Lil Miss Fitness Freak

"And though she be but little, she is fierce"

My first WIAW and His and Her French Toast

Leave a comment

Peas and Crayons

Hey Friends!

So I have been stalking following this lil partay for a while now for inspiration and…well…I’m a foodie so I actually enjoy taking a peak at other peoples food. Does that make me weird? I guess not as WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) has BLOWN UP since I first found Jenn’s amazing blog :-D. I do have to apologize for my lack of organization, I literally just started my blog on Sunday and I have been scrambling to get some posts up to gett’er going, so please forgive me for the lack of reading material on my blog. Also, I may or may not have linked up properly to Jenn’s blog (newb blogger problems) so I might not show up for this weeks party, but I will definitely be partaking in next weeks shindig

So without further ado, I bring you my first log of noms and two recipes! Or…perhaps one recipe with two options…? Aaannywho…lets start shall we

So my day started off the same way as every Wednesday with an early morning lifting sesh (hello 6AM wake-up call) and this means that this lil miss fitness freak gets her grub on! Pre-workout meals are probably one of my largest and most calorie dense meals in my day as I’m breaking my fast as well as providing the energy I need to power through my 2 hour weight-pushin workouts. I love my pre-workout breakies and today was no different! I present to you my protein french toast (recipe at the bottom of this post)

Mmmm Look at that crunchy peanut butter goodness!

Mmmm Look at that crunchy peanut butter goodness!

Mmmmm full of protein, carbs and healthy fats to pump me up for my date with the weights! Any fellow peanut butter addicts out there? 😉

After I blasted my shoulders and triceps I devoured my lil protein muffin in the change room. A girl’s gotta get her protein and carbs to grow grow grow

IMG_0914I biked my lil self home to clean myself up and get the sleeping beauty up (aka my boyfriend). In his defense it was only about 10am at this point. A smart lil miss fitness freak knows that for a wake-up call to be effective, food should be in the picture, so I whipped up a lil something special and that will also be posted at the end of this blog. Just before noon, I proceeded to stuff my face again….fitness problems… with some lunch. Nice and simple:

WIAW lunch PicMonkey CollageJust some spicy chicken (I bake a big batch of chicken breasts with red pimento paste, or ‘vinga’ as its called in this house) with roasted rosemary brussel sprouts and japanese purple sweet potato chunks. For my dipping pleasure, that red blob is of course Sriracha. Love that stuff! Who needs ketchup when you have the rooster lookin out for ya? 😉

So now we hit noon, and for the past two weeks my afternoons have been filled with starting up this blog, researching on beach body coaching (brought to me by Lauren over at sweatthesweetstuff. You rock btw!) and job hunting. Yes, its that time again ladies and gents, time for this student, well graduate now, to find herself a job! Not a career though, so don’t get too excited :-P. I mentioned in my last post that I had an interview at GoodnessMe! yesterday, well today I had another interview for a cosmetics sales person at Shoppers Drug Mart and it went really well! Wahoo! The cosmetics manager is really sweet and today we were on the floor as she explained some of the products that this particular location sells in addition to asking me about some of the products I use. Now I’m not really one to wear a lot of makeup, especially in the summer (hello melting face…), but there is one line that I’m loyal to. Cue in Lise Watier.  Although they are a bit on the pricier side, for the few products I get, like their undercover undereye cover up (curse you genetic dark circles!), its totally worth the $$ because they are fab! Although I’m slackin a lil bit on the make-up side, I am very much interested in skin care and what natural products are on the market. The lines that I currently use are Say Yes to Carrots (organic, cruelty and GMO-free) for my face wash, Aveeno for my moisturizer and Lise Watier for my facial sunscreen when I feel I need it (which should be always…but like I said, that stuff’s expensive!). So, yes I do love the brands that I use, but it would be great to learn about some other natural lines and perhaps have the chance to test them out! 🙂

After my interview, I came home and edited my last blog so I could post it up, then it was snacky time! Enter in protein mug cake and….

WIAW snack PicMonkey CollageA piece of frozen nanner! Yes, I totally could have made my mug cake more presentable by melting it and putting it on top, but than I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the frozen deliciousness. If you haven’t tried freezing bananas, you really should. It’s my type of candy! This is also where my daily fish oils come in, to this cake I add the recommended 2 tsp of Barlean’s Key lime Omega Swirls. Yum!

Mugcake (roughly measured)

3/4 scoop vanilla whey (I use vanilla Probiotic New Zealand Whey)

1 tbsp of liquid egg whites

1 tbsp oats

2 tsp Barleans Fish Oils (Or you could just add a tsp of another oil)

cinnamon

Throw into a cup and cook for 45-50 secs in the microwave. Flip it out, add any toppings you want and chow down!

After my noms, Andre (have I mentioned my boyfriends name yet?) and I decided to go out and enjoy the heat and sunshine so we walked over to the park and I showed some of my chin up skillz. Yay for strong girls! After we played in the playground for a bit, we headed back home to chill out for a bit and a lil later I started to prep some din-dins. I was feelin a salad, but this is no boring salad. This is one of my favourite salad beast creations. My picture does it no justice, but it’s filled with only the best stuff. Bam! now that’s a salad for a lil miss fitness freak!

Rainbow noms!

Rainbow noms!

So in this beast we have spicy chicken (same as at lunch), rosemary roasted beets, brussels, corn, carrots and kabucha (obsessed), sundried tomatoes, red pepper, spinach, romaine, iceberg, shredded carrots, cucumber aaaannnd to top it all off, a sprinkle of light goat cheese. As my boyfriend would say, “I ain’t madd at that!” The dressing is one I made up and have used for years, it’s just 1.5 tbsp of balsamic, tbsp of apple cider vinegar, about 2 tsp of frenches mustard and chili flakes. Hits the spot!

As of now I think I will enjoy the rest of the daylight and take a walk and later on my casein puddin will make an appearance. This is the most simple, but satisfying thing ever! Optimum Nutrition casein (Chocolate Supreme) mixed with enough almond milk and water to make a thick pudding. I also mix 1/2 tbsp of my crunchy peanut butter in the mixture and top with another 1/2 tbsp and throw in the fridge for about an hour to chill. Protein and fats to feed my muscles over night and make my tummy happy.

You like my peanut butter design skillz?

You like my peanut butter smearing skillz?

So, as for those recipes I promised, I wanted to show you my His and Her french toast that made there way into my and Andre’s bellies for breaky this morning.

For her

For her

aaand…

For him

For him

I hope you can enjoy them as much as we did!

And that’s all for this Wednesday, I hope you enjoyed your noms 😀

French toast or Pancakes?

Whats your go-to salad?

-Chelsea

There are some things that don’t change much. I find the smell of a dish, or the way a certain spice is crushed, or just a quick look at the way something has been put on a plate, can pull me back to another place and time. I love those memories that seem so far away, yet you can hold them and carry them with you, even forget them, and then, with a single taste or hint or a smell, be chaperoned back to a beautiful moment. ― Tessa Kiros

Leave a Reply

