are happy with minimal sweetness and added fats whereas a lot of other people really enjoy their sweets. For these latter people, I have always been concerned that their high expectations of my recipes (due to trying the real thing) would result in them disliking my version . This round though, I decided to throw that fear away and share it because I think this version is my best so far and my boyfriend really enjoyed the creation I made from it this morning (at the end of this post). Also, I came to the conclusion that not everyone has a crazy sweet tooth and might enjoy something with a more subtle sweetness. So with all of that in mind, Lil Miss Fitness Freak’s banana bread is officially going live! πŸ˜€

Before I release the recipe, I did want to quickly show you some of the great things about this snacky through making a comparison. To make it fair, I ensured no nuts were added to the traditional banana bread as I did not choose to add walnuts to mine:

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 8.48.29 PMMy Banana Bread

Per Serving (1/4 of the entire loaf!)

Calories: 271

Fat: 6g

Cholesterol: 2.5 mg

Carbs: 37g

Dietary Fiber: 6g

Protein: 18g

Sugar: 5

So if we look at a typical piece of homemade banana bread vs. my banana bread ***I am assuming a similar serving size due to the fact that my recipe makes a more compact (ie.smaller) bread*** mine wins for protein (+12g), less carbs (-9g), more fiber (+3g), less cholesterol (-71.5mg!), less fat (-5g) and the biggest difference of all LESS SUGAR (down a whole 32g!)

So I would say I did pretty good on my macros πŸ˜‰

You know what else is great about this bread?

  • It can be made gluten-free if you use 100% gluten-free oats
  • You get about 10-15% ish of your calcium for the day from using the greek yogurt (If you cannot eat dairy, you can probably substitute another yogurt like almond or coconut, just make sure its plain or vanilla)

So although I will probably continue to tweak away as this recipe in the future, I think it’s pretty good at the moment, so without further ado, here she is:

High Protein Banana BreadIMG_1014

Makes 4 servings

Dry Ingredients:

1.5 cups of oats

1 scoop Vanilla Whey

2 tbsp ground flax seeds

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:

1 baby banana + 1 regular banana

1/2 cup plain 0% greek yogurt

1/2 cup liquid egg whites

1/4 cup unsweetened Coconut Dream milk

1/2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
  2. Put your baby banana and regular banana in the microwave for about 40 seconds to a minute to melt a lil bit (do no liquify!)
  3. Add all of your wet ingredients to your melty banana

IMG_09954. Combine your ingredients while mashing your bananas up (don’t worry if there are chunks, lil chunks=moisture!)

5. Blend 1 cup of your oats in a blender to make oat flour and then add all of your other dry ingredients to the flour. Mix those together then make a well in your dry ingredients and add in your wet. NOTE I added dry to wet (shown in picture), you should do it the way I explained it.

IMG_09976. Gently fold the ingredients together until combined

7. Pour into a sprayed or oiled bread mold and toss in the oven. Bake for approximately 30 minutes or until the top is golden and when a skewer is inserted, it comes back out clean.

IMG_09998. Let it cool and slice’er up.

Then proceed to top it, bake it, eat it….OR

French toast-ify it! πŸ˜‰

IMG_1017Banana Bread French Toast

Serves 1

1 serving banana bread

1 egg (or 2 egg whites)

1/4 cup unsweetened Coconut Dream (or almond milk)

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut oil

Optional Toppings: 1/3-1/2 banana, carob chips and peanut butter

Directions: Heat your oil in a saute pan on medium heat. Whisk the egg, milk, cinnamon and vanilla in a shallow bowl. Slice your banana bread into 4 pieces and dunk into the bowl ensuring that all of the bread is covered in the mixture. Place your coated bread pieces onto your hot pan and let cook for 3-5 minutes or until your desired doneness. Flip and cook the other side. Plate and add whatever toppings you would like. For my boyfriend this morning, I sauteed some banana in another 1/2 tsp of coconut oil, added 1/2 tbsp of unsweetened carob chips and a tbsp of Peanut Butter & Co. Mighty Maple peanut butter.

So there you have it, my ongoing project.

PicMonkey Collage banana breadI have worked really hard to try to make a bread that has a nice banana flavour and that I could enjoy eating as I love me some nanners. I do want to make a quick mention that this bread is fairly dense due to the ingredients that I have chosen to use. If you are expecting a ‘light as air’ banana bread that is bursting with sweetness than this is not the recipe for you. You can add some more sweetness using stevia or another sweetener (if liquid, you may have to reduce the liquid amount depending on how much you add) if you would like, but due to my lack of a sweet tooth, the banana is plenty sweet for me. Also feel free to add any traditional add-ins like walnuts, chocolate or raisins (or non-traditional: coconut, other fruits, etc).

I really hope that you enjoy this recipe knowing that you are eating something that contains good for you ingredients that will nourish you body rather than bring it down πŸ˜€

Do you have a sweet tooth?

Is there a recipe out there that you wish or have tried to make healthier? Was it a success?

Nom away,

Chelsea

One thought on “Bananas for Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Honey Fried Bananas Cupcakepedia

Leave a Reply

